Print This Page
Comment on this article
View comments
The East African Standard (Nairobi)
2 January 2008
Posted to the web 1 January 2008
Isaac Ongiri
Nairobi
On Tuesday night, Mr Samuel Kivuitu made a damning admission that he announced results of the fiercely contested presidential election under pressure.
The announcement plunged the country into a post-election violence of a scale never witnessed before.
The magnitude of the Electoral Commission chairman's admission and the further dent on the credibility of the election was captured in his answer when asked if indeed President Kibaki won the elections: "I do not know whether Kibaki won the election".
Kivuitu continued with his stunning revelations when he said he took the presidential election winner's certificate to State House, Nairobi, after "some people threatened to collect it while I'm the one mandated by law to do so".
"I arrived at State House to take the certificate and I found the Chief Justice there, ready to swear-in Kibaki," Kivuitu said.
On claims that he was under undue pressure to declare results, Kivuitu said: "Some PNU (Party of National Unity) and ODM-Kenya leaders put me under pressure by calling me frequently, asking me to announce the results immediately".
President Kibaki ran for re-election on a Party of National Unity ticket, while Mr Kalonzo Musyoka, made his bid on an ODM-Kenya ticket. Mr Raila Odinga, who has said he was robbed of victory, ran on an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) ticket.
On Tuesday, Kivuitu said the alleged pressure to declare results came in the wake of parallel pressure from a number of ambassadors from the European Union countries and Mr Maina Kiai of the Kenya National Commission on Human Rights not to announce the results until complaints, which arose, were addressed.
"I had thought of resigning, but thought against it because I don't want people to say I'm a coward," he said. The embattled ECK chairman made the revelations shortly after meeting with 22 ECK commissioners.
On Tuesday, Kivuitu conceded that matters that arose from the poll results were so urgent that they should be taken to court, and the ruling done with minimum delay to ease national tension.
Court settlement
"If this matter is finally taken to court, the ruling should be made urgently so that if it were decided that Raila is the President, so be it. If it is Kibaki, so be it," he added.
Kivuitu said he made the decision, whose far-reaching implications are now being felt across the country. He said he announced the results because the commission had no legal mandate to investigate complaints raised by the opposition immediately.
Kivuitu fell short of naming the individuals from the two parties - PNU and ODM-Kenya - who coerced him to announce the disputed poll outcome, but went on to announce that the commission was consulting eminent lawyers over the next course of action "so that its actions remain within the law".
The EU observer team has discredited the poll results and urged for an independent audit.
On his part, Kivuitu said he backed independent investigation into what may have happened, but added that this would be only if the law would provide for it.
"We are culprits as a commission. We have to leave it to an independent group to investigate what actually went wrong," the chairman said, stunning local and international journalists, who had gathered at his Nairobi residence.
It has also emerged that some countries concerned with the poll outcome, like South Africa, had sent in their electoral officials to the country.
Relevant Links
East Africa
Kenya
Legal and Judicial Affairs
Kivuitu said the officials would be arriving on Wednesday "to look into the matter".
On Tuesday, Kivuitu was in a meeting with his 22 commissioners, which his deputy, Mr Kihara Muttu, described as "a house-keeping meeting".
In a signed statement, the 22 commissioners condemned the violence, which up to last night had claimed the lives of about 300 people.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click here to follow fast-breaking Kenya election news and join the discussion on our Kenya page »
kibaki ni fisi msenge!
Tutapigania haki yetu kijumla

01-02-2008, 03:59 PM
One Man in Kenya is causing havoc in the whole region. His name is Mwai wa Kibaki. Peace will return to East Africa when he resigns.Before that happens, we better stay calm
Wacha Fitina -
01-02-2008, 07:15 PM
Originally Posted by Githongo made me wise..
One Man in Kenya is causing havoc in the whole region. His name is Mwai wa Kibaki. Peace will return to East Africa when he resigns.Before that happens, we better stay calm
YOU KNOW WATU KAMA WEWE NDIO WANAANZISHA VITA BILA KUFIKIRIA. HAVE YOU EVER READ THE ODM STRATEGY HANDOUT? IF NOT, DO NOT CONTINUE READING THIS. IF YOU HAVE THEN DONT YOU BELIEVE THAT ALL THAT RAILA IS PREACHING IS WAR AGAINST A SINGLE TRIBE? REFERRING THE KIKUYU, KAMBA AND INDIANS AS FOREIGNERS , IS TOO GOING A LITTLE TOO FAR. NANI ALIPIGANIA UHURU WA KENYA? BASICALLY HE IS TRYING TO ALIENATE ONE TRIBE WHILE CALLING HIMSELF A CHAMPION OF KENYANS. HE HAS BEEN THE LANGATA MP FOR ALMOST 2 DECADES NOW AND NEVER HELPED THE POOR PEOPLE OF KIBERA WHOM HE REPRESENTS. HE IS UNDENIABLE ONE OF THE RICHEST KENYAN TOO. SO ALL THESE PROMISES OF DIVERSIFYING WEALTH AMONG THE POOR IS NOTHING BUT A CAMPAIGN STRATEGY. THE LUO'S AND COASTAL REGION PEOPLE, EXPECT TO JUST GRAB PEOPLE'S LANDS , HOUSES ETC AND SEND EVERY KIKUYU PACKING TO CENTRAL. THIS IS A SHAME.

01-02-2008, 08:45 PM
Originally Posted by mukapa001
YOU KNOW WATU KAMA WEWE NDIO WANAANZISHA VITA BILA KUFIKIRIA. HAVE YOU EVER READ THE ODM STRATEGY HANDOUT? IF NOT, DO NOT CONTINUE READING THIS. IF YOU HAVE THEN DONT YOU BELIEVE THAT ALL THAT RAILA IS PREACHING IS WAR AGAINST A SINGLE TRIBE? REFERRING THE KIKUYU, KAMBA AND INDIANS AS FOREIGNERS , IS TOO GOING A LITTLE TOO FAR. NANI ALIPIGANIA UHURU WA KENYA? BASICALLY HE IS TRYING TO ALIENATE ONE TRIBE WHILE CALLING HIMSELF A CHAMPION OF KENYANS. HE HAS BEEN THE LANGATA MP FOR ALMOST 2 DECADES NOW AND NEVER HELPED THE POOR PEOPLE OF KIBERA WHOM HE REPRESENTS. HE IS UNDENIABLE ONE OF THE RICHEST KENYAN TOO. SO ALL THESE PROMISES OF DIVERSIFYING WEALTH AMONG THE POOR IS NOTHING BUT A CAMPAIGN STRATEGY. THE LUO'S AND COASTAL REGION PEOPLE, EXPECT TO JUST GRAB PEOPLE'S LANDS , HOUSES ETC AND SEND EVERY KIKUYU PACKING TO CENTRAL. THIS IS A SHAME.
why don't you make that ODM strategy available for us to read. I doubt if Raila could use such words. It seems that you are the one propagating propaganda. Weka hiyo strategy hapa without doctoring it as Kibaki and ECK did with the results so that we can see what ODM stands for.
I support Raila, but cannot support such distorted views about the kenyan tribes. But we all have to agree that Indians are foreigners, they've called kenya home, they became citizens, and have equal rights just like any other kenyan. They are hardoworking and run successful business. My qualm would only be if they obtained their wealth through corruption. Just don't forget how many kenyans have adopted citizenship in various countries in the world.
So poster, weka evidence to your claim here

01-02-2008, 08:51 PM
Originally Posted by mukapa001
HE HAS BEEN THE LANGATA MP FOR ALMOST 2 DECADES NOW AND NEVER HELPED THE POOR PEOPLE OF KIBERA WHOM HE REPRESENTS. HE IS UNDENIABLE ONE OF THE RICHEST KENYAN TOO. SO ALL THESE PROMISES OF DIVERSIFYING WEALTH AMONG THE POOR IS NOTHING BUT A CAMPAIGN STRATEGY. THE LUO'S AND COASTAL REGION PEOPLE, EXPECT TO JUST GRAB PEOPLE'S LANDS , HOUSES ETC AND SEND EVERY KIKUYU PACKING TO CENTRAL. THIS IS A SHAME.
It's not Raila's job to dish out money to the kibera people. It's the government's job to serve the people of kibera. All Raila can do is represent his people in parliament and the issues that affect them.
Can you give us evidence that the kenyan government dished out money to Raila to fix the kibera problems and failed to do so
Kibera has always been a slum way before Raila was the MP of kibera.
What have the other MPs done to the other slums that they represent.
So you expect Raila to work miracles na meno yake.
Oprah is very rich. She's always helping out. Has that reduced the number of black americans in jail?
Raila needs to occupy statehouse and fix the problems that face all kenyans because he is the president elect.
If he doesn't fix the problems, he can be kicked out at the ballot just the way kenyans showed Kibaki the door mercilessly.

01-03-2008, 05:30 AM
Originally Posted by mashadasms
What do you expect my friend? With hooligans looting all over, no sane business person will make supplies. This is not only affecting our economy but neighbouring countries. Hooliganism has taken businesses processes back to old models.
As said earlier, this fight is now taking an economic dimension. It is the youth who expected the 500K jobs, which never came who are emptying their frustrations, it is the constituents who expected the CDF to turn things overnight that are now worn out of waiting ...etc.
We have already witnessed people queing outside supermarkets? More is yet to come.
Sign petition on electoral fraud in Kenya -
01-04-2008, 09:38 PM
Please sign the petition below if your conscience is
not for sale.
Kibaki Must Step Down*-*Online Petition
kibaki ni fisi msenge!
Tutapigania haki yetu kijumla

01-05-2008, 01:18 AM
Originally Posted by von
why don't you make that ODM strategy available for us to read. I doubt if Raila could use such words. It seems that you are the one propagating propaganda. Weka hiyo strategy hapa without doctoring it as Kibaki and ECK did with the results so that we can see what ODM stands for.
I support Raila, but cannot support such distorted views about the kenyan tribes. But we all have to agree that Indians are foreigners, they've called kenya home, they became citizens, and have equal rights just like any other kenyan. They are hardoworking and run successful business. My qualm would only be if they obtained their wealth through corruption. Just don't forget how many kenyans have adopted citizenship in various countries in the world.
So poster, weka evidence to your claim here
Mr/Miss Von, I awake this year with my best regards to you.
I have a question for you Von
Could it be that Raila fears the court system because of the scuritiny that will ensue, are you not curious as to why he merely wants a recount? At best of the 48 contested constitituencies. Could it be that during elections PNU agents were beaten silly in Nyanza? So much so that they did not sign form 16A? A serious scrutiny of the national vote might show the extent of Railra rigging? Of course, this is the pub talk, I might be wrong and am to stand corrected, so please correct or support this claim.
Najivunia Kuwa Mkenya
Am harvesting to be a Kenyan
kenya 2008 -
01-05-2008, 02:07 AM