Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > Why are christians against Polygamy?

nyira is on a distinguished road

Default Why are christians against Polygamy? - 10-12-2008, 08:37 AM

Why are christians so much against polygamy?.When I read through the Holy Bible,nowhere it says polygamy is a sin,or rather bad.

Most of the characters in the Bible are poligamous,even Jesus was polygamous at heart!(Remember the parable of the ten virgins).

In real life have seen polygamous families do better to the envy of many.I think man was created to love(marry) more than one woman,and if he marries one,still its okey,just like others decide not to marry at all and lead a holy life.The issue I have is why do christians demonise polygamy?.I think the issue should be Divorce,not polygamy.I applaud muslims in this regard.

What is your take people?.Are we following the Bible or our own imaginations?.

Happy Day.
luambo

Default 10-12-2008, 09:13 AM

Wakristo wanachukia dhambi.Na kuoa wanawake wawili ni dhambi.
Mama domitila hapa anasema mengi kuhusu mambo hapa
mms://205.178.146.40/188718/mama3.wmv

Going back to Genesis (2:18-25) marriage is instituted between a man and a woman. If polygamy had been God’s plan, certainly God could have created multiple women for Adam. Jesus restates the institution of one man/one woman marriage (Mark 10:5-8) Male Christian leaders in the New Testament are to have one wife (1 Timothy 3:1-3, 11-13; Titus 1:5-7)

Nilitoa ujumbe huu kwenye mtandao.
Untitled Document...click here

Default 10-12-2008, 09:14 AM

Originally Posted by nyira View Post
What is your take people?.Are we following the Bible or our own imaginations?.
I think you have not read the entire bible.

The difference between a fool and a wise man is that a wise man is both but a fool is just a fool

Default 10-12-2008, 09:23 AM

Originally Posted by grip_daddy View Post
I think you have not read the entire bible.
Have read the entire bible,the difference is my analysis.

Happy Day.
luambo

Default 10-12-2008, 09:27 AM

Yesu akuoa tafadhali na kusihi usiseme kwamba mwana wa Mungu alioa.

Default 10-12-2008, 09:35 AM

Have read the entire bible,the difference is my analysis.
Then you must have read the words, "it was not so from the beginning" when divorce and marriage were the subject.

You must also have read that church leaders (those who give the required examples to the rest) were required to be husbands of one wife.

You must have analyzed and seen the numerous family problems that occurred in polygamous families not excluding that of Abraham.

You must have read the lineage under which polygamy is introduced in the bible.

You must, by now, be knowing why Christians have strong points for discouraging or even discriminating against the polygamous lifestyle.

There are somethings so straight that we need no direct command to shun from.

The difference between a fool and a wise man is that a wise man is both but a fool is just a fool

Default 10-12-2008, 12:03 PM

Originally Posted by luambo View Post
Yesu akuoa tafadhali na kusihi usiseme kwamba mwana wa Mungu alioa.
Hakuna ambaye amesema yesu alioa.Nilirejerea tu lile funzo la wanawali kumi.Kwa nini hakuwa bikira mmoja tu aliyekuja kumlaki bwana arusi?.Ningependa kuelewa zaidi.

Happy Day.

Default 10-12-2008, 12:05 PM

Hakuna ambaye amesema yesu alioa.Nilirejerea tu lile funzo la wanawali kumi.Kwa nini hakuwa bikira mmoja tu aliyekuja kumlaki bwana arusi?.Ningependa kuelewa zaidi.
Jesus was fond of using contemporary practices/beliefs when developing parables. One contentious one is the use of a popular Greek belief that souls do not die but rather go to paradise or hell according to one's righteousness.

Default 10-12-2008, 12:29 PM

Originally Posted by grip_daddy View Post
T

You must also have read that church leaders (those who give the required examples to the rest) were required to be husbands of one wife.
Yes,and that is where I argue from.This was a directive to church leaders,those chosen to lead the flock.Now how does it come to apply to everybody?.

As per the problems associated with polygamy,me haven't seen them,infact have witnessed more strength than weakness.

I feel christians should instead discourage divorce,because what God had joined no man is to put a sunder.Because polygamy is demonised by christians,a man divorces his wife to get himself another beauty he has been seeing.Wouldn't it be better for him to marry the new lady and still retain the first wife?.

Happy Day.

Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch
Default 10-12-2008, 01:41 PM

Most of the characters in the Bible are poligamous,even Jesus was polygamous at heart!(Remember the parable of the ten virgins).

In real life have seen polygamous families do better to the envy of many.I think man was created to love(marry) more than one woman,and if he marries one,still its okey,just like others decide not to marry at all and lead a holy life.The issue I have is why do christians demonise polygamy?.I think the issue should be Divorce,not polygamy.I applaud muslims in this regard.
i can think of many reasons why i wouldn't want to be in a polygamous marriage. i'm sure you can already guess what reasons i would come up with. so instead, let me suggest a different perspective:

those polygamous marriages described in the bible, tukisema ukweli, are often battle zones and, based on the descriptions in the bible, result in calamities. eg look at how ishmael and hagar were pushed out of the picture so mercilessly. look also at the rivalries between joseph and his bros, to the extent that they sold him into slavery.

the issue in africa today is can a man be a good father and husband. too many men are absentees in the home. they bring the check home and vanish to some social obligation. or maybe the check they bring home is not enough for the different women's homes. so many kids grow up not really knowing the father or having meaningful contact with him, and not having the basic necessities. if a man is to be present in the life of his family (not just as a figurehead) then being a polygamist makes it difficult for him.

there are also those rivalries that play out between wives and their kids when the man shows favoritism to one wife and her children. men are human. so obviously this is going to happen much of the time. growing up in a home where you have to stab each other in the back to get daddy's attention is messed up. and many polygamous homes are characterized by that kind of thing. if there are polygamous families that are harmonious, then those are a few, and i applaud the mature people who make them work. lakini the key word in that sentence is 'few'.

watu wengi siku hizi don't have the patience to make one relationship work. so how will they make a polygamous marriage work?

aiii! nyira! that parable of the 10 virgins, you've really interpreted it in another direction!

about the numbers, read this:
for Christians & Messianic Jews - The parable of "The Ten Virgins"

and then this: Jewish symbolism - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"The number five typified semicompletion. The dimensions of the curtain of the Holy of Holies were four ells by five; the altar in the court covered a surface of five square ells; and there were five pillars at the entrance to the Tabernacle."

"The number ten symbolized absolute completeness. The court to the Tabernacle was ten times ten ells long, and five times ten ells wide, and in the Holy of Holies the Ten Commandments were preserved."

Do not let kindness and truth leave you; Bind them around your neck, Write them on the tablet of your heart.

Last edited by al-zalzalah : 10-12-2008 at 01:51 PM.