Lets talk science, bwana Wajibu -
06-15-2006, 04:29 AM
I saw your statement in a previous posting
>In my attempts to popularize science, I am driven by the desire to
>share my own sense of excitement and awe with the wider community;
>I want to tell people the good news. I know some Christians are
>just dumb; if you cracked some of there skulls, they would ooze uji
>baridi.
Please feel free to pick one or more of the following science subjects and then you can start the 'educating class'
Biological information
Biochemistry
Astronomy
Physics
Cosmology
etc
Just to start off
I still maintain that without God, you have to believe that'-
1. Nothing produces everything
2. Non-life produces life
3. Randomness produces fine-tuning
4. Chaos produces information
5. unconsciousness produces consciousness
6. Non-reason produces reason
if you do, then yours is a very blind faith. Ama!
RE: Lets talk science, bwana Wajibu -
06-15-2006, 10:46 AM
just a side note for Wajibu: atheists only exist because there is a God.
06-15-2006, 10:54 AM
TM, sometimes it would be good if you let wajibu lead nimself to the Lord. He's definitely looking but in all the wrong places.
personally I dont see why christaians should be apologetic about their faith. dont let this guys put you on the defense. just ignore his trash talk and go about your discipleship.
if they want more info, direct them to the bible or other christian literature.
06-15-2006, 11:16 AM
>just a side note for Wajibu: atheists only exist because
>there is a God.
Reggie wacha naongesa ingine: vice only exists beacuse there is virtue.
"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone
06-15-2006, 11:23 AM
>if they want more info, direct them to the bible or other
>christian literature.
You are definitely a smart cookie. But if we did that all the time there would be know religious forum in mashada. Besides some people could read the bible several hundred times and end up more dumb than before they attempted reading it. Still there is another group of us who want to encourage our brethrens here and share the word while discussing valuable biblical texts.
Read on cookie, you will see for yourself.
PS if wajibu is looking on wrong places,let TM bring the fella mwikulu!
"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone
06-15-2006, 03:04 PM
>just a side note for Wajibu: atheists only exist because
>there is a God.
Reggie,
hebu explain your above logic. To put it mathematically, how can X (where X is a condition where Y doesn't exist) exist only because Y exists? Huh?
06-15-2006, 03:16 PM
>I still maintain that without God, you have to believe that'-
>1. Nothing produces everything
>2. Non-life produces life
>3. Randomness produces fine-tuning
>4. Chaos produces information
>5. unconsciousness produces consciousness
>6. Non-reason produces reason
>if you do, then yours is a very blind faith. Ama!
TM,
the irony is that I am not allowed to believe any of that stuff you wrote above - but you are allowed to believe it when we are talking about your god.
You say in #1 that "Nothing produces everything". God, if he exists as defined in the Bible, is definitely greater than everything else that exists put together and raised to the power infinity. So why do you have issues believing that everything could have come from nothing, but you have no issues believing that god who's greater than everything came from nothing. Don't you have your skepticism upside-down?
One doesn't need to be a genius to dismiss all your points as fallacies.
06-15-2006, 06:47 PM
atheists only exists because there is a God.
who are atheists? -people who do not believe in God.
if there was no God, they would have no reason to disbelieve in Him.
(i'm not sure i made it clear)
06-16-2006, 12:05 AM
Ok, lets talk science, one problem though; you are quick to jump into your flawed theory or assumption that God is the reason of your ideologies. I dont know how you want me to respond with those one line statements. Elaborate a little to be more specific. I dont know about you Mr. TM but I bet a lot of people reach that crossroads where they question their existence. Who is God? Where did he come from? Is this supernatural being effectively explained by childhood indoctrination or just irrefutably supported by observation of other cultures? As an Atheist I pursued a logical, practical, pragmatic proof of the existence of God from a purely scientific perspective. You can already see philosophical arguments for the existence of God; if he exists why he does let evil prevail. For Christians why is it more reasonable to believe God has always been but not conclude a step further that universe has always been. Did matter and energy exist or he created it while creating the universe? Then if none of this existed how did he accomplish this. What was he doing before creating the universe? According to you Mr. TM, God reached for his metaphysical button and the universe was created. You are quick to ignore all that Mr. TM but you will pose those questions about science. I really want to know where you are heading with this, so feel free to elaborate.
@reggie
Does immorality exist because of morals or lack of morals?
Does hunger exist because of food or lack of food?
Does evil exist because of good deeds or lack of good deeds?
Does atheism exist because of God or lack of God?
Bottom line, Atheist exists because they dont believe in Gods existence.
@cookie
No need to get defensive, I understand you get your knowledge from Christian literature and thats why you dismiss what I say as crap. Im an Atheist; there are no two sides to that. Science is all about fact finding not blind faith.
06-16-2006, 12:35 AM
>Does immorality exist because of morals or lack of morals?
>Does hunger exist because of food or lack of food?
>Does evil exist because of good deeds or lack of good deeds?
>Does atheism exist because of God or lack of God?
YES!!!!! (but the with the one about hunger, hunger exists because of the presence of food)
lol you're proving my point, though i get the feeling that you don't see that.
but if you take away God, how do would you define an atheist? -one who doesn't believe in....?
really no point in disbelieving in something that doesn't exist.
without God, or at least the belief in Him, even the word atheist wouldn't exist.
(if you don't get that then i have zero business talking to you)