Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY

safina

Default NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 04-30-2006, 05:34 PM

According to the book of Genesis(6-11),God told his faithfull servant Noah to make an ark.The ark was 437 feet long,73 feet wide and 44 feet tall.
Let's be logical for a minute.we know our planet has 3.8 million species,how possible is it that they can all fit in there.

Before I even go on,how did Noah and his sons drag all this animals from distant places to the ark.The fact is that some animals are found in certain isolated location.eg kangaroos,are only found in Australia and New Guinea.How did he drag those animals in polar areas.To this point let us assume he managed to drag them in.

Now food.We need at least 7 millions(male and female) servings of food daily(assuming they ate once in one day).I never saw any food reference anyway.The bible says the rain took 40 day.Water was around for 150 days after the rains.They then stayed in the ark for 47 more days just to make sure that that land was dry.Ma friend,that is 237 days.Now, 7 milion servings x 237 days,do the math.Where the heck did all that food come from.

Mt Everest it 8km high.It takes about 2.5 billion cubic Kilometre to fill it up.Kwanza I cannot see the source of this water.Assuming it all came from the atmosphere,I don't know of any human being that could survive with that kind of water in the atmosphere,you can't even live for more than a minute,can't breath.If I just close my eyes and assume it really happened,then where did the water go to.Now that we know how much water is in the atmosphere,rocks,soil,plants and it's not even close to filling quarter of this planet,what do we say,just sit there and listen to our pastors.

This magical flood that is said to have happened 2349 BC never by chance interupted the Egyptians' statues and pyramids,or Celtic passage graves at Clava Cairns near Inverness.
I also assume the whole planet would be filled with fossils and remains after the flood.Who had to clean all this,maybe GOd.Then why would he flood the earth anyway,why not just kill the sinners.
I might be talking out of ignorance but I hope I will find a christian hear on mashada to break it down for me.Can someone really convince me that the flood was at MUsingu too.

~ An essay should be like a woman's skirt.Long enough to cover the material,but short enough to create interest~
reggie_woic

Send a message via Yahoo to reggie_woic
Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 04-30-2006, 07:05 PM

The 3.8 million species you suggest is outrageous and WAAAAY OFF!!
That 3.8 probably includes bacteria, protozoa, viruses, and maybe even plants.
We also need to subtract the sea creatures: fish, amphibians and the likes.
considering how long ago it was, the number of species should have reduced to between 35,000 and 37,000 species.

Building a ship of that magnitude was unheard of until the early 1900. So how did Noah build it?
That's where God comes in: He gave Noah instructions on how to build it (genesis 6:14)
http://www.abiblestudy.com/graphics/ark.jpg

As to how the animals got there, i am clueless.
We don't know what the world looked like before the flood, so it is safe to assume that the animals walked to the ark.
Evolutionists claim that there used to be land bridges though.

As for the rest of the questions, i have no idea.

http://www.zazzle.com/znews/archives/stewie.jpg

safina

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-01-2006, 08:34 AM

>considering how long ago it was, the number of species should
>have reduced to between 35,000 and 37,000 species.

Even if the numbers are low,which animal can live 237 days without food and survive?
Also when you bring up the story of marine animals,the bible clearly stated that anything outside the ark would die.Maybe he had some fish tanks to hold those anacondas from the Brazilian Amazon forest.

>We don't know what the world looked like before the flood,

come on now,open ya bible and read from genesis(1-6)

> so
>it is safe to assume that the animals walked to the ark.

Are you serious about that.Penguins walked all the way from the poles to m.t Ararat(Tukey).I wonder how he convinced the jungle lion.

>As for the rest of the questions, i have no idea.

Thanx for your response,at least you tried.Lets wait and hear from the next person

~ An essay should be like a woman's skirt.Long enough to cover the material,but short enough to create interest~

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-01-2006, 03:23 PM

Safina, yaani u r just chilling there waiting to thank the next person who replies to your thread? Thank me then for nothing! :-)

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-01-2006, 04:08 PM

Safina's questions are akin to asking what the israelites ate in the desert.

I'd think if one has beef with the ark, he'd have a more credible case challenging the flood. Because if the flood was there, there must have been an ark for the animals that exist presently to have survived it!

It only takes a nonbeliever to question God's abilities. jesus fed thousands of pple with just loaves of bread and two fish. Sasa unasema nini juu ya a few animals?

Plus, as reggie noted, most of the species have only come about due to cross breeding and etc.

safina

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-02-2006, 07:24 PM

when they get pushed on the wall,they always pull small flags showing "FAITH & BELIEF".

@Wantai
long time,vipi?

ATLian is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-02-2006, 08:25 PM

If god does exist the way he is defined, then it is possible for him to create enough water out of nowhere to flood the world and also get rid of that water, plus all the fossils, etc. What my beef is with that theory is why this good god would decide to drown all the innocent children in the world for the sins of the adults. What did those new borns and 2 year old kids do to deserve dying a painful agonizing death through drowning? What about the good men in Australia who had no chance to get to the ark? Noah's ark is definitely a load of garbage. If you put belief and faith aside, all logic crushed this story to smithereens. Many of the old religions reported similar stories, where angry gods decided to flood the whole world and one good man, his family and all animals were saved in this magical vessel. The men who wrote the Bible just borrowed from that, changed the names, and the rest is history.

m4one

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-06-2006, 06:23 AM

>If god does exist the way he is defined, then it is possible
>for him to create enough water out of nowhere to flood the
>world and also get rid of that water, plus all the fossils,
>etc. What my beef is with that theory is why this good god
>would decide to drown all the innocent children in the world
>for the sins of the adults. What did those new borns and 2
>year old kids do to deserve dying a painful agonizing death
>through drowning? What about the good men in Australia who had
>no chance to get to the ark? Noah's ark is definitely a load
>of garbage. If you put belief and faith aside, all logic
>crushed this story to smithereens. Many of the old religions
>reported similar stories, where angry gods decided to flood
>the whole world and one good man, his family and all animals
>were saved in this magical vessel. The men who wrote the Bible
>just borrowed from that, changed the names, and the rest is
>history.

@Atlian

You seem to look for belief in logic, yet all I ever see in your posts are questions and more questions. Do you take time to research your questions or do you prefer to take the easy way out and shoot down religious belief (or otherwise) with your many questions.

FACTS:

1. http://www.csa.com/partners/viewreco...e tcookie=yes

Noah's flood.
Mestel, R.
New Scientist. Vol. 156, no. 2102, pp. 24-7. 4 Oct. 1997

A research team has found evidence of a great flood around the Black Sea basin some 7000 years ago, and is trying to link it with the flood myths of Noah and Gilgamesh. Bill Ryan and Walt Pitman, marine geologists at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory in New York, were sailing in a boat called the Aquanaut around the Black Sea in 1993 and using their CHIRP-a 2-metre long, torpedo-shaped echolocating sensor that would allow them to map the Black Sea floor and a hollow metal pipe which was already aboard the Aquanaut. They would drive the pipe into the floor of the Black Sea, close off the top and then draw up long columns of mud by suction. A computer program made sense of the echoes sent back to CHIRP and produced a vertical profile of the sediments like a slice through a large, multilayered chocolate cake. Although archaeologists are dubious that the findings are 'Noah's Flood', there is clear evidence for a catastrophic flood which swallowed up more than 100,000 km\+sp\2\-sp\ of land in a few months.

2. Evidence for a Late Cainozoic Flood/post-Flood Boundary
ROY D. HOLT
http://www.answersingenesis.org/home..._cainozoic.pdf

teejay is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-06-2006, 10:29 AM

>According to the book of Genesis(6-11),God told his
>faithfull servant Noah to make an ark.The ark was 437
>feet long,73 feet wide and 44 feet tall.
>Let's be logical for a minute.we know our planet has
> 3.8 million species,how possible is it that they can
>all fit in there.

One does not need to be disciple of Christ to know that you are not with Thomas in your own kind.

Safina trying to be logical with God’s wonders will drain your strength for no good course. There are so many things you cannot explain when it comes to God’s works. For example Christ fed a multitude of 5000 thousand people with only two loaves of bread and five pieces of fish- a clear mathematical impossibility.

Again if you are to stick to your doubtful logic you will be finding it hard to explain how horses could descend from above and pick one Elijah and ascend with him aboard a heavenly chariot that walked on air. Doesn’t that defy laws of science?

Only God knows how He fit those animals in that Ark. As for me I am a believer in God and will continue to believe in his miracles and word.

>Before I even go on,how did Noah and his sons drag
>all this animals from distant places to the ark.The
>fact is that some animals are found in certain
>isolated location.eg kangaroos,are only found in
>Australia and New Guinea.How did he drag those animals
>in polar areas.To this point let us assume he managed
> to drag them in.

I have noted that you don't read properly or you are just being a skeptic. Please read the whole story again and this time pay more attention.

Note that the animals were to "come unto thee" Gen 6:20. God directed to the ark, by a miraculous selection process, those animals who possessed the necessary genes for instincts which would be needed by their survivors in the post-Flood world. Noah did not have to gather the animals himself, but merely opened the ark to the animals God sent.

>Now food.We need at least 7 millions(male and female)
>servings of food daily(assuming they ate once in one
>day).I never saw any food reference anyway.The bible
>says the rain took 40 day.Water was around for 150
>days after the rains.They then stayed in the ark for
>47 more days just to make sure that that land was
>dry.Ma friend,that is 237 days.Now, 7 milion servings x
>237 days,do the math.Where the heck did all that food
>come from.

Again I challange your ability to read and decode what you are reading. Dont they teach you communication anywhere where you colleged.

Just what is this below...
"And take thou unto thee of all food that is eaten, and thou shalt gather it to thee; and it shall be for food for thee(humans on the ark), and for them(animaals)" Gen 6:21

> Mt Everest it 8km high.It takes about 2.5 billion
>cubic Kilometre to fill it up.Kwanza I cannot see the
> source of this water.Assuming it all came from the
>atmosphere,I don't know of any human being that could
>survive with that kind of water in the atmosphere,you
>can't even live for more than a minute,can't breath.If I
> just close my eyes and assume it really happened,then
>where did the water go to.Now that we know how much
>water is in the atmosphere,rocks,soil,plants and it's
>not even close to filling quarter of this planet,what
>do we say,just sit there and listen to our pastors.

Safina I want you to open the book of Job and if you are able to answer those questions that God asks Job then I will stop worshipping God from today. You dont seem to understand that you are not talking about a mere mortal like you and me. This is He who created the earth all its inhabitants. It He who causes that which is inanimate to animate. Nothing is impossible with God. Thee one who says "let it be" and it all happens

> This magical flood that is said to have happened
>2349 BC never by chance interupted the Egyptians'
>statues and pyramids,or Celtic passage graves at Clava
>Cairns near Inverness.

NOw am really certain that your reading prowess is pathetic. You dont even know what you talking about. The bible is very clear that Egypt(Mizrium)- the land of pharoes was inhabited by descendants of Noah.Now I wonder what Egyptian monuments you are talking about here, before the floods. They simply dont exit prior to the floods Safina. Come on read bana. Unaudhi. All human kind after the floods originate from the three sons of Noah- Shem, Ham and Japhet. Gen 6:10. Please refer to Gen 10 if you want to know about the descendants of Noah.

> I also assume the whole planet would be filled
>with fossils and remains after the flood.Who had to
>clean all this,maybe GOd.Then why would he flood the
>earth anyway,why not just kill the sinners.
> I might be talking out of ignorance but I hope I
>will find a christian hear on mashada to break it
>down for me.Can someone really convince me that the
>flood was at MUsingu too.

I should have know better from the beginning that you were talking out of ignorance.

Listen safina time and time I say it here on mashada that every person should make an effort of reading the bible earnestly and ardently; be steadfast in doing so,but your post reveals that you are not doing that and i know that there are a handfull more who are not too.First read and research for yourself and when you dont understnd seek others who may help you by forming bible study groups

"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone
teejay is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: NOAH'S ARK, MYTH OR REALITY - 05-06-2006, 10:44 AM

>when they get pushed on the wall,they always pull
>small flags showing "FAITH & BELIEF".

This is the Rock upon which our belief is built. Faith. Mark you It is only the Just(those follow God command and strive to leave a righteous life) that Live by faith.

This faith has endowed us with the ultimate weapon that enable us to defeat any temptation. When your faith is based on Upon Christ you cannot be shaken by any storm. It is by faith that Noah built the ark. Before Noah it raineth not on earth. No one knew what rain was even Noah knew not but by faith he built that ark expecting God's word to come true. The Noahic Rains were the first to fall upon that face of this earth. And so the poeple of Noah's day laughed off his calling to build the ark as an amusing impossiblity only to regret crudeness their of their wisdom. Even when God God still gave them a probation of 120 years they changed not.Such people still live today.

When you talk about faith Safina talk about it with utmost care for your life hangs in the balance without faith in Jehova.

"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone