Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > The Gospel of Judas!

catskill85

Default The Gospel of Judas! - 04-18-2006, 10:25 AM

This is for those well-informed about this topic. I can see some already calling it crap and "anti-christ" but the truth is that it is there.
Those who watched the program on National Geographic know what I mean. This is what i picked up:
- Other than the four gospels; there were (are) over thirty more gospels that people wrote but did not make it to todays Bible. Among them the Gospel of Mary, Gospel of Thomas, Gospel of Judas...
-The Gospel fo Judas actually proclaims him as a saint who just "did what Jesus asked him to do".

Dont we need to Know what those other gospels have to say. If they are genuine, dont we deserve to know more about Jesus..may be more miracles and parables?

Opinions please
I'm out of here cuz some are already cursing "nishindwe katika hilo jina".....

reggie_woic

Send a message via Yahoo to reggie_woic
Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-18-2006, 11:29 AM

You can't argue with original and tangible evidence....unless off course Judas himself was lying (lol).

I wondered what they catholics had to say about this, so i checked and this is what i found:

"If he had been asked to betray Jesus and did so, why would he feel remorse for doing so and hang himself, as he had done what he was supposed to have been asked to do?"

For full text, see http://faithofthefathershottopics.bl...-of-judas.html

I think the catholic church has a secret vault of counter attack mechanisms. They've managed to beat down (though not always satisfactorily) most conspiracy theories about the church.

catskill85

Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-18-2006, 11:57 AM

It seems to me that all we have in the Bible is filtered stuff. But shouldnt we know all about Christianity by having access to the left out gospels? Anyway, whey were they left out? are the contradictory or do they show the weak side of Christians.

safina

Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-18-2006, 11:58 AM

I knew about those ommitted books long time ago.I am glag a people are seeing the light now.Personally I don't care about the ommitted books or the gospels were have in the bible.This gospels in the bible we you read were allowed for personal reasons.Most were banned becuase they would bring catholicism down to it's knees.Others were banned just beacuase they were written by women(Gospel of Mary).
This old bastards,were shaping religion to suit themselves.I will not fvcking base ma life on a collection of books some old honky tonks,calling tthemselves 'elites' made up.They give god a bad name,shame on them.

~ An essay should be like a woman's skirt.Long enough to cover the material,but short enough to create interest~
reggie_woic

Send a message via Yahoo to reggie_woic
Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-18-2006, 12:01 PM

LOL!

Catskill and Safina,
Like i said, catholics have mechanisms to counter everything.
This should answer your question about why some books were left out of the bible:
http://gbgm-umc.org/umw/Bible/outside.stm

I speak what your weak mind lacks, and i don't stutter.

Zelda

Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-25-2006, 11:47 PM

@catskill85:

you're right, the gospel of judas is out there, as are other gospels. and you actually have access to many of them. no one (including the church) can restrain you from seeking the information if you want to.
just visit the local library...

"the new testament: a historical introduction to the early christian writings" by bart d. ehrman is a decent place to start.

the catholic church is not unique in what it did. any group of people trying to build an identity edits its history until it comes up with a simple, straightforward narrative that it tries to force onto its members.
BUT whether or not the traditions are forced onto you, you aren't bound by chains. you have a free mind. as you learn more about the world around you, you can accept or reject traditions according to what makes sense to you.

in short: yes, you have a right to know what's out there. it's only natural that you should grab the opportunity when it presents itself to you. that way, if you decide to accept or reject traditions, you're doing it as an informed person, you're not simply obeying orders that you don't understand.

teejay is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-26-2006, 09:42 AM

>This is for those well-informed about this topic. I can see
>some already calling it crap and "anti-christ" but the truth
>is that it is there.
>Those who watched the program on National Geographic know what
>I mean. This is what i picked up:
>- Other than the four gospels; there were (are) over thirty
>more gospels that people wrote but did not make it to todays
>Bible. Among them the Gospel of Mary, Gospel of Thomas, Gospel
>of Judas...

Now catskill I don’t know about those other gospels you have mentioned here but I do know one thing for sure that note everything thing that is written on paper or whatever material is Gospel. In addition to that I believe that whatever is in the Bible was the only content that God wanted in that compilation of the Holy book.

>-The Gospel fo Judas actually proclaims him as a saint who
>just "did what Jesus asked him to do".

I do not know what you mean when you say that Judas recording portrays Him as obedient. Of course people can be obedient but can also change to be worse of enemies in the slightest moment. To say that Judas was obedient does not prevent him from engaging in murderous plot with the Pharisees

>Dont we need to Know what those other gospels have to say. If
>they are genuine, dont we deserve to know more about
>Jesus..may be more miracles and parables?

Indeed there is more about Jesus. A research on the Book of John which was written by him in old age long after Christ’s death quotes John as saying that Jn 20:30 “And many other signs truly did Jesus in the presence of his disciples, which are not written in this book”

He further proceeds to reveal to us the reason He wrote his book. Jn 20:31 “But these are written, that ye might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing ye might have life through his name.”

All those people who did not see Christ will know him in reading this book and this is how they will come to believe and follow Christ.

>Opinions please
>I'm out of here cuz some are already cursing "nishindwe katika
>hilo jina".....

You see there are two type of people who search for truth. Nicodemus and Pharisees. I live to judge for yourself where you belong?.

"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone
teejay is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-26-2006, 10:46 AM

>I knew about those ommitted books long time ago.I am
>glag a people are seeing the light now.Personally I
>don't care about the ommitted books or the gospels
>were have in the bible.This gospels in the bible we
>you read were allowed for personal reasons.Most were
>banned becuase they would bring catholicism down to
>it's knees.Others were banned just beacuase they were
>written by women(Gospel of Mary).
>This old bastards,were shaping religion to suit

Have you ever tried to find out the history of this book the bible? I guess not. Because if you had then you would know that it is because of this Bible that many God fearing were vexed and killed by Catholic Church. A careful scrutiny will reveal to you the Catholic bible with so many additional books. In any case if the bible has changed then it the catholic bible that has changed. This is in that rather than omission of some books it has additional books and couple of passages were altered to suit the Apostate church during the period which the bible calculates as 1260 day/years in the bks of rev and Daniel.

Indeed believers of the biblical texts went through trying moments. A baker of Bread at that time baked bread and hid bibles in them and while the bread was passed around for physical nourishment the spiritual meal accompanied it. There is more to this story of the bible. You can see that there existed two groups of Christians. True believers and Catholism – and civil authority clothed in ecclesiastical body

The bible as it were if read with sincerity from one book to another comparing one passage to another. Then everyone shall surely be lit in their hearts.

I tend to think however that we the congregation are sometimes to blame. Instead of studying on our own we wait some person calling themselves wachungaji,rev,bishops to do it for us and spoon feed us. We they are sure spoon-feeding us and you know what they are now talking giving- every church I go to I hear giving giving giving. I recently watched family Tv back here and proramme aired that dwelt on giving (tithe). The preacher, a young muslim-christian convert said that in his sermon that healing comes through giving!

>themselves.I will not fvcking base ma life on a
>collection of books some old honky tonks,calling
>tthemselves 'elites' made up.They give god a bad
>name,shame on them.

In fact am weary of Kenyan pastors who drive luxurious vehicles and live in posh up market homes while they continue to drain the pockets of their zombied followers.These preys cannot simply wait for the mansions that Christ promised his children in his father’s house. They are building their’s here and they want it all now. The Bible is good it is the get rich quickly who are making God look bad. But don’t you worry there is a reward for them. The bad thing for us is they know that people are undergoing through a myraid of problem ranging form socio-economic to socio-etc. They fully take advantege. Pastor I have searched for a job for many years.... God forgive us.

I cant believe they even have false tetsimonies.(marketing)!

Just remembering and of you remember that song that had bridge that went like…
Bwana kwa nini jina langu Hakuna na mimi nilikuwa nahubiri…..then the ultimate answer
Wewe ulikuwa mwizi,ondoka sikujui.

Be weary of this preachers. This warnig appears so many in th bible if anyone cares to check then let them be careful.

"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone
milanya is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: The Gospel of Judas! - 04-27-2006, 01:54 AM

Don't be too quick to throw things out of the window just because they will require a huge paradigm shift on your part. There are several ways to logically look at scripture to see if it falls into the pattern of the bible or not. If you read The Case For Christ by Lee Strobel you will see reasons. just dont turn a blind eye and be happy in your ignorance.
Life's not a garden so don't be a hoe