Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > How does one know?

Pebbles_Nibbles

Default How does one know? - 03-21-2006, 05:47 PM

How does one know when the saving grace of the Lord is in the heart? Bible-based response please.

ATLian is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-21-2006, 08:42 PM

...and how does one know that this saving grace is from their particular god, seeing that every relgion with a deity believes that their deity is the reason for that saving grace?

TeamManager

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 01:00 AM

>How does one know when the saving grace of the Lord is in the
>heart? Bible-based response please.

*His Spirit ministers to our spirit .....and therefore we called Him Abba Father.

*The 'Old man OUT' ...... 'New man IN'. You become a new creature!-in attitute and renewing the mind

*Fruit of the Spirit- good sign of a changed life.

*Not depending on observing rituals to maintain a relationship with God.

*faith

milanya is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 01:19 AM

rituals aren't such a bad thing depending on how you look at them, or your definition of a ritual.
For example, praying every day is a ritual. Church every sunday is a ritual. I believe going to church helps you maintain a relationship with God.

A ritual is only a bad thing if it is only mechanical to you. Yaani you have no heart behind it, or it is totally wrong itself i.e worshipping idols
Life's not a garden so don't be a hoe

TeamManager

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 01:28 AM

@Milaya

I may be wrong BUT I think you meant HABIT ..... praying/going to Church become a regular habit. Lakini, if you start doing them to earn some points.....or to earn a right etc, then its plain wrong.

Spending time with God should be something you enjoy ...cause its all about building a relationship.

The same way .....doing things for your parents/buddies can become a habit, BUT it should never be a ritual....unless there is no love.

>rituals aren't such a bad thing depending on how you look at
>them, or your definition of a ritual.
>For example, praying every day is a ritual. Church every
>sunday is a ritual. I believe going to church helps you
>maintain a relationship with God.
>A ritual is only a bad thing if it is only mechanical to you.
>Yaani you have no heart behind it, or it is totally wrong
>itself i.e worshipping idols
>Life's not a garden so don't be a hoe

safina

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 10:38 AM

@poster
one knows when ones hearts starts menstrating

~ An essay should be like a woman's skirt.Long enough to cover the material,but short enough to create interest~
satjas

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 05:21 PM

when one is speechless in the ecstacy of the undescribable.......Sat 3:22.

The soul is that which beholds beauty even when the mind denies it.

milanya is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 06:52 PM

rit·u·al Audio pronunciation of "ritual" ( P ) Pronunciation Key (rch-l)
n.

1. The prescribed order of a religious ceremony.
2. The body of ceremonies or rites used in a place of worship.

1. A detailed method of procedure faithfully or regularly followed: My household chores have become a morning ritual.
2. A state or condition characterized by the presence of established procedure or routine: “Prison was a ritualreenacted daily, year in, year out. Prisoners came and went; generations came and went; and yet the ritual endured” (William H. Hallahan).

Life's not a garden so don't be a hoe

TeamManager

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-22-2006, 08:51 PM

@Milanya

If you are genuinely satisfied by 'observing riruals' ...... then I cant say much ..... otherwise a deep relationship is availble.

Pebbles_Nibbles

Default RE: How does one know? - 03-24-2006, 12:53 PM

How about this: it is also when one hates their old, dirty habits and/or practices that are not in harmony with Biblical principles. They then decide to practice/live their new life from a renewed mind. Take for example, some christians misunderstand "crying out against" sin to be the same as "hating" sin. My Biblical source comes from the story of Joseph and Potiphar's wife. Potiphar's wife "cried out" against the alleged assault but she was very willing to invite Joseph into her bedchamber and lead him to commit adultery and thereby sin against God. I have heard many a people cry out against the evils of alcohol whilst on their way to the ale pubs. Some are hooked onto pornography in the privacy of their homes - too ashamed to come out to declare that they are voyeurs. Outwardly, they could very well be married but their marital practices is laced with unholy appetites sampled from you-know-where.

May the Lord help us!