Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food

safina

Default Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-25-2005, 10:03 PM

I know the concept horrifies me.But what logical reasons are there that make farming humans morrally or ethically wrong that can't be applied to other animals like Ng'ombe.I know a few of you will come up and say humans poses free thinking and logic,others will say animals don't contribute to the society.My answer to this is ,not all humans posse logic and free thinking.Would it make it ok to farm those humans?Talk about Brain dead beings,infants.And as a matter of fact,not all humans contribute to the society,some even cause more damage than good.Also why is it natural for a species to eat another species.If other animals beside humans had logical and intellectual capacity to harvest different species,you better believe they would do it.I need logical answers to this questions,put religion aside for a minute.

"shamba la watu"....Ndio ama hapana?

koumba

Send a message via ICQ to koumba
Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-26-2005, 06:46 AM

I can see ur a candidate for speciesim(sp).
Speciesm deals with the arguments u have raised,and many more.
There is infact a lot of debate among the intellectuals about this thing,some believe we are doing wrong by e.g eating other living things(ie plants and animals) just as we would be if we were to eat our own species..........
Yet on the other hand,the species that doesnt eat other species wont survuve.......
whether or not it is morally wrong to farm humans will take us deep into the concept of the definition of what is moral or not.
We humans are selfish and we already "farm" one another but this time,its not so obvious to the naked eye.One cannot survive in this world without using others....a company uses its employees in "cubicles" to manufacture money just as a farmer uses a hen tomanufactures eggs ...you give em enough to live on and ur good to go.....

Its a huge debate with many arguments and counterarguments that the best advise i can give you is to google the topic ,study darwinism,read books like "The Selfish Gene" by Dawkins,just to get the ideas and scope of isues at hand.

safina

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-26-2005, 06:13 PM

Kuomba,
Thanx a lot for your response.I have asked this question in so many forums but i never get any answers.A I will try the books you told me.

koumba

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-27-2005, 08:34 AM

Ur welcome......u will be more enlightened about humans after ur through with those books....
they offer pure logical analysis...normally when non scientists@@@debate issues like ethics and morality,"feelings" come into play toooo much taking the place of logics,even though the debaters themselves may not be aware of their own prejudices.....
ps by the way the name is koumba not kuomba.:D....

safina

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-27-2005, 04:34 PM

@koumba
You are very right about that,religious people always pull out their religion flags whenever questions get tougher,then they think you are against religion and be like.. wewe shetani.I got a few more questions for you if you don't mind,now that I can see that we are on the same chapter.

koumba

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-28-2005, 05:52 AM

yeah,go ahead if u have something...we can debate...

Zelda

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-29-2005, 04:30 PM

I can’t help you with the ethical side of the argument without falling back on the religious tenet of human superiority. Let’s leave ethics aside for a few seconds and talk about basic biology.

You’re talking about farming humans for food. Who would be farming the humans? Fellow humans, I guess. So you’re basically asking about cannibalism, right? From a biological standpoint, cannibalism
is risky/ dangerous. I’m not just talking about human cannibalism, but basically about any mammal eating a mammal of the same species. Have you ever heard of prion diseases? Mad Cow disease is one. And it has been associated with cannibalism:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/me...tes/355601.stm
http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases...0411071024.htm
http://www.leakeyfoundation.org/news..._x.jsp?id=3342

safina

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-29-2005, 09:20 PM

@Zelda
Thanx for your response.Part of my question was vividly explained by Koumba.But you did get the last part right too.and i mean eating human steaks.So you think you are superior to other animals just because you can't undestand what they say,or because they don't act they way you expect them too.or maybe coz the holy bible tells you so.Enlighten me here a little bit.
you only gave me one reason why you can't eat a human steak and that was because of diseases.I do agree with you on that but don't you think there is more nasty diseases out there already?Also you need to know that prions are mutated proteins,and not all of them cause diseases.come on hit me with some more point before I get you on my human farm.

@koumba
what's your stand on good vs evil

koumba

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-30-2005, 10:08 AM

>@koumba
> what's your stand on good vs evil

Thats another good and deep question you have asked me....I already know my answer though...However,I need to know what your stand is on some issues before i can proceed to give you my answer....
Two things here:
1.what is YOUR stand on good and evil??
2.what is YOUR stand on people??Are they truthful or liars,good or bad,or another thing altogether??do you have examples??

safina

Default RE: Is It Ethically or Morrally Wrong to Farm Humans for food - 11-30-2005, 09:43 PM

@Koumba
Thanks for your response.I think GOOD and EVIL are platonic concepts that have long history in relation to Western philosophy and theological thought although the latter owes it's origin to Zoroastrianism.Kwa ufupi,the definition is so complex.But I stick on the fact that this two words(Good and evil)are just concepts invented by binadamu,based in the instict for survival,but have no true objective existance.Thuy are just ways of describing our attitudes towards things.Mfano,when you say "hii chakula ni mbaya"you laso want others not to like it.
the second question you asked was to general,what specifically do you wonna know.