Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > TITHE - - gross or net?

TeamManager

Default RE: TITHE - - gross or net? - 06-23-2005, 10:14 PM

>Tithe IS a requirement for a good christian TM....the bible
>says that you should tithe

"Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver." 2 Corinthians 9:7

BTW, Personally I never advocate for non-christians & religious fellows giving tithe. It makes no sense.

>LOL you are one slippery character when it comes to giving a
>straight answer on contraversial issues....

Giving Tithe has never been a contraversial issue for Bible believing and practising Christians.

>So God does not need money so you chose to worship him by
>offering him what he doesn't want?

I would suggest that you study the Bible and you made you might understand why we praise and worship God......but on a second note, I doubt it.

>>I AM GIVING MINE TO GOD..... what about YOU??
>>One of us is free and the other is in bondage.....Guess WHO?
>here you go TM, just couldn't resist that fire and brimestone
>fear mongering now could you?
My friend, go and read what you wrote about 'being free to do...' and then get back to me.

TeamManager

Default RE: TITHE - - gross or net? - 06-23-2005, 10:19 PM

I am in total agreement with Cookie, I would suggest that you first build a nice intimate relationship with Gof and then identify a nice Bible teaching Church.....there are many Churches out there do nice work (teaching and assiting the poor etc).

Default RE: - 06-24-2005, 02:55 AM

Dudette, sina ubaya swali tu..are you in love? Manze you used to be a one-liner now you're composing essays! was goin'zones?

TeamManager

Default RE: - 06-24-2005, 03:46 AM

My friend ATLian,

We can always spend time argueing and pointing-out theories about Tithing......BUT I can assure you (from my personal experience) that God has always proved to be faithful to meet my finances after I make a move of faith.

BTW, I might not be wrong BUT I have a feeling that I still give more to charity (after giving my tithe) than half the fellows in mashada who are trying to condemn tithing.

Default RE: - 06-24-2005, 10:54 AM

>Dudette, sina ubaya swali tu..are you in love? Manze you used
>to be a one-liner now you're composing essays! was
>goin'zones?

ni laha tu ndani ya loho. Ain't nunn' to it b.

ATLian is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: TITHE - - THE REAL TRUTH. - 06-24-2005, 11:44 AM

>My friend ATLian,
>We can always spend time argueing and pointing-out theories
>about Tithing......BUT I can assure you (from my personal
>experience) that God has always proved to be faithful to meet
>my finances after I make a move of faith.

I have no beef with tithing BTW, it's all up to you. My only beef would be with someone who tithes what they can't afford to tithe out, ama someone who tithes $100 when they need that $100 to feed their kids, pay their dad's hospital bill, etc.

And believe this too, there are very many people who tithe out of faith and yet they are still wallowing in abject poverty despite their faith that god will help with their finances. You aren't financially OK coz god has helped you out with your finances (because that's like saying he has chosen not to help others out witht heir finances) - you are OK coz you either earn a lot, you have good fiscal policies, etc.

jarabuon

Default RE: TITHE - - gross or net? - 06-24-2005, 01:52 PM

tithe
>"Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him
>give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a
>cheerful giver." 2 Corinthians 9:7

toa ndugu toa dada
mungu anakuona
hadi moyoni wako

this is called peer pressure... usually starting from the pastor and they quote the 10% bit. so is it 10% or the above scripture?

>BTW, Personally I never advocate for non-christians &
>religious fellows giving tithe. It makes no sense.

sawa, you never asked for my money... no need to throw a hissy fit :)

>Giving Tithe has never been a contraversial issue for Bible
>believing and practising Christians.

dude.. what is the title of this thread... Tithing IS contraversial among Christians. ama the author and other contributors (excluding me) are not true christians?

>I would suggest that you study the Bible and you made you
>might understand why we praise and worship God....but on a
>second note, I doubt it.

why don't u tell me....

>>here you go TM, just couldn't resist that fire and
>brimestone
>>fear mongering now could you?
>My friend, go and read what you wrote about 'being free to
>do...' and then get back to me.

kwani if you don't tithe the only other thing you can do is drink, do drugs and hire langaz? judge not TM.

my take on this is that Tithe is a requirement but the tither has a choice to do so cheerfully ama it will be displeasing to God.

hehehe kinda reminds me of the mafia collecting protection money.. if you look at a guy vibaya he'll think that you'll cause trouble so the guy might nyonga you... so better chuck the chumes cheerfully for ur own good. you wouldn't want to displease God now would you?

satjas

Default RE: TITHE - - gross or net? - 06-24-2005, 04:28 PM

Hey Guys!!

. you wouldn't want to
>displease God now would you?

For God's sakes can someone please explain to me how God gets displeased?

-the paradigm shifter

kigeto

Default RE: TITHE - - THE REAL TRUTH. - 07-29-2005, 09:02 AM

What I wonder is where in the new testament does the bible tell people they should tithe?Personally I believe it is an old testament ritual just like animal sacrifice.