Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > Two or more wives

joeNM

Default Two or more wives - 04-28-2005, 03:31 PM

the other day i was listening to radio a christian channel and the presenter was talking about aafrica and he mentioned polygamy like it was a sin infact he said it was a sin . now the funny thing when i read the bible all this great men of God had more than one wife but it never ever said that it was a sin .so how did we come to the point that it its a sin.

dont get me wrong but i would really like to know cant a christian jamaa have more than one wife if he can handle. i think having one wife would be best but if one wants more than one what is the bibilical backing against this or is this something europeans/americans have added to christianity

jarabuon

Default RE: Two or more wives - 04-28-2005, 03:45 PM

hehehehe... i guess after years of starvation/masturbation, one woman will not be enuff for u. but ur right, if all these holy men had more than one wife why can't a joenm emulate them. personally, i intend to have two.

joeNM

Default RE: Two or more wives - 04-28-2005, 03:52 PM

>hehehehe... i guess after years of starvation/masturbation,
>one woman will not be enuff for u. but ur right, if all these
>holy men had more than one wife why can't a joenm emulate
>them. personally, i intend to have two.

wewe jarabuaon when you denie urself food its called fasting . the same applies to sex kijana use politically correct language am not starved am fasting lol.

and no i dont want more that one i want just one but if a brother wants more than one is it wrong.am very serious about this by the way

jarabuon

Default RE: Two or more wives - 04-28-2005, 04:00 PM

>brother wants more than one is it wrong.am very serious about
>this by the way

so am i, i see nothing wrong with the way our forefathers used to have many wives. if you can afford it and the women are cool with it, why not?

TeamManager

Default RE: Two or more wives - 05-02-2005, 02:10 AM

The Bible is clear on how many wives Church leaders should have.

ONE WIFE

Now the overseer must be above reproach, the husband of but one wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable, able to teach, 1 Timothy 3:2

A deacon must be the husband of but one wife and must manage his children and his household well. 1 Timothy 3:12

An elder must be blameless, the husband of but one wife, a man whose children believe and are not open to the charge of being wild and disobedient. Titus 1:6

joeNM

Default RE: Two or more wives - 05-02-2005, 02:25 PM

>The Bible is clear on how many wives Church leaders should
>have.
>ONE WIFE
>Now the overseer must be above reproach, the husband of but
>one wife, temperate, self-controlled, respectable, hospitable,
>able to teach, 1 Timothy 3:2
>A deacon must be the husband of but one wife and must manage
>his children and his household well. 1 Timothy 3:12
>An elder must be blameless, the husband of but one wife, a man
>whose children believe and are not open to the charge of being
>wild and disobedient. Titus 1:6
so Tm it just applies to leaders in the church what about the rest of the people

Default RE: Two or more wives - 05-02-2005, 07:56 PM

Joe bwana dont try to bend the rules to your favor. it is wrong, it is wrong. Remember Jesus told the pharisees that, " I tell you, whoever divorces his wife for reasons other than infidelity committs adultry". Polygamy is adultry and the first wife should divorce you for you have been unfaithful.

joeNM

Default RE: Two or more wives - 05-03-2005, 09:49 AM

ok i hear you . by the way i wasnt trying to bend rules i was just asking and not trying to argue or create a controversy. i sincerly wanted to find out the truth

satjas

Default RE: Two or more wives - 05-03-2005, 10:43 AM

Hey JoeNM

Since i am for libido equality, i put forth an amendment in the bible.....hear me TM....so that the same can be said for a woman too. Or to be fair let women have more than one husband too. Why not? Either we all, as a society, stick to one partner each or allow both sexes entitlement to an X equal number of partners......we send this proposal to the middle east for further analysis, since they are experts when it comes to talking the truth with and about God.....and they seem to have cracked the equality issue here...after all 1=4 don't we all know???

-the paradigm shifter......God's friend.

The soul is that which beholds beauty even when the mind denies it.

Zelda

Default RE: Two or more wives - 05-03-2005, 10:52 AM

@ JoeNM, hang on to that thought. NO ONE HAS ACTUALLY ANSWERED YOUR QUESTION WITH BIBLICAL BACKING FOR THE 'BAN' ON POLYGAMY.

So the question is valid and still stands.

-Why, indeed, was it okay for the Biblical patriarchs to be polygamous, and why is it frowned upon in our day and age?
-Why do the quotations from Timothy appear to refer to church leaders pekee?
-ULTIMATE SWALI: On which occasions are our assumptions an EXTRAPOLATION of the written word? Ppl do need to ask these questions.