Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > The Da Vinci Code

Zelda

Default RE: The Da Vinci Code - 03-28-2005, 05:02 PM

was it that long ago that you asked this question @ ATLian? time does fly! i'd been thinking about this book lately and remembered that someone had posted something about it. so instead of starting a new thread, i'll just resuscitate this one.

"the da vinci code" claims to be a fictional detective novel. but seeing how the book's chock-full of extremely detailed information (yaani right down to the minutest detail) about locations, historical dates, places, historical authorities and other books on the subject, one has to wonder why it was written the way it was written.

what i do know is that tourism to the locations mentioned in the book has skyrocketed as ppl "in quest of the grail" retrace the paths described in the book. there's a powerful (some claim) popular cultural movement revolving around this whole quest thing. so was the book written to revive flagging tourism to historical england and france? heheh!!! your guess is as good as mine?

seriously speaking, though, what do you guys think?

Sänää

Default hmm - 03-28-2005, 06:01 PM

If the above were true it would be a happy day for prositutes lol
Prolly the Bible was extremely revised to exclude some details lol kwanza the Catholic church would do anything to save face. We will never know, but we can only work around what we have, searching for answers based on fictional controversial stories written by a smart man who knew just where to hit, is total folly.
In any case if i was to be proven wrong about Jesus, or have irrefutable evidence that jesus is as you guys view him, i wouldn't see him any different coz i am worse than He is.

If the whole christianity thing was doctored i still wouldn't feel cheated if i found out, because it is to me one of the most influential doctrines that has managed to keep so many people on track. If it were to be left for human beings to chose how they will lead their lives {assuming there was no existence or knowledge of any religion or doctrines} then this would be a chaotic world. Its bad enough as it is.
I think human beings are like sheep, they can't control themselves independently without some sort of discipline based on a superior being or higher law.

I plan on keeping an encoded Bible in electronic form, for my great grandchildren to compare with the Bible they will be reading then. Maybe there will be a woman Jesus then,in this equal rights age lol trust human beings to concort some funny stuff and pass it as the WORD, hii maneno ya burnt scrolls is too much lol. Keep repeating this Da Vinci story and soon its going to be the Bible of the future.

I am a content person.

ATLian is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: hmm - 03-28-2005, 06:22 PM

>If the whole christianity thing was doctored i still wouldn't
>feel cheated if i found out, because it is to me one of the
>most influential doctrines that has managed to keep so many
>people on track.

Sanaa, one of the main reasons why jungus conquered Africa was coz of Christianity. Those missionaries persuaded their govas that Africa's hordes of savages needed to be conquered and fed the word of god. There's also a direct connection between Christianity and slavery. There's a storo in the bible about how Noah once got drunk beyond belief and in his drunken stupor he stripped naked. One of his sons, Ham, walked in and saw him (Noah) naked, which was a big taboo. Noah's other 2 sons, Shem and Japheth, grabbed some clothes, then walked in backwards (so they couldn't see their father's nudity) and covered him. When Noah recovered and heard the storo, he cursed Ham, and said his descendants would always serve Shem and Japheth's descendants. Now history has it that miros are Ham's descendants. Usning this, the Boers used Christianity and the Bible to say that we (miros) are meant to serve them coz of Noah's curse. My point is, this Christianity thing has brought about tons of suffering, and without Christianity, many of the worst attocities ever committed wouldn't have been committed.

>If it were to be left for human beings to
>chose how they will lead their lives {assuming there was no
>existence or knowledge of any religion or doctrines} then this
>would be a chaotic world.

I don't think so. Human beings as a rule will create a general system of rules to avoid the chaos. We don't need religion to regulate us!

Sänää

Default RE: hmm - 03-28-2005, 06:32 PM

One uniform trait with Africans, is that we resist and detest change. All this resistance for what? Christianity has instilled in me great discipline that is not inborn and no law can overule that. Heh knowing me if it were not for discipline from above, right now there are several people i would have murdered. Slaughtered limb by limb.

lemme tell you something, you can never know the benefit or goodness of something until you have walked that walk. Until then you don't stand to correctly judge it. Thank God for what Mzungu introduced, coz i know that i am not enslaved to practices and rituals that don't bring any fulfilment or positive change in my life. The Word lives in me, what more can i ask? Plus i do have a conscience and if my heart faces no conviction, then it is in the right place.

I can tell all of you face alot of conviction and battles of the heart that is why you all try so hard to discredit the Word, if you wouldn't then your hearts and minds would be at peace. You can lie to us, but you know that its true.

Default RE: hmm - 03-28-2005, 06:40 PM

>Heh knowing me if it were not for discipline
>from above, right now there are several people i would have
>murdered. Slaughtered limb by limb.

If I were pissed off to the point where murder became a viable option, the reason why I wouldn't murder is not because of god's punishment, it's because of man's punishment. That's coz if I do ANYTHING, say, kill someone, and then pray for forgiveness, god will forgive me and I'll end up with him in heaven. Lakini in man's law, it doesn't matter how sorry I am, I will end up serving 25-to-life ama frying on the electric chair. So my discipline is more controlled by man's laws than god's laws...

Sänää

Default RE: hmm - 03-28-2005, 06:47 PM

Law: Man can kill the flesh but he can't kill the spirit.

The reason why i am pissed off enough to strangle some folks, is coz the flesh is weak, i get hurt, and i want to instill the same pain in them that they did in me. God is what keeps me together, not the law, i have broken the law enough times and was not caught, there was always the thought i could get away with it, but with God he sees right through my heart, and the spirit convicts me so, that i can't live with my actions. That to me is true reverence. I didn't stop coz i was scared i was gon get caught, i stopped out of my heart's conviction and thats coz once you decide to walk with God no matter how far you stray he will never let you live carelessly in peace, theres always going to be that nagging that gets louder everyday until you can't stand it anymore.

Oh by the way thanks for proving my statement right, you said you freak the law, and i said i have fear for the Lord, and along with it comes love to bring resolve in my heart. So we both have different doctrines that exercise some sort of superior automated control over us. In my earlier point i didn't necessarily mean religion it could be any doctrine, but man cannot live free of some sort of governing law.

Default RE: hmm - 03-28-2005, 06:54 PM

I hope for your sake that when it comes to matters that are LEGAL under god but ILLEGAL under man's law, you do what's right under man's law, ama you may find yourslef having kadhaa days in a cell somewhere...

Sänää

Default RE: hmm - 03-28-2005, 07:12 PM

Errm now why you twisting my words? Did i say that God declares my actions legal? I was simply trying to make a point that i revere God more than the law.If everyone freaked the law so much, then why do we have muggings and killings and rapings? huh? Its cos that alone is not enough convitction for human beings. Mind you God calls for obedience in the law set by man, but if you separate that and His word then your not living accordingly, but a mesh of the two gives you a fulfiled life.

lol when you start making such thin statements, then i know my point has hit home.
lol stop puttin it like i killed someone sheesh.

kham

Default RE: The Da Vinci Code - 03-28-2005, 09:45 PM

I never thought that I could sit down and get completely carried away by a 500 page novel about religion. Actually if I did not have a lot of respect to for the author due to previous works like the Digital Fortress I probably would never have read the Da Vinci Code.
Dan Brown is a genius.

saiyah

Default RE: The Da Vinci Code - 03-28-2005, 11:49 PM

>I never thought that I could sit down and get completely
>carried away by a 500 page novel about religion. Actually if I
>did not have a lot of respect to for the author due to
>previous works like the Digital Fortress I probably would
>never have read the Da Vinci Code.
>Dan Brown is a genius.

This is probably my first post here but its all good. I am not ashamed of the Gospel for I know its the power of God for everyone that believes. To the Jew first, but then to the Gentile.
Kidokezi cha kwanza..1 Timothy 6.6 But godliness with contentment is great gain...people quit looking. Abraham believed in Genesis 15 and it was counted to him as righteouness.
Kidokezi cha pili.. Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certainof what we do not see. This is what the ancients were commended for.

Kidokezi cha tatu.we are warned about the false prophets over and over again. Jesus is coming to take his church with him. Sasa watu wa mashada shauri yenu.

To all the bari nyanis of 92-95 and beyond...holla at ya mano.