Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him?

ojdennis

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-10-2002, 03:29 PM

WHAT IF GOD WAS ONE OF US...

Dem Gal

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-10-2002, 04:09 PM

Always visualized God as an elderly, tanned, attractive, gentleman with kindly eyes sitted on a large glorius throne with a gold crown, robbed in royal purple with some soft white trimmings and me kneeling near the throne looking up at him while praying. Just like a loving father and me his child (even when grown up, I still feel like a child to him). He has this concerned/concentrating look on his face, hanging onto every word I tell him, listening, listening all the time. Knowing what is in my heart even when I can't fully express myself, prompting me to say all I wanna say and knowing that I can't lie to him coz he knows me better than I know myself. I always sense kindness, gentleness, power, forgivness and most of all unconditional Love.

@Teejay.....I have never seen God but he gave me the power of imagination which can not be idolatary. I can't visualize 'goodness' but I can imagine and sense a good God.

masaa_always

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-11-2002, 03:32 AM

- A powerful force
- Creator of Heaven & Earth
- Master of the Earth
- King of Kings, Lord of Lords conquering the lion of the tribe of Judah
- Giver if Life
- Creator of visibles and the invisibles
- Almighty, Sustainer, Provider/Giver of Life
- Holy of all holies
- Savior
- Teacher

teejay is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-11-2002, 05:36 AM

>Teejay slow down and calm down.You are
>begining to sound like a fanatic. You
>imply that such thoughts are to be
>avoided because they may lead one to
>eventually doubt and reject God. That is
>very paranoid and ludicrous! Like i said
>earlier, nobody has seen God for real
>yet we are human beings whom God blessed
>with a mind and imagination. And when
>one visualizes God to be an old man with
>light surroundung Him, it is sad that
>anybody would assume and thus predict
>that this will lead them astray. Belief
>in God is about FAITH. Xhee spoke of God
>being in his heart. Do you think that if
>he went on to say that when he prayed he
>thought of an old man then that would
>lead him to reject God??

Then at that point he will be thinking of an old man and not subjecting your thinking to God who you are .And th reason why Xhee says God is in his heart is because he undersatands perfectly well that the new covennant which resulted from christ's coming is written in his heart just as christ says.This is similar to any other christian. The heart is part of the body which happens to be the temple for the Holy spirit (1 corinth 6:19-20)

>That is illogical and irrational and
>says a lot about lack of faith.

Where as you find me sounding like a fanatic illogical,irrational and all those scurillous terminologies,I find you still sounding like child who still attends sunday school.You have not yet attained what I call "religious maturity".

>Again please go back and read the
>original post.It was not directed to non
>believers.By this i mean those who do
>not believe in God/Allah or whichever
>name they refer to the Most High. It was
>not a question posed to idol worshippers
>and other wierd cults. Again it was not
>EXCLUSIVELY posed for Christians alone
>yet you constantly reply as if
>Christians are the only people worthy of
>God.In fact in your first post you said
>" non Christians cannot answer this
>question appropriately like you want
>it." Not a very Christian thing to say
>if you ask me.

I think you should be able to answer that which you request of me, My brotha.What does the term NON-CHRISTIANS mean......

1.THOSE WHO DO NOT ACKNOWLEDGE CHRIST(IN THIS GROUP YOU WILL *BUDHISTS* HINDUS....ETC)

2.THOSE WHO ARE CONTRARY TO GOD(IN THIS GROUP YOU HAVE PAGANS/WICCANS/SATANISM)

3.THOSE WHO DO NOT ACKNOWLEDGE CHRIST AS REGARDE BY CHRISTIANS, BUT ACCEPT GOD(MOSLEMS AND ANY OTHER THAT I MAY NOT KNOW OF)

When talked about non-christians inability to answer that question,I was mainly reffering to pionts 1 and 2 above.Try asking them anything to do with God or christ.What do you expecet a pagan to tell you about God???

>Do not be vague.If you do not wish to
>answer the question then you are free to
>avoid it.But do not hover around the
>bush with words like "i see goodness..."
>I do not doubt that you do,but my
>question is what do you visualise when
>you think of GOd? What goodness is this?
>Do you see other Chritians praying?
>Crops growing? what?

I thought I said that I visualize goodness.I need not to explain it to you.Of what use is your bible or quran if you cannot figure out the God's goodness after reading.Isn't that in itself a vague question?

Crops growing is very much a part of his goodness.It is becasue of him that we live.It is because of him that that crops grow.

>Teejay do you know that if you go to
>Sunday school or even to any non
>Christian child who has been taught
>about Allah/Ngai or Jehovah and ask them
>how they think God looks like that they
>will have a definite answer?? Usually a
>'big(as in size) powerful man' or
>'leader of the angels' is the answer.
>Would you reject their imagination of
>Him simply because they were non
>Christian or children?? And what is it
>that the Bible says about having the
>mind of a child........

Kids as we all know can be both literal as well as say some of the most dandest things.Kids do what they copy from their role models.If you teach them that God is big they will take it literally that way- just like you put it-and so forth.We can say in other words that they are at a stage of life where Consciousness of wrong and good is of less or rather unknown principles to them,unless otherwise taught the difference between the two.At this point i will not reject their imagination for it is what they have been taught.You will realise that trying to explain a point to a kid is one of the most difficult tasks one can ever perform.You will therefore as a sunday school teacher leave it at God is big while hoping that someday they will get to know what God is all about.

Am not trying to redicule you or anybody,but If that is your interpretation of the bible then I suggest that you seek the help of the holy spirit fully.It will be my pleasure if you want me to expound it("bibilical mind of child")more.How many more dozen phrases from the bible have you misquoted in that manner??

I suggest that you stop drinking milk and start chewing bones.Unless ofcourse you still attend sunday schools.Any christian in here will understand I mean by that.

By the way,"WHAT IS THIS THAT YOU CONSIDER VERY UNCHRISTIAN THING TO DO"??????

READ YOUR BIBLE EVERYDAY

"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-11-2002, 05:48 AM

>- A powerful force
>- Creator of Heaven & Earth
>- Master of the Earth
>- King of Kings, Lord of Lords conquering the lion of the tribe of Judah
>- Giver if Life
>- Creator of visibles and the invisibles
>- Almighty, Sustainer, Provider/Giver of Life
>- Holy of all holies
>- Savior
>- Teacher

Amen God bless you.

"The whole world, from President [George W.] Bush downwards, was engaged in trying to strike a power-sharing deal. If that power-sharing deal made Odinga number three, we'd have never accepted it." - Salim Lone
nefertiti

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-11-2002, 11:18 AM

>>Teejay slow down and calm down.You are
>>begining to sound like a fanatic. You
>>imply that such thoughts are to be
>>avoided because they may lead one to
>>eventually doubt and reject God. That is
>>very paranoid and ludicrous! Like i said
>>earlier, nobody has seen God for real
>>yet we are human beings whom God blessed
>>with a mind and imagination. And when
>>one visualizes God to be an old man with
>>light surroundung Him, it is sad that
>>anybody would assume and thus predict
>>that this will lead them astray. Belief
>>in God is about FAITH. Xhee spoke of God
>>being in his heart. Do you think that if
>>he went on to say that when he prayed he
>>thought of an old man then that would
>>lead him to reject God??
>Then at that point he will be thinking
>of an old man and not subjecting your
>thinking to God who you are .And th
>reason why Xhee says God is in his heart
>is because he undersatands perfectly
>well that the new covennant which
>resulted from christ's coming is written
>in his heart just as christ says.This is
>similar to any other christian. The
>heart is part of the body which happens
>to be the temple for the Holy spirit (1
>corinth 6:19-20)
>>That is illogical and irrational and
>>says a lot about lack of faith.
>Where as you find me sounding like a
>fanatic illogical,irrational and all
>those scurillous terminologies,I find
>you still sounding like child who still
>attends sunday school.You have not yet
>attained what I call "religious
>maturity".
>>Again please go back and read the
>>original post.It was not directed to non
>>believers.By this i mean those who do
>>not believe in God/Allah or whichever
>>name they refer to the Most High. It was
>>not a question posed to idol worshippers
>>and other wierd cults. Again it was not
>>EXCLUSIVELY posed for Christians alone
>>yet you constantly reply as if
>>Christians are the only people worthy of
>>God.In fact in your first post you said
>>" non Christians cannot answer this
>>question appropriately like you want
>>it." Not a very Christian thing to say
>>if you ask me.
>I think you should be able to answer
>that which you request of me, My
>brotha.What does the term NON-CHRISTIANS
>mean......
>1.THOSE WHO DO NOT ACKNOWLEDGE CHRIST(IN
>THIS GROUP YOU WILL *BUDHISTS*
>HINDUS....ETC)
>2.THOSE WHO ARE CONTRARY TO GOD(IN THIS
>GROUP YOU HAVE PAGANS/WICCANS/SATANISM)
>3.THOSE WHO DO NOT ACKNOWLEDGE CHRIST AS
>REGARDE BY CHRISTIANS, BUT ACCEPT
>GOD(MOSLEMS AND ANY OTHER THAT I MAY NOT
>KNOW OF)
>When talked about non-christians
>inability to answer that question,I was
>mainly reffering to pionts 1 and 2
>above.Try asking them anything to do
>with God or christ.What do you expecet a
>pagan to tell you about God???
>>Do not be vague.If you do not wish to
>>answer the question then you are free to
>>avoid it.But do not hover around the
>>bush with words like "i see goodness..."
>>I do not doubt that you do,but my
>>question is what do you visualise when
>>you think of GOd? What goodness is this?
>>Do you see other Chritians praying?
>>Crops growing? what?
>I thought I said that I visualize
>goodness.I need not to explain it to
>you.Of what use is your bible or quran
>if you cannot figure out the God's
>goodness after reading.Isn't that in
>itself a vague question?
>Crops growing is very much a part of his
>goodness.It is becasue of him that we
>live.It is because of him that that
>crops grow.
>>Teejay do you know that if you go to
>>Sunday school or even to any non
>>Christian child who has been taught
>>about Allah/Ngai or Jehovah and ask them
>>how they think God looks like that they
>>will have a definite answer?? Usually a
>>'big(as in size) powerful man' or
>>'leader of the angels' is the answer.
>>Would you reject their imagination of
>>Him simply because they were non
>>Christian or children?? And what is it
>>that the Bible says about having the
>>mind of a child........
>Kids as we all know can be both literal
>as well as say some of the most dandest
>things.Kids do what they copy from their
>role models.If you teach them that God
>is big they will take it literally that
>way- just like you put it-and so
>forth.We can say in other words that
>they are at a stage of life where
>Consciousness of wrong and good is of
>less or rather unknown principles to
>them,unless otherwise taught the
>difference between the two.At this point
>i will not reject their imagination for
>it is what they have been taught.You
>will realise that trying to explain a
>point to a kid is one of the most
>difficult tasks one can ever perform.You
>will therefore as a sunday school
>teacher leave it at God is big while
>hoping that someday they will get to
>know what God is all about.
>Am not trying to redicule you or
>anybody,but If that is your
>interpretation of the bible then I
>suggest that you seek the help of the
>holy spirit fully.It will be my pleasure
>if you want me to expound it("bibilical
>mind of child")more.How many more dozen
>phrases from the bible have you
>misquoted in that manner??
>I suggest that you stop drinking milk
>and start chewing bones.Unless ofcourse
>you still attend sunday schools.Any
>christian in here will understand I mean
>by that.
>By the way,"WHAT IS THIS THAT YOU
>CONSIDER VERY UNCHRISTIAN THING TO
>DO"??????
>READ YOUR BIBLE EVERYDAY

Teejay i'm back. O.k i think there are first a couple of things we need to clear up coz you and i are clearly on different wavelengths.

Ok

1.I began my post by calling onto believers of God and further went on to mention Other terms that various religions refer to Him.Why? Because i am aware that on this site there are a couple of Muslims and those who practice African traditional religion. My second question was posed to non Christians asking them how they visualised God when they prayed seeing that they were not raised with Chistian influences that play a rle in how some people visualise God.You did not get this and pointed out that there are cults and such in this world.I agree.They do exist BUT i specifically got back to you and reminded you that my question had NOTHING to do with other wierd cults So when you ask me now who are non Christians after reading both the initial and follow-up posts.........i question your understanding of what you read because even after reading my posts you still immediately think that when i speak of non-Christians, i am refering to
your no 1 and 2. Did it ever occur to you that there was a reason WHY i deliberately left out Hinduism and Budhists??????

2. You asked me "What do you expect pagans to know about God". Another bit with which we disagree. A PAGAN is one who worships any religion that is neither Christian, Jewish or Muslim. Now if i could speak to your great grandfather or great great grandfather who didn't practice any of the 3 above and was thus branded a 'pagan', i am sure that even he, Teejay would be able to KNOW about God. How DARE you purport to assume that the 'pagan' bushman living in the Kalahari today could never know anything about God! HOW DARE YOU ASSSUME TO BE SOME SORT OF AUTHORITY OVER WHO KNOWS MORE ABOUT GOD??!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do not let your belief in your Chritian religion turn you into some sort of self righteous bigot.

3. The above is NOT A VERY CHRISTIAN THING TO SAY.
STOP JUDGING FOLKS!!!!! That is not for you to do.

4. You feel that i have not attained religious maturity. That may very well be true BUT i'll be honest in saying that i'd rather beleive it coming from one who teaches well not one who throws volumes of irreleveant religious quotes. Please explain how my visualising God when i pray to Him likens me to Eve???@#$%^?????

5.Yes i still drink milk.It is the one thing you got right.No i'm not a Maasai though i think they too discovered its benefits long ago.You should try it.Tastes great with cereal.

And finally,i don't mean to be rude just honest kabisa. Teejay YOU JUST DON'T GET IT. Now i don't mean that you are lacking spiritually or even religiously but when it comes to my initial question, you just haven't got it. Your answer to my example of the Sunday school children (of which you accuse me of being a part of) said it all. I give you the example to show you that even some children as young they are do visualise God i.e IT HAPPENS-you take it to mean that yes children will literally believe God to be Big blah blah blah I have thus come to the conclusion that perhaps it is that you think that by visualizing God, not only are we SINNING but that the sin is Idolatry. True or false? Yaani you cannot FATHOM that i would believe and support Masaa_always and Xhees observation (DESPITE the fact that they BOTH did not answer my question)and still be able to visualize God when praying. And that is the SAD truth.

You said that it would be o.k to see light because it represents His glory. This is a Christian belief. So now Teejay,if a Jew or a Muslim visualised God differently from your light, would this be acceptable because they are not pagans? Remember,they do not visualise glorious light when praying to God.

Enjoy your bones. I'll pass.

nef.

Wakili is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-11-2002, 01:50 PM

You know I had never even thought of visualisations. When I think of it now the only thing that springs to mind is that we were created in His image. Yet seeing God as one of us is not quite how I would choose to visualise Him.

I really have no clue, I shall think more about it.

Nef..do we need to visualise God?

Let me get to thinking!!

mwananchi_

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-11-2002, 03:33 PM

I have always visualized God as a strongly built, middle aged, broad-faced dark skinned, short-haired African man in a neat suit. He is of medium height cool, calm, composed, firm and fair. Sort of like my primary school headmaster.

nefertiti

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-12-2002, 01:54 AM

Hi guys. Thanks for all your responses. I found them all very interesting and they really got me thinking.

Oh and Wakili,im not sure but i don't think it is necessary to visualize God. I guess some people just do and some don't.

Default RE: So when you think of God,how do you visualize Him? - 07-12-2002, 05:46 AM

Nice to see you back buddy. Lets proceed from where we were.

>1.I began my post by calling onto
>believers of God and further went on to
>mention Other terms that various
>religions refer to Him.

Of which I did not have problems with at all Nef.You realise that I did not tackle anything in connection to you calling.

>They do exist BUT i
>specifically got back to you and
>reminded you that my question had
>NOTHING to do with other wierd cults So
>when you ask me now who are non
>Christians after reading both the
>initial and follow-up posts.........i
>question your understanding of what you
>read because even after reading my posts
>you still immediately think that when i
>speak of non-Christians, i am refering
>to
>your no 1 and 2. Did it ever occur to
>you that there was a reason WHY i
>deliberately left out Hinduism and
>Buddhists??????

Since you only mentioned the word Non-Christians who on the face of this earth would have though of you DELIBERATELY ISOLATING HINDUISM AND BUDDHISTS???

Just how do you define the word "non-Christians"?????

If you choose blame my misunderstanding, you should also blame you inability to be specific in your initial posts. Those religious groups you “DELIBERATELY LEFT OUT” are non-Christians in a FORUM, which you say, “CONSTITUTE NON-CHRISTIANS.”

>2. You asked me "What do you expect
>pagans to know about God". Another bit
>with which we disagree. A PAGAN is one
>who worships any religion that is
>neither Christian, Jewish or Muslim. Now
>if i could speak to your great
>grandfather or great great grandfather
>who didn't practice any of the 3 above
>and was thus branded a 'pagan', i am
>sure that even he, Teejay would be able
>to KNOW about God. How DARE you purport
>to assume that the 'pagan' bushman
>living in the Kalahari today could never
>know anything about God! HOW DARE YOU
>ASSSUME TO BE SOME SORT OF AUTHORITY
>OVER WHO KNOWS MORE ABOUT
>GOD??!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
>Do not let your belief in your Chritian
>religion turn you into some sort of self
>righteous bigot.

How derogative of you to consider my stand in Christ bigotry. Note this is not the first time you have exercised the vulgar potentiality in you, as in your previous post you opted to brand me an alias,
“fanatic”

That goes down well with me I have no problem I must say, however it will not make me alter the scriptural view in favour of visualization.

Well I cannot comment about my GGGGP because I don’t know what path he traded during his “tenure” on earth.

>4. You feel that i have not attained
>religious maturity. That may very well
>be true BUT i'll be honest in saying
>that i'd rather beleive it coming from
>one who teaches well not one who throws
>volumes of irreleveant religious quotes.
>Please explain how my visualising God
>when i pray to Him likens me to
>Eve???@#$%^?????

Augmentation my dear augmentation did you not get that when I was explaining. If you didn't then that should explain the reason you consider my biblical quotes as irrelevant just like you have previously branded me other handful names. Well maybe they are
Irrelevant to you due your status of religious immaturity

Does your bible mention anyone visualizing him??? I guess No. Therefore visualizing God would be more of your human imagination rather than that which come from the bible or quran. Therefore at is in this capacity, augmenting. The same way the God did not tell Eve the words "you must not even “TOUCH IT"
While God In genesis 2:16-17 says..........

.........."you must may eat from any tree in the garden *but you must not it from the tree that gives knowledge about good and evil. You will die if you eat from that tree!!

But look at Eve when answering the serpent in Genesis 3:2-3 Eve says.........

..........No God did not say that. We can eat from the tree in the garden but.*But there is one tree we must not eat from. God told us,” You must not eat the fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden. You must not even "TOUCH" that tree or you will die.

Just like I had illustrated this before, I repeat it again……..please read with all your concentrtion,while also referring from you bible…..

…………….. Eve, in her developing resentment against God, fell into Satan's trap, both taking away from God's Word and adding to it. God had said they could "freely eat" of "every tree" (Genesis 2:16); Eve quoted him as saying they could eat of the trees. God had said they should not eat of the fruit of one tree; Eve added the statement that they should not even touch it. These are the very sins God warned about after His written Word was finally completed (Revelation 22:18,19). Doubting God's Word, augmenting, then diluting, and finally rejecting God's Word--this was Satan's temptation and Eve's sin, and this is the common sequence of apostasy even today.

You call on me to stop judging. Well brotha this word am quoting from is the one that judges both you and me. It is said to be of a sword’s nature with two bladed lengths so that as it cuts away from me the same way it cuts towards me. But look!!! it is too much for some people they brand it irrelevant with great demise.

>5.Yes i still drink milk.It is the one
>thing you got right.No i'm not a Maasai
>though i think they too discovered its
>benefits long ago.You should try
>it.Tastes great with cereal.

LOL…….Statement 5 above surely not only proves you rules you immature, but also redicules you in the sense that you don’t understand the metaphorical meaning of my original phrase.

>Now i don't mean that you are
>lacking spiritually or even religiously
>but when it comes to my initial
>question, you just haven't got it. Your
>answer to my example of the Sunday
>school children (of which you accuse me
>of being a part of) said it all. I give
>you the example to show you that even
>some children as young they are do
>visualise God

And you also don’t get it that children follow what they are being fed. If you were are kid and someone told you that God has got the whole world in his hands. While at the same time you have also been made to believe the immense size of the eath, then you would imagine God as someone very big. A kid cannot just visualize things out of the blues; there has to be a source to this visualization.

>i.e IT HAPPENS-you take it
>to mean that yes children will literally
>believe God to be Big blah blah blah I
>have thus come to the conclusion that
>perhaps it is that you think that by
>visualizing God, not only are we SINNING
>but that the sin is Idolatry. True or
>false? Yaani you cannot FATHOM that i
>would believe and support Masaa_always
>and Xhees observation (DESPITE the fact
>that they BOTH did not answer my
>question)and still be able to visualize
>God when praying. And that is the SAD
>truth.

I let the bible be the decider on that which you desire to make truth or false………………take not of this verses that am posting here. If you ignore and consider them irrelevant, then your understating shall continue borrow its origin from you assumptious and finite thoughts.

I do not have a problem with your Fathom; And now that I want you to even fathom further, I’ll put it this way to you …….

………………….wakiti ukiomba mungu unafanya kunyenyekea na wala sio kuweka mafikira mengine akilini na moyoni mwako.Kwa mfano, ukisema ya kuwa wakati ukiomba unauona mkono mkubwa ukitoka juu mbinguni,pala,pale utakuwa umechacha kunyenyekea na badala yake kujiingiza katika mafikira ya yale mikono na yale amabayo ni ya yule kikongwe aliye na ndevu nyeupe pe kama vile baadhi yetu wanavyosema katika maoni na vile vile maono yao.

Try to look at this discussion this way. Lets assume we met a person who does not acknowledge and has no idea whatsoever who God is then you ask them who God is.
We would make a zombie out of that person. His answer would definitely be negative amidst perplexity leave alone visualise HIM and you tell me that Kids Just visualise God. Impossible unless they’ve had of HIM from someone.

I always believe the bible is the best book to refer to when in quest for certain ideologies. Once again I’ll refer to this quotes you say are irrelevant .This John In the Island of Patmos where the spirit of the Lord had lead him to be shown the great vision of things to come Revelation 22:18,19.

22:18 For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book:
Nef,note the importance of the words. The conveyance of precise thoughts requires the use of precise words. Only the doctrine of verbal inerrancy adequately expresses the true nature of Biblical inspiration. This warning at the end of the book of Revelation (in fact, the end of the Bible) stresses the necessity of literal interpretation. Actually, a literal interpretation is not an interpretation at all, for it takes the words at face value, assuming that the Holy Spirit (using the thoughts and abilities of the human writer whose words He inspired) was able to say exactly what He meant to say. ANY KIND OF ALLEGORICAL OR FIGURATIVE INTERPRETATION OF THOSE WORDS (UNLESS DIRECTLY INDICATED IN THE CONTEXT) ASSUMES THAT THE INTERPRETER KNOWS BETTER THAN THE HOLY SPIRIT what He should be saying, and such an attitude is presumptuous, if not blasphemous.
22:19 And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.
Even more serious a crime than adding words to the Bible (as many cults do) is that of taking away from its words (as numerous liberal theologians have done). Taking human reason with its evolutionary presuppositions as their guide instead of Biblical authority, the cultic and liberal approach has undermined every book of the Bible, especially the foundational book of Genesis and the consummational book of Revelation. As the Apostle Peter had already warned, they deny or allegorize "the promise of his coming" because they "willingly are ignorant" of the supernatural creation of the world in the beginning and its later cataclysmic destruction by the Great Flood (2 Peter 3:3-6). These assumptions, they think, give them license to "wrest...the Scriptures" however they please, but it can only be "unto their own destruction" (2 Peter 3:16).

>You said that it would be o.k to see
>light because it represents His glory.
>This is a Christian belief.

Wrong brotha,Moses was the Leader of the Jews during the world’s greatest ever exodus, when he met God he his Glory (Light). As you read on you will find that every time he went up the mountain to speak to God he would come back to the people with his face shining. I don’t know about Muslims but Jews suddenly nurture the same belief as opposed to your argument. Unless of course you speak of some different Jewish community.

> So now Teejay,if a Jew or a Muslim visualised
>God differently from your light, would
>this be acceptable because they are not
>pagans? Remember,they do not visualise
>glorious light when praying to God.

And neither does their religious literarture request them to visualise when praying.
Amidst you numerous questions I still prefer those who know God to Visualise HIM as God; God as the bible or the quran describes HIM and not as any images which our finite minds think of.

I find VISUALISATION in your Understanging = ASSUMPTION + AUGMENTING + PRESUPPOSITIONS

Your thinking should originate from the bible(for Christians) and quran(Moslem) but nothing more from you own imagination/visualization as you call it. As such God Is God. HE TELLS MOSES THAT I AM WHOM I AM. Not some big hand, not an old bearded mzee…………name it all.

All I know is that God is:-

- A powerful force
- Creator of Heaven & Earth
- Master of the Earth
- King of Kings, Lord of Lords conquering the lion of the tribe of Judah
- Giver if Life
- Creator of visibles and the invisibles
- Almighty, Sustainer, Provider/Giver of Life
- Holy of all holies
- Savior
- Teacher
- Love

……………just like masaa_always says.

Be blessed
READ YOUR BIBLE EVERYDAY