Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Religion & Philosophy > OF PRAYERS, FAITH, DESTINY AND FATE

AfricanPride

Default RE: OF PRAYERS, FAITH, DESTINY AND FATE - 06-14-2002, 01:53 PM

God helps those who help themselves

dianamrembo

Default RE: OF PRAYERS, FAITH, DESTINY AND FATE - 06-15-2002, 10:28 PM

I think God's doing can only be understood by Him and us trying to understand Him is futile.

Try explaining why "bad things happen to good people" and why "good things happen to bad people". It's beyond us and our part is just to do the will of God and not fall out of His grace. The rest is up to Him.

thierry

Default RE: OF PRAYERS, FAITH, DESTINY AND FATE - 06-16-2002, 11:09 AM

well said diana mrembo.
Lakini wacha ni changie kidogo.

the concepts of 'fate and destiny' are a state of mind since they have never been proven.

They arise from the defeatist human position that convinces us that man can not control his fate so since he cant control his fate, there must be a highier power, an unseen force that is controlling us.

I think that people fall back to blaming fate and destiny when they dont understand the actions of God. When something bad happens theyr like, God loves me he would never do this to me so it must be "fate"........ hence such phrases like....... fate didnt chance us to meet etc...etc.

To me all that is defeatist self pitying pitter patter that is convenient to those of us who dont want to believe in the power of the mind in shaping circumstances.

We do everything that happens to us, EVERYTHING, to ourselves. There is no mambo of fate and sijui what. Once you are an adult of sound mind, you have the ability to make choices. SInce most people make choices unconsciously, they think that thats tantamount to NOT making a choice. i didnt know! they say. well its a choice anyway so the sooner we get hold of our thinking mechanisms and start making even the most little inconsequential choices consciously and stop looking for things to blame then the better for us.
yangu ni hayo tu.

mi_llie

Default RE: OF PRAYERS, FAITH, DESTINY AND FATE - 06-16-2002, 04:04 PM

Our God is a wonder working God.
Personally I do not beleive that there are "antinyitas" in school or colleges.
Every person can deliver, it is actually a matter of one's "environment".
When that lady chose to eat the fruit, man got the ablity to know right or wrong.
How we end up depends on the choices we make at present.
There could be the "fate" and "Destiny" thing, but we got every chance to shape it.
I beleive God sustains and supports whatever we plan as long as we involve Him.
He wishes that we take the risk, just as He told Moses to step in the water,and then devide it for his Children to pass. He did not just help Moses as he (Moses) watched.
For me, all my worries are left to God, Mine is to keep risking.