RE: No double standards: just a bit of rationality -
12-09-2001, 10:30 PM
Mwananchi,
Isn't it all about a leap of faith? But having said that, a bit of Rational discourse is necessary to establish the veracity of a claim.
I have given the reasons why I believe theories as to Selassie's deity status are false/wrong/misconstrued.
We could get into a discussion of whether Christianity is rational but this is not the forum. Let us not avoid the true issue. In any case, if the man thousands believe is God accepted that he was not God and recognised Christ as his Lord, there is all the more reason to disprove one deity and seek more knowledge about the other.
If you like, read a bit of Descartes.
M
12-21-2001, 08:55 PM
Muramati,
The night before Jesus Christ was crucified he prayed to God so hard that he sweated blood. Now does it not seem strange to you that someone who proclaims himself to be God was actually praying to God? And does not that action disqualify him as a deity?
12-21-2001, 09:56 PM
Jesus came to earth in the greatest show of humility. GOD became Man abandoning his place in heaven to dwell with man as a human being so that we could learn from example that it is possible to live life free of sin.
How else could we relate to Christ if while on earth he acted as GOD?
As such, in his human-ness, Jesus needed to seek help from God so that He would have strength (as a human being) to go through what was to come: The crucifixion.
I don't know if this answer will satisfy you but remember that Jesus cried out at his death, "My God, why hast thou forsaken me?". After resurrection Jesus was been raised up in triumph; over sin and death!
M
12-21-2001, 11:56 PM
ëndemën aderu bakenya, amesegënallô algebanyëm kwa nini na leta fujo? Ethiobia ndio the bromised land tënnësh giswahili lakini mengistu amefurahi guona bakenya najua Haile Sellasie bet‘am amesegënallô bakenya.
naishi eastleigh karibu ba kismimayu.
How Many Gods? -
12-22-2001, 07:42 AM
Muramati wrote:
"Jesus needed to seek help from God so that He would have strength (as a human being) to go through what was to come: The crucifixion.
I don't know if this answer will satisfy you but remember that Jesus cried out at his death, "My God, why hast thou forsaken me?"."
Two points interest me here:
1. Jesus needed to seek help from God
2. Jesus cried out ..."My God, why hast thou forsaken me?"
One might deduce that:
1. Jesus is NOT God
2. If Jesus is God then there's at least 2 Gods
3. Jesus is the lesser of the 2 Gods
RE: One GOD...yet in Three persons. -
12-23-2001, 12:52 PM
Those three assertions would amount to blasphemy.
Nevertheless, i have to admit that I grapple with this question of the Trinity for it is conceptually difficult to comprehend.
Christians believe in the Trinity of the God-Head. GOD the Father, GOD the Son, and GOD the HOLY SPIRIT.
Separate yet one.
Frankly, we need theologians to elucidate this concept in more palatable terms.
However, I do not think anyone can understand the mystery of GOD. We are but mere mortals in transit with limited spiritual experience.
If I may, do atheists believe in the spirituality of man or is everything limited to rationality of mind? Further, why is it that you believe in the non-existence of GOD?
M
12-23-2001, 01:28 PM
Jesus was not God.
he was the Son of God also God made man..where he perform miracles and interpret scripture with his Godly power.. But also suffer/die as a man..the resurrection again Godly act.
RE: Is Rastafarianism a Religion or a way of Life? -
12-23-2001, 01:56 PM
To answer your question, lemmie pose this one, What is religion? A system of beliefs, right? Do Rastafarians have a system of beliefs, Mos Def. I rest my case!
Keeping it real ma peoples, keeping it real!
12-23-2001, 05:15 PM
Muramati wrote:
"If I may, do atheists believe in the spirituality of man or is everything limited to rationality of mind? Further, why is it that you believe in the non-existence of GOD?"
I personally do not believe in spirits. Other atheists might have different views.
Why I don't believe in God:
1. I've never seen, heard or felt Him and as far as I know nobody else has
2. There's not a reasonable explanation for His existence
3. He is supposed to be a spirit and you know my view on spirits
LETTER TO PLEASURESEEKER -
12-23-2001, 05:52 PM
i hope you arent a slave of the media like the majority, i have read all that!! dont we hear of the same propaganda against jesus and mohammed, why dont you follow it??? it sounds like another outragious article posted reffering to an interview by a guy who was close to sellasie in one of our local papers, the dude just sounded like an arrogant insultive child. is it because of mental slavery where anything a blackman gives is evil and you have to look for as much filth as you can that should go with it, but white is heavenly without filth and scruitiny?? you should know we have also sighted what sounds like devil worship in christianity.
sellasie I live true wisdom and confidence