Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Relationships > The marriage Institution

Default The marriage Institution - 06-30-2008, 02:37 AM

I just felt i should ask this question, is the marriege institution obsolete?? It does not seem to be working for anyone this days.
Let me give you my reasons for saying this, i went home over the weekend and was greated with the news of 2 families that have broken up. People we have grown to respect as our own parents because they have had kids our age and older.
The first family, husband is retired from a senoir management position, from one of the most important companies pale rwaraka, big house, afew small cars (as in hutu tutoyota twa dubai), all the kids all grown up and 3 of them actually in the states, several grandchildren and wife is a retired teacher. Now the man just uped one day and left with a dogodogo and bought her a house in a posh neighbourhood hapa nairobi and moved in with her. Tell me what problem could be soooo great for ths ones not to be able to solve, what could they have done wrong??
Second family, husband almost retiring, a very well known doctor at our place and wife is a serious business lady, 5 grown up kids, 4 of which are in the states and all of them have their own families and great careers, one day we realize that they both abandoned their posh home and each went their way. The husband moved to the states and am hearing he is doing well as a doc there, wife still as good in business and now staying in a posh area of nairobi. What could have happened there??

Now my quesstion is, is it worth your while anymore to get married???

YOU MAY BE DISAPPOINTED IF YOU FAIL,
BUT YOU ARE DOOMED IF YOU DON'T TRY.

Default 06-30-2008, 02:49 AM

Originally Posted by wanaume View Post
I think people get married for all the wrong reasons. Most actually. Second cause of all these drama is the human greed to make money and more money. Peeps are too busy to spend time together, before you know it, she's noting but ur friend in the house and nothing else. Yaani mpaka u come home and ur in bed with ur laptop typing at mails!!

Hii mambo ya ndogo ndogo hata sisemi kitu. Kwanza these days its the boys who gettin hooked to older mamaz even more.

I also blame mambo ya western culture kaisi. These days divorce ni chap chap, u pull a small move wifey wants out.

YB* is on a distinguished road

Default 06-30-2008, 04:06 AM

I just felt i should ask this question, is the marriege institution obsolete??
Someone somewhere asked 'Who wants to live in an instituition?' , That said, I believe when 2 grown people reach a stage where on walks out, there usually has been some under currents that outsiders cat tell about. Marriage I believe has always been wrongly defined and misunderstood by many, the rise in break ups may just be an issue of courage, many people are together because of saving face, but once everybody starts doing it and it becomes acceptable, mtashangaa?

Just for reflection, (am bila statistics), so maybe those in states or europe can changia, most dudes here from these places, always talk about 1st wife, 2nd wife etc, and they are not widowers!!

Marriage has stopped being a show of commitment and has become an expression of love, more like other expressions like buying flowers. 'I love you, lets get married' - 2 years of bad habits, smelly socks and nagging - 'I dont love you anymore, i want a divorce', working at the marriage is a non-option or non-issue for some - my take

Thats why I like the Kurt Rusell / Goldie Hawn arrangement

Just because you've always done it that way, doesn't mean its not incredibly stupid.
“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten” (Mark Twain)

Send a message via Yahoo to grip_daddy
Default 06-30-2008, 05:05 AM

I prefer Institutions of higher learning. You acquire and graduate.

I am not a complete idiot...some parts are missing. Anonymous.
kenyangal83 is on a distinguished road

Default 06-30-2008, 05:26 AM

Marriage is a big joke!

okiedokes

Default 06-30-2008, 10:38 AM

Originally Posted by YB* View Post
Someone somewhere asked 'Who wants to live in an instituition?' , That said, I believe when 2 grown people reach a stage where on walks out, there usually has been some under currents that outsiders cat tell about. Marriage I believe has always been wrongly defined and misunderstood by many, the rise in break ups may just be an issue of courage, many people are together because of saving face, but once everybody starts doing it and it becomes acceptable, mtashangaa?

Just for reflection, (am bila statistics), so maybe those in states or europe can changia, most dudes here from these places, always talk about 1st wife, 2nd wife etc, and they are not widowers!!

Marriage has stopped being a show of commitment and has become an expression of love, more like other expressions like buying flowers. 'I love you, lets get married' - 2 years of bad habits, smelly socks and nagging - 'I dont love you anymore, i want a divorce', working at the marriage is a non-option or non-issue for some - my take

Thats why I like the Kurt Rusell / Goldie Hawn arrangement
Can't say I disagree with you on that one. Many people are saving face big time. I recently learnt that traditional catholic Italian families don't believe in divorce.The orthodox church too doesn't believe in divorce. What that means is that people either have to work on their differences or are in a way stuck together as roommates while saving face in public.

Yeah...even Gene Simmons/Shannon Tweed. The man is terrified of marriage. He almost had a heart attack when Shannon pulled a marriage prank on him. She invited his mom too for the sham wedding. LMAO!!!!

reggie_woic

Send a message via Yahoo to reggie_woic
Default 06-30-2008, 10:44 AM

marriage is an overrated state of mind

The closer you look, the more you lose the bigger picture

Default 06-30-2008, 01:43 PM

of course it's worth my while. i can't base my life decision solely on other families' negative experience. divorce happens and i may even find myself in the divorce court one day, but if i can enjoy marriage, i will enjoy it while it lasts.

nothing in life is guaranteed, but that doesn't mean you don't even try. these 2 families tried, achieved many things and then husband and wife went their separate ways. you can't ignore all the good things they achieved pamoja.

Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you.

Default 06-30-2008, 01:55 PM

Originally Posted by al-zalzalah View Post
of course it's worth my while. i can't base my life decision solely on other families' negative experience. divorce happens and i may even find myself in the divorce court one day, but if i can enjoy marriage, i will enjoy it while it lasts.

nothing in life is guaranteed, but that doesn't mean you don't even try. these 2 families tried, achieved many things and then husband and wife went their separate ways. you can't ignore all the good things they achieved pamoja.
well said, we cant stop to take risks in life because mister A or B failed,

jaykam is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 06-30-2008, 06:12 PM

You have no reason to be excited coz u getting married, not unless you're GAY. Hurraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!!