Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Relationships > submissive?

Bridgette is on a distinguished road

Default 06-30-2008, 03:01 AM

I was reading this thread on my phone and couldn’t wait to come and chip in.submission to me is being second to your husband.not trying to outdo him in any manner but rather acknowledging that he is the head of the household (me and our children, our finances etc).being second to him doesn’t mean taking a back seat in how the family is run but rather doing my bit to give him and bring up well mannered children. Encouraging him and helping him to be the best man that he can be.to do everything in my power to bring out the best in him.make him feel like a king.the number one in my life (some may call that stroking his ego).
Submission is being his best friend, yet looking up to him for guidance.passing every important decision through him for guidance/approval.letting him take on all the masculine roles in the family.something close to what TDA said.
To do all these, a woman needs to be wholly and completely inlove with that man in question.

Default 06-30-2008, 04:02 AM

just one word, there is nothing line a woman maintaining independence

and once you use sillly liberal words like enlightened women or modern man its very hard to be objective in debates about men and women position in the society
I totally agree.
I think submission covers a lot of ground, it depends on how someone was brought up. To me a submissive woman is one who understands her place in my life, knows when to back down.

Just as Bri and t.d.a put it. Know your place.

Default 06-30-2008, 05:13 AM

@al-zalzalah.....ati 1920?.......hapo siwesi kubali.. me, who knows the names of the heads of our family for 5 generations before i was born! wacha kabisa...but thats a storo for another day

there was a thread like this one where we "discussed" the position of a second wife in a polygamous union...the main problem (for me) was the negative attitude of women to polygamy...that no positives could arise from it..and that it was one of the "archaic and oppressive" african traditions men use to dominate women....

I see the same problem here..."tradition is retrogressive", "tradition is archaic", "tradition is a tool used for oppression of women"...and following these observations comes the notion of "submission"

why this word?
...It has been coined by the "bra burners"...to cast a disparaging light on any woman who recognises that her household should have a leader and that she can work with her man to achieve their goals together....

Even the vows you say in church talk of honor and obey(not submit)...I can only say that if you honor someone then you would be open to their suggestions or ideas..

I still think that we dont value our traditions enough...according to Prof Mazrui we have the problem of catering to a triple heritage...that of our forefathers, that of our adopted religions and that of modern contemporary society...some are unable to achieve a balance of all that....

Default 06-30-2008, 10:22 AM

Originally Posted by Bridgette View Post
I was reading this thread on my phone and couldn’t wait to come and chip in.submission to me is being second to your husband.not trying to outdo him in any manner but rather acknowledging that he is the head of the household (me and our children, our finances etc).being second to him doesn’t mean taking a back seat in how the family is run but rather doing my bit to give him and bring up well mannered children. Encouraging him and helping him to be the best man that he can be.to do everything in my power to bring out the best in him.make him feel like a king.the number one in my life (some may call that stroking his ego).
Submission is being his best friend, yet looking up to him for guidance.passing every important decision through him for guidance/approval.letting him take on all the masculine roles in the family.something close to what TDA said.
To do all these, a woman needs to be wholly and completely inlove with that man in question.
Bridgette your husband will be one lucky man, Hope he reciprocates all back to you, Makes you the queen, makes you the lady you want hom to be, look up to you for guidance and discuss important decisions, Does that make you less than others, Hell no to me it makes you THE REAL WOMAN

Default 06-30-2008, 10:39 AM

Bridgette your husband will be one lucky man, Hope he reciprocates all back to you, Makes you the queen, makes you the lady you want hom to be, look up to you for guidance and discuss important decisions, Does that make you less than others, Hell no to me it makes you THE REAL WOMAN
I agree with you both completely

Usiniharakishe please. You can’t hurry meringues, couture, or the Hermes Birkin bag waiting list. So why try to hurry a vision of loveliness? (Fraglante)

Default 06-30-2008, 10:51 AM

** wonders where the 'enlightened/modern' women have disappeared to **

Default 06-30-2008, 11:30 AM

** wonders where the 'enlightened/modern' women have disappeared to **
dotNet na siku hizi unakuwanga mchokozi sana.

Usiniharakishe please. You can’t hurry meringues, couture, or the Hermes Birkin bag waiting list. So why try to hurry a vision of loveliness? (Fraglante)

Last edited by Fraglante : 06-30-2008 at 12:05 PM.
didier

Default 06-30-2008, 11:34 AM

Originally Posted by Bridgette View Post
I was reading this thread on my phone and couldn’t wait to come and chip in..
Doesn't make sence to me.

okiedokes

Default 06-30-2008, 11:42 AM

Originally Posted by didier View Post
Doesn't make sence to me.
She was using her phone to browse the internet(there are such phones nowadays) and couldn't wait to get to an actual computer to chip in. I think that's what she means.

Default 06-30-2008, 11:50 AM

Originally Posted by okiedokes View Post
She was using her phone to browse the internet(there are such phones nowadays) and couldn't wait to get to an actual computer to chip in. I think that's what she means.
Aki you are so patient.You actually explained that! If it was me he would have just gotten one big slap across the lips and a send off to go find the spelling of that word he was trying to spell.Ati "sence" WTH???