The Sociology of Inter-racial Romance -
10-08-2007, 02:07 PM
In the USA, it's commonly BLACK MALE/WHITE FEMALE.
In Kenya, most are BLACK FEMALE/WHITE MALE.
Why? Any armchair theories out there?

10-08-2007, 03:06 PM
Originally Posted by Type R
In USA it's because of the mentality of odieroz(junguz) that black dudes are well endowed. Also,odiero mamaz have less drama/are less aggressive/are more submissive than their akataa counterparts.
In Kenya it's because of the mentality that if one goes out with an odiero, his/her status in society allegedly goes up. It springs from the colonial mentality that odieros are "gods" and so if one hooks up with them, amefika.*smh*
Girls be thinkin I'm nice but I'm a runt
I'll DO AND SAY WHATEVER FOR THE CUNT.
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch

10-08-2007, 03:20 PM
upward mobility.
in many cases. not all.
kwani you've just been reading fanon?
enyewe elaboration is called for.
in kenya, black women are the lowest of the low. in america, black men are the lowest of the low. to escape the burden of blackness, many of them 'cross over' when they can.
Last edited by al-zalzalah : 10-08-2007 at 03:23 PM.

10-08-2007, 04:26 PM
I dont seem to get your question right 4give my retardness here. What is the question?

10-08-2007, 10:37 PM
because its every blacks man's dream to fack a white gal.. in the usa the black male has more access to the white chick.

10-09-2007, 02:36 AM
Originally Posted by al-zalzalah
upward mobility.
in many cases. not all.
kwani you've just been reading fanon?
enyewe elaboration is called for.
in kenya, black women are the lowest of the low. in america, black men are the lowest of the low. to escape the burden of blackness, many of them 'cross over' when they can.
so if am a black dude in Kenya n a white chick from over seas is hitting on me,what does that make me?

10-09-2007, 06:02 AM
My theory: in USA, the white woman is deified by the dominant culture! She is the object of all rock love songs, e.g. "I'd do anything for you", "Don't wanna close my eyes". Marilyn Monroe, etc her image in culture is like the Indian goddesses. Historically, under slavery, she was the forbidden, and even looking could cause African slaves death. All this created an dangerous 'Mandingo' attractiveness. I believe the white woman is under the spell of the same forbidden pleasure phenomenon when she lusts after the black man.
In Africa, this "forbidden" never became so strong. Many African men would fantasize about a msung lay, but wouldn't really commit to a massive degree. If romance happens, OK, but it's not a pursuit. After all, an Arab lay, a Japanese lay, a half-caste lay is equally attractive. It's all "tourism."
What do African women want in white men? Money? Status? The answer came to me inadvertently, about 7 years ago. I once heard a chick say, "People tell me that I should use my beauty to clinch a white guy, but my sister is married to a white guy and he still beats her."
That is, she did not expect a mzungu to be violent to his woman. (She did not live in a campus dorm in Stato, I say.)
Her strange logic got me thinking: there are many African women who think that mzungu men are more civil than we are. Many African women think that their African brothers are unfaithful, violent, drunkards, don't call when they say they will, cannot diplomatically handle "situations," liars, un-romantic (i.e. Kenyan men = no flowers, no gifts except Tuskers at NBI West), disappear and re-appear without apology or explanation, crude, etc, etc. They imagine that mzungus are the opposite (by default!!!).
(This, by the way, is the same reason the Akataa man runs away from Akataa sistas: she is perceived to have drama/be aggressive/be un-submissive. Strangely, the Odiero man runs to the Asian woman for the very same reason! Asian women even have websites, you can IMPORT A MITUMBA ASIAN WOMAN INTO THE STATES!!! Just like autorec.com!! Most White/Asian relationships are WHITE MALE/ASIAN FEMALE, usually Oriental !!!)
Back to Kenya. These msungs aren't all that. Wherever you find langas in large groups, you find msungs. Buffalo Bill, Lala salama, F1, F2, Mombasa - are these the same romantic, diplomatic, faithful, social-status men our sisters are chasing? And why are they discarding social status and running away from their Odiero women??? Is there something wrong with their women, or with the men?
kushungpeng, you've made me notice that I've lost my book "Black Skins, White Masks"...
Last edited by Type R : 10-09-2007 at 06:19 AM.

10-09-2007, 06:16 AM
Originally Posted by kushungpeng
so if am a black dude in Kenya n a white chick from over seas is hitting on me,what does that make me?
I once met a white USA chick working for an NGO in West Africa. After a few days of knowing her, she sez: "I don't think I could marry an African."
Me: "Why?"
She: "Every African man I know has a concubine."
I think she was in Africa to research the possibility of marriage. Some white chicks have that urge.
There are some African men who love Indian women, like Sani Abacha: I hear he used the executive jet to import them direct from India. He died in bed with some?
Inter-racial sexual curiosity is one of the major driving forces behind worldwide tourism. If a white chick is hitting on you, curiosity, adventure.
Article from Pulse Magazine -
10-09-2007, 07:05 AM
Would this article in The Standard's Pulse Magazine shed some light at all? Find out.
Source: The Standard | Online Edition
"Black male models and the white connection
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last Updated on October 5, 2007, 12:00 am
Muthoni Kenya
"Sue me if you must but give me the black brother anytime!" I heard a Caucasian woman exclaim as I walked into the lift in one of the buildings in Nairobi.
I stared at her, perplexed. This lady was in a black skirt suit — looking sharp and in her prime. I guessed she was about 38 or 42 years old. She continued, oblivious of my presence, "Sad thing is, whenever we go out with a black person, everyone seems to be watching us… but …mmm, I just can never be satisfied with white…"
She continued addressing a woman who looked10 years her junior. "So what they say is true,’ the younger lady interjected, "That when you go black, you never go back!" I got off the lift and left them continuing with their conversation.
In America, the fashion and modelling industry is characterised by gay personality issues but here in Kenya, the issue that is generating utmost curiosity is the relationship between black male models and Caucasian women. Is it like other ordinary interracial relationships or is there more to it than meets the eye?
Jude Thaddeus, famous for the ‘Trust’ advert is currently being ‘kept’ by a Caucasian woman. We sought to find out what he and a couple of other Kenyan models have been up to, as well as what they think about the whole issue of the Caucasian woman.
He’s too old to catwalk
Jude Thaddeus started modelling in 2002. He cat-walked in the 2004 Fashion Week and most recently has been in the Dasani water advert in 2006. He believes he is now too old to do catwalks and is presently more business oriented.
"I’m doing some sort of business which doesn’t concern people around. What I do is my own business," he retorts when asked about the Caucasian woman.
Jude however comments about the issue on the black male model and the Caucasian woman: Who follows who? "I think it is white women who follow us. I am sure it is our lean bodies that appeal to them."
"Right now," he adds, "I‘d like to concentrate on TV adverts. I have realised that the modelling business isn’t a lifetime thing. Catwalks go with age and place a lot of demand on the physique. But adverts are for everyone, no matter the age."
When Jude first started, modelling was booming business because there weren’t many models. However, the profession was not very well respected and was perceived to be associated with gay guys.
Jude got plenty of exposure within Kenya. He vividly remembers his first catwalk: "I competed in the East African Modelling Talent Convention but did not win; I came second. The first guy got a scholarship to the United States. I have no regrets however because this was what opened doors for me," Jude says.
Derrick Assetto, 29, is a Kenyan actor, model and stuntman. He is most recognised as the interesting fellow who represented Kenya in Survivor Africa and always seemed so proud to be black and African. He is also a Djimon Hounsou (co-star in the movie, ‘Blood Diamond’) look-alike, an aspect that may lead to enormous opportunities.
So, according to Derrick, is it the Caucasian women who go after black male models or is it the other way round?
"It is the Caucasian women who are fascinated by black male models, but I don’t know why. I think to a white woman, there are no ugly black people. The darker the person the better. I am not fascinated with them (white women) even after living in America for almost 10 years (from 1995 to 2003)."
Former Mr Kenya, Odada Okello, first introduced Derrick to modelling in 2004. The opportunity to represent Kenya in Survivor Africa was very welcome.
"It was a boost to my CV, I got a lot of exposure. I seriously want to get into movies and modelling professionally and seriously. Problem is, there are no movie agencies in Kenya," he says.
Survivor Africa may not have directly changed his life but he learnt a lot from the reality show.
For now, Derrick is focusing on modelling and adverts. He was part of the East African Fashion Week Extravaganza and acted as a sedan carrier in the movie ‘Africa Mon Amor (I love Africa),’ a movie based on the world war.
Got to see the country
The movie was shot by Blue Sky and ought to be out by the end of the year.
"I loved doing this movie because I got to see our beautiful country. We went to Samburu and Lamu. It should be out in Germany by now," Derrick asserts.
Derrick is however a bit disappointed that while personalities in other countries who take place in reality TV show are usually given opportunities to continue promoting their countries, the same does not take place in Kenya. Derrick however says he is a real survivor and will not give up.
For Odada — who was Mr Kenya for five years (2002-2007), modelling is now a thing of the past. He quit in July this year. "I wasn’t comfy with the limelight. With the fame came the women, money and partying," he says.
He enlightens us on the on goings of the modelling industry in relation to Caucasian women. "We live in a world where some women are chasing after men. Everything is reverse. Most models want to maintain their status even after being at the top hence they go for sugar mummies or women who have already established themselves," he adds.
He says many models do not want to stay here in Kenya so some prefer to get married to white chicks in order to get the opportunity to go abroad.
"But at the back of their minds most of them think about getting a Kenyan woman later," he claims.
Odada says he made a lot of money during his reign as Mr Kenya. However, he is now a full time pastor and is opening his New Miracle Centre later this year. He says he got saved for the first time in 1999 but then rededicated his life to God three years ago.
"I’m cool about having to leave modelling because this is for a higher calling. I learnt that life is not all about fame. I wanted to be at the top, which I did but I learnt that this was all vanity. It has money, but life is not all about money," he concludes.
Odada says he eventually had to follow the road Jesus chose for him. As a model life was one party after another.
"The issue about modelling is that women just want to be there around you. There was lots of drinking, smoking and partying because modelling events used to be held at night," he says.
Odada is now focusing on his ministry as well as being an MC at various events."

10-09-2007, 07:44 AM
In addition to models, another area of Black male/White female is REGGAE MUSIC. Many Rastafarians you see about town have white women with them, heh heh...