Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Relationships > Have we given up on love?

Default 09-21-2007, 03:52 AM

Originally Posted by Shyloxx26 View Post
Charity begins at home. If you were never shown love in the home-front, then, it will be very difficult if not impossible to love someone else.

I believe most of us have not been taught how to love someone else. Society celebrates on having you join their clan, then it's downhill from there. Just go back to your family setting. When was the last time you heard your mama or papa say they love you? How many of us have siblings but never share anything? If we don't learn from home then we shall never know how to handle other people out there. That's my 2 cents
I think such people are not absolutely hopeless. You can always learn how to love. I also think in many african families, its not exclusively how family tell you they love you but how loved they make you feel.

While on the topic of telling each other i love you. Look at relationships. I used to date this guy who always told me he loved me on every opportunity we spoke. Lakini when i was by myself i'd keep thinking why would he do this or that to hurt me if he really did love me. I realised laying emphasis on just words alone is very lame. Actions have to accompany those words, i'd rather he showed me he loved me than told me he loved me and didn't live up to the words.

Last edited by Sanaa- : 09-21-2007 at 03:57 AM.
Poster boy From Hell is on a distinguished road

Default 09-21-2007, 04:04 AM

Dot NEt...i ahev a feeling you are Female...u know the way u show love as such a pivot point....no offence intended....but if only the ladies stop being Emotionally propelled life would be so much easier.love is over rated..its weakness..its when u declare that u cant live without another again Weakness...
look for compatibility..love is died long dead

Not all things that can be counted count and not all things that count can be counted! life is just another sexually transmitted Disease

Last edited by Poster boy From Hell : 09-21-2007 at 05:00 AM.
Bridgette is on a distinguished road

Default 09-21-2007, 04:30 AM

From most of the threads we see in this section, its like most of us go thru a very hard time in relationships. Like most of us have really had it rough or are having it rough.

Where do you think the problem lies? Is it that we don't know how to show love? How to share it? Is it that most of us have given up on finding true love and are currently having 'fun' and not sharing love?

Does the problem lie in the society that we live in or are we just in hurry to get someone to be there and hence overlook some vital signs and later on find ourselves trapped in 'relationships' that need a new word to define them?

What is the problem?
Have we given up on love?
Do WE/YOU believe in LOVE?

I believe in love and am so proud to say outside of mashada am sick with love in a v v v nice way. am inlove and am intoxicated by it.i have a man who loves me sooo much and i feel the same for him.am not sceptic or afraid that he is a dog yani i have just given my heart to him kabisa he can do what ever he wants with it. am not expecting or waiting for him to hurt me but if he does .....well thats just a risk one has to be willing to take if you want to give and get real love.From when i met him a couple of years ago to date our love just grows day by day.

ok enought of that.yes these days there is this mentality that men cant be trusted especially when women are becoming so independent. you know to love someone you have to surrender to him because its not a competition.love him and trust him. if its a marriage women need to let the man be the head of the house ata kama you are independent. women feel like they just dont need men....yani i cant even explain it. i think real love is becoming extinct.

sweetesthing is on a distinguished road

Default 09-21-2007, 05:07 AM

I thought the poster was refering bf kind of love. As for the types of love - i have plenty - i give an receive in abundance
your one lucky gal. love still exists it's just that we love the wrong people or things

Last edited by sweetesthing : 09-21-2007 at 05:10 AM.

Default 09-21-2007, 05:35 AM

Originally Posted by Poster boy From Hell View Post
Dot NEt...i ahev a feeling you are Female...u know the way u show love as such a pivot point....no offence intended.......
As male as they come, no offence taken so usijali. Am a dude lakini

mlanyanda is on a distinguished road

Default 09-21-2007, 09:37 AM

Originally Posted by sweetesthing View Post
your one lucky gal. love still exists it's just that we love the wrong people or things
Yup.... It exists in abundance and if u find it... u r one heck of a lucky person... Ask me, I know.......

Shyloxx26

Default @ Kwm - 09-22-2007, 05:01 AM

Originally Posted by kwm View Post
Shyloxx26 couldn't have said it better, indeed charity begins at home.

Thanks for your support!

Reach for the stars, so that when you fall you land on the clouds. Kanye West

Default 09-22-2007, 07:25 AM

there is this book i read, cant recall the title but it talked about a logic bubble. a logic bubble according to this book is like one's personal actions according to past experiences( i knw it isnt clear). sometimes we someone do something and we are like whats wrong with him, how can he do that. little do we know, he is doing that certain thing in relation to what he has been through.

so back to love, i rem my first bf used to tell me he loved me and sh!t. i was so inlove with him as well, yani, i saw us being forever. then after being treated like sh!t for almost 3yrs in the name of love, thats when i saw things clearly. after that relationship, to me, love is a distant thing when it comes to men. i dont even want to know if it exists or not. but love in any other context apart from bfs, hiyo i got loads of it, and i dont hide it.

so basically what im saying is that love has a different meaning to diffent people. to some its having someone you can rely on, or trust, or rum to when the world seems wrong and so on and so forth
my 2cents.

Last edited by mtoto mzuri : 09-22-2007 at 07:28 AM.

Default 09-24-2007, 03:13 AM

not yet..........

EightInchCutie is on a distinguished road

Default 09-24-2007, 03:34 AM

i got lots of LOVE in my pants

Girls be thinkin I'm nice but I'm a runt