Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Relationships > Interracial Relationships

JustMe

Default Interracial Relationships - 09-15-2002, 10:20 PM

I was just wondering what people here think about people of different races being involved in serious relationships.
Can such two people overcome the race carrier or are they just doomed to a life of trying to assimilate to other person's culture, but never really getting there?

Coconut

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-18-2002, 12:47 AM

my opinion is that love is colour blind and it is an individuals choice whom it is they decide to share themselves with, everyone else should respect that even if they don't like it.

Do not adjust your mind,
there are faults with reality!

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-18-2002, 01:57 AM

lakini hii topic imerudiwa rudiwa mara mingi sana ... why dont you check out nadia's post or go to the abroad forum ... theres something on that there .. :-)

Nadia is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-18-2002, 06:48 PM

lol..I see watu wengi are going "Ivory"...and may be loving it...:D :D :D :D...lol

Kyalo

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-18-2002, 06:55 PM

>>>Can such two people overcome the race carrier or are they just doomed to a life of trying to assimilate to other person's culture, but never really getting there?<<<<<<<<<<

You it got there witht the rhetorical question. If you have pride in what you and are sober, you can never get beyond assimilation. usually it will be you(black) giving up what defines you. Adventure is fine though.

Coconut

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-18-2002, 08:26 PM

why does one race have to assimilate to the other, why can't two people who love eachother whether they be black, white, yellow or whateva just live together and grow and learn from eachother. You got together cause there was something that made you fall so why do you need to loose your identity?

Do not adjust your mind,
there are faults with reality!

JustMe

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-18-2002, 09:15 PM

I disagree that its always the blacks adjusting to the white culture, thats not the case at all...

as far as im concerned, you love who you love and that should be the end of it.

nene

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-19-2002, 07:40 AM

@Nadia, long time gal...i need to talk to you.
ex-Brian here.

Nadia is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-20-2002, 12:18 PM

nene.....umm..ma'..wassup...am doing good....Send me a PM!...we gats to talk...muax*...:) :)

md

Default RE: Interracial Relationships - 09-20-2002, 03:56 PM

To Justme,

It all begins with what's in your mind. If the values you hold or believe in prohibit/foster your belief in interracial relationships then probably you do/don't see how this things work out. The fact that you ask means you're uncertain.

Perhaps it is time to adjust your attitude, be open minded, think differently and be sensitive to others and you will soon realise that there is more in diversity than in uniformity. You gain more by integrating with diverse elements around you than if you don't. A relationship(interraccial or not) is in its own way a risk. The worst risk is not to take a risk.

Life is not just what you make it, it's also how you take it. The same applies with relationships.

one love, one life, do it right.
md