Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Relationships > Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ?

patapata

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-13-2002, 05:09 PM

If we're generalising, then my answer is, "Yes, they are xenophobic."
And so are Kenyans, and Americans and Chinese and Botswanans and Ugandans... Most people I know are more comfortable with those that they are familiar with. It's not a crime. It's human nature. Maybe we could change our perspective kidogo, get rid of the label "Xenophobia". 'Cause that applies to something much stronger.

The Ethiopians that I do know exhibit a pride of their culture that is uncharacteristic of most of my other African acquaintances. Yes, they take pride in knowing more about their country and their people than about some nation a continent and an ocean away from them. And it is true that they tend to socialise more with their fellow wananchis than with anyone else. Swali: Is it better to be ethnocentric or to worship another people's culture?

In the few instances that I have seen Ethiopians, Sudanese, and Somalis reaching out to Kenyans, they have been snubbed (by the Kenyans). The general Kenyan philosophy in these cases has been to avoid association with refugees. Swali: Is there a difference between, say an Ethiopian proudly stating that his country never was colonised, and a Kenyan stating just as proudly that his people have never been refugees in other Eastern African countries?

Flip thru' some of the Mashada discussion pages and see what a number of Kenyans have to say about Nigerians, Somalis, Liberians, South Africans. Alternatively, I could spare you the effort and just sum it up for you: We're always spearheading smear campaigns against Africans of other nationalities. The Kenyans that I have had the honour to know do not mix with other Africans unless they ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO. (I could narrow it down even further. Substitute "Africans" with "Kenyan tribes".) Are these Kenyans then xenophobic or tribalistic or is it just easier for them to coexist with individuals who share and understand their beliefs and values?

It is true that Ethiopia was not colonised. So however many times an Ethiopian states that fact, no matter how irritating it might be, it is true! :) In all honesty, reacting to it the way many Africans do = being defensive.

We might take it for granted, but we're in the middle of an identity crisis. Let's not sahau that colonialism ended just the other day (40 yrs is not a significant amount of time). Successive years of being preached to about the inferiority and barbaric nature of one's ways does have its toll. Ethiopians were lucky to escape that painful part of our history. Of course that does not make them superior to any other human society.

Yes, they're poor. That's inevitable given the state of the global economy. Lakini let's not fool ourselves, so are we. We may boast a larger capital city, a greater urbanised population, a larger English speaking population and greater foreign investment; lakini what does it all mean at the end of the day when maisha yetu, sisi sote, ni ya hali duni?

I guess not being colonised did not protect Ethiopia from mediocre leadership and natural disasters, but their fierce national pride, in spite of all their suffering, is one that I sometimes envy. It probably rubs many of us the wrong way because we take pride in nothing of our own. Amaje?

thierry

Default took the words from my keyboard - 08-14-2002, 02:43 AM

Hapo pata pata umenena kunena kabisa. I have NEVER read a post before where there was so much objectivity and balance of views all in one. I am not kissing ass by the way coz i dont have anything to gain from you. I couldnt have put it better myself. I used to think that Ethiopians are arrogant but im like, can all people of the same country be the same? That article that that guy posted was educative indeed. It changed how i see ethiopians. From now on i will make a conscious effort to love ethiopians. I have always loved the way ethiopian chilles feel good for themselves. Kenyans could learn from that instead of kissing ass all day trying to sound like akataz or junguz. Bottom line. Ethiopians are a proud people, proud of their culture and most importaantly proud of themselves. Yes at times it can be annoying in the same vein that being too humble can be annoying too. someone said ati they are poor. that they may be but at least they have an identity. They are a poor people who know EXACTLY WHO THEY ARE. not like kenyans who are in some kind of identity crisis or other. At the end of the day, all that matters is how in touch you are with your true ethnic self. Sio ile pesa iko kwa bank. and we all know that which is why it pains us so to see others who carry that attitude with so much ease while its a struggle to us. I have NEVER met a kenyan who is proud of kenya the way ethiopians are of ethiopia.yule ana kitu ya kusema a seme

Midnight Marauder

Default RE: took the words from my keyboard - 08-14-2002, 12:56 PM

Okay, I'm still waiting for someone to declare they have a good Ethanopian friend. If I were a betting man, I'd know exactly where to put my money coz chances are remote to zip that even a handful of Mashadites will contend so.

Guys, guys, while I do not disagree that knowing exactly who you are (whatever that means) sounds like, and so prabably is, a positive attribute of human existence, I personally seek contentment from different things and do not labor much over my identity. After all, I am who I am, and I am who the beholder decides I am in their eyes.

Ethanopians may sing praises for their culture unto glory - I still think they are xenophobic, and will view them as such until they give me a reason to change my mind. They can hang onto their music and languages all they want - I still think Kiswahili is richer and more practical language, and that Ndombolo kicks ass compared to any Ethanopian melody, dance or lyric.

Okay, Lingala music isn't Kenyan - so what?! I like it, I've appropriated it as my representation of African music, I wow all who don't partake Lingala with my love of the genre, and I'll choose Lingala over any other African music, and I'm proud of Lingala music. And I believe that somewhere therein lies my identity as an African, and you are free to disagree and demonstrate why I fail to be African, and explain why Ethanopians beat me at self-knowledge and identity.

Me thinks - good for Ethanopians that they so love themselves and their culture, but I sure wish they'd get other things in their house in order. Sometimes, hanging on is simply a symptom of inability to cut the umbilical cord and chart ones own path to the future. For instance, I mentioned before, I'm from a tribe in Kenya that still reveres the ceremonies surrounding circumcision.

While the entire ceremony can be interesting to watch, frankly, I derive more pleasure from watching the UEFA cup soccer competition.

Plus, I think folks have continued to revere some of these practices to the detriment of other more pressing obligations. For instance, a typical family from my tribe will sacrifice several bulls, goats, cows, chickens and llamas through their son's circumcision ceremony, let alone other related costs. And the sad, sorry-*****, retarded thing about the whole thing is that they splurge so toward this "ceremony" while rendering much else expendable, including educating one, or two, or all daughters!!! That circumsicion could've been accomplished at the local clinic in no time at all (yank, snip, sew .... :-)) for nothing!!!!!

Maybe unlike this Mashadite who does not know his exact identity, one of y'all Mashadites who knows exactly who they are can justify prioritizing circumsicion ceremonies over education for the daughters .....

Furthermore, I think identity crisis in small doses is a good thing - this is how cultures evolve - people engage in self-examination .... purge themselves of beliefs and practices that have long ceased to serve any meaningful function .... (I mean, I asked whether my couzo who "went to the river" but now drinks changaa like it's life-giving yet cannot feed his many starving kids, is more man than me, the "hospital" guy - I asked this before ...... somebody, anybody, .... tell me that guy is more man than I am :-)).

BTW, my one unforgetable memory of the circumcision experience is that ..... a hard-on is a frigin' B*TCH!! when a certain appendage to ones body's tore up and bandaged :7, but that's a story for another day.

I think that critical examination of ones identity can be very constructive, and while the answers may not come readily, at least one will have embarked on a journey that frees them from myopic endearment to some retarded crap, like believing "Injera" to rank among the more celebrated culinary achievements :-).

Hey, while I don't hate or even dislike Ethanopians, I'm still convinced they are a Xenophonic and car-herding bunch :-). I'll reserve my love for other more deserving recepients.

And can somebody confirm this coz I heard the US Embassy in Addis instructs on a dress code for Ethanopian chics coming to the US - mandates them to wear black, skin-tight, flared pants, coz that's all the Ethanopian sistahs appear to have in their wardrobes ..... :-)

Xanadu

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 12:51 AM

I do have a very close ethiopian friend currently somewhere in DC. I shared a flat with her for two years back home and we still keep in touch constantly. My other kenyan best friend has a kid with an Ethiopian and getting married by December. Here in my little corner, I also happen to have another close ethiopian friend we hang out together most of time even though there are a number of his country people here. It's a given fact, ethiopians are very proud people especially when it comes to their culture but once you get to know them well, they happen to the kindest,loyal and trustworthy friends anybody can ask for and I definately enjoy their crusine.

-------------
G'day mate!!!

CODE WARRIOR

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 01:08 AM

I have a true Ethiopian friend,this gal will give you the shirt of her back ,thats how 'REAL' she is,I also have a bunch of Eritrean friends .And I have noticed some Ethiopians are very conservative but if you get to know those who grew up in Addis they're more worldy and approachable,but like every society you'll run into the ignorant ones who claim nationalism and have thier flag shrink wrapped around thier brains!

mali

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 04:08 AM

TO ALL ETHIOPIANS HATERS GO FLUSH UR SELVES IN THE TOILET. LONG LIVE ETHIOPIA AND IT´S KONJUNA PEOPLE. ONE FIKREH.

dru

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 05:03 AM

I'd say they are really conservative, loving, very loyal friends, patriotic...they love their country to death unlike Kenyans who are always dissing. And yes they do look down on other africans and would prefer not to date or marry any into their bloodlines. we are too dark and have thick lips....they have great food tho'..I have ethiopian friends and I can't stop going to their place coz of the feeda, its becomeing embarrassing.

Abdul99

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 05:49 AM

No, I don't think so. I have been in Addis Ababa and it's probably one of the safest and friendliest places--unlike our Nairobi. People are very helpful whenever you ask for any assistance.
Infact when I went to Nairobi on my way from Addis I was shocked how NBI is so crowded nowadays. It is very unsafe.
I have a lovely Ethiopian fiancee, she is great lady. I met her family and they are all very lovely people. I have a lot of Ethiopian friends here in London, they are lovely people--very proud of their country, culture and food. We Kenyans are very individualistic and mostly selfish---just me,me,me and my tribe first!!!!
Shame on us.
As for Ethiopians, they are lovely people and I'll be going there very soon.

ciru

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 06:11 AM

i love ethiopians! they're so gorgeous! I love injera and i love their traditional dress and i love their coffee making ceremony with the insence (sp) and the roasted coffee beans....

i think they have every reason to feel proud of their culture.

Midnight Marauder

Default RE: Are Ethiopians Xenophobic Or What ? - 08-16-2002, 10:51 AM

Okay, I guess Ethanopians can have REAL friends outside their clan. I'm sorry I was so hard on them. I guess I got carried away ..... hey, that I be dissin' Ethanopians may just be .... projection of my feelings of inadequacy .... - ya know ...... dismay at my comparative lack of "African" pedigree :-). I apologize for any distress I may have caused to those in love, in lust or in awe of persons and matters Ethanopian.

But seriously, I need to be educated here .... do Kenyan really go around thinking to themselves - "I'm less African than that Ethanopian dude or chic strutting down the street ...?"

Guys, are we really less proud of Kenya than Ethanopians are of their land, culture? The fact that I hate the powers that be for what they've done to Kenya doesn't necessarily amount to hatred of Kenya. I love my homeland like nobody's business .... and I'm rather proud of many aspects Kenyan.

I see no reason to be less proud of matters Kenyan than any Ethanopian is proud of .... ah..... Injera :-). So, that's my take.

Meanwhile, y'all with Ethanopian friends, any chance you can obtain the inside scoop on their forte in re car-herding? How about that black, skin-tight, flared pants phenomenon with the Ethanopian babes?