Long distance relationship? -
04-29-2002, 04:37 AM
I've always pitied people who had to carry on with long distance relationships.
I am talking with my boyfriend on the phone and I can tell there's something wrong. So I ask him and he says he cant tell me over the phone, so we hook up and he tells me that he has to go out of town for a while. 'A while?' I ask. He says he got this job and it's way out of town. So my little world of 'this happens to other people'comes crashing down. As in we have never been separated for more than 2 weeks before and that was hard enuff. So my question is, do long distance relationships work? I have been seeing this guy like for two years. How do people manage if you have ever been in this situation?
I know he can be coming down during weekends, but......for how long will that be suffecient?
RE: Long distance relationship? -
04-29-2002, 10:19 AM
hey!! i dont believe in long distance relationships coz am in one and its a total disaster! I mean u talk to the person on phone and mail each other but "things will never just be the same" I know u know what i mean.
But.....on the other hand two years is a long time and you should consider whether the affair is worth losing. if u trust the jamaa then u are definately safe and if you dont..then think twice and get someone who is closer to you.
04-29-2002, 10:27 AM
I wouldnt say long distance relationships do not work.It works differently for everyone.What happenes to someone else's relationship does not have to happen to you.If both of you trust each other and like you said, have seen each 0ther 2 years now thats somethng I guess you wouldnt want to blow away just because everyone says long D's do not work!!!
Take one day at a time.
It is afterall Your relationship...not everyone else's.
04-29-2002, 11:02 AM
am not like hers is not to work out coz other peoples dont work out!! your jamaa is in states like for 5 years then you wait for him and happily live ever after???? wacha uongo..things go wrong and 1 out of a million survives. what happened to sexual urges and getting on with your life?? and i said that for shee here, after 2 years of loving, and again the jamaa comes like after a week hata kama its 2 weeks, then she is sawa but she had better be using a condom if they do it!!
Hey dont kill me....thats my opinion and am right!!!
04-29-2002, 11:10 AM
a relationship is between 2 people...u have to sit with ur partner and have a heart to heart discussion and see what options u both have...don't look for other people to validate whether long distance r/ships work...all r/ships work if the 2 parties work at it...good luck..
happy people...cheerful people...those r my kind of people
http://www.debsfunpages.com/moresmiles/skipy.gif
04-29-2002, 11:19 AM
Well, i must say long didtance is hard to keep, but i also believe that if you have trust and vboth of you remain faithful unto each other it can work, having been there i know ldl is one hard r/ship, but since you know your man well then don't loose him co he got a job in onother town, its all good maybe you can relocate too laters, anyhow i wish you well.
04-29-2002, 03:24 PM
>Well, a relationship wether long distance or short distance what matters is the factor that binds you together.So dear check that out and judge wether its worth waiting for the guy and leaving happily ever after or hooking wit another one (who is a 'short distance from you')who will never give ya mind peace.
Hata kama fimbo ya bali haiuwi nyoka iwe !!!! sometimes..it pays to be patient
04-29-2002, 03:32 PM
The % of such relationships ever working out is like 2. Temptation is always out there and lets face it, jamaas can't stay faithful for long especially if the woman is like miles away. "Aaah, she will never find out."
Women on the other hand will stray because they get too lonely and the need for security is a high priority and if he ain't there how the hell is he of any help...
People grow older and change and if you haven't seen each other for a while you are bound to notice just how different you have both grown to be. During the first few weeks of seeing each other after being apart for years will be ecstatic but all the cracks will start showing soon after.
LONG DISTANCE RELATIONSHIPS NEVER WORK!!! :-(
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Common sense will prevail but not all sense is common
04-29-2002, 03:37 PM
some work some dont.. it depends on the two of you, if you guyz are committed to each other and trust each other then all will be good. Granted it will be hard not seeing him as often as you are used to but another thing you could do if this relationship is really important to you and it bothers you that hes moving, maybe consider moving with him? either way good luck, hope everything works out :)
04-29-2002, 07:26 PM
Coming to see you during the weekends will work for a while, but the two of you have to come up with a lasting solution. Either of two things will eventually happen;
1. the relationship will erode, you/he will get tired of seeing him/you only on weekends and succumb to temptations and move on.
2. The relationship will grow stronger and you will have to move (since he got a job and may not be able to move back).
You seems to believe that the relationship is good between the two of you and you would like to stay together. I hope he feels the same. The two of you need to discuss it and decide how to deal with his moving.