Go Back   Mashada Forums » Society & Culture » Relationships

Old 1st October 2009, 09:40 AM

blackie55 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to blackie55
Default New marriage draft bill. Ati portfolio balance?    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

To marry a second wife, your wife has to allow you, in writing.
Women will also have to pay for their husbands upkeep should they divorce.
Come- we- stay will be recognized after a given period.
Culural marriages will be just like christian and islamic ones, with certificates and all.
Emphasis is on a 50/50 basis in all aspects.
What's ur take?
Old 1st October 2009, 01:11 PM

Ghetto Love is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by blackie55 View Post
Culural marriages will be just like christian and islamic ones, with certificates and all.
What's ur take?
Theres nothing wrong with the bills,its all about equality which women have been fighting for for years,it,ll be cool to share property from a rich wife fifty fifty.
Old 2nd October 2009, 03:58 AM

Naturally, women are resisting the idea of having to pay for a poor husbands upkeep,
sio kwa kupenda, sheria.
Alafu guyz, no more hanyaring big time. You'l have to hit and run coz wives wont sign that dotted line Ati uchukue second. Arrrgh!

Last edited by blackie55; 2nd October 2009 at 04:00 AM. Reason: Spelling
Old 2nd October 2009, 08:00 AM

Redi wa Kandara is on a distinguished road

Relax Blackie,

there is NO way these draft Bills will see the light of day! The same way Njoki Ndungu's Sexual Offences Bill was watered down by Parliament and other "stakeholders" is the EXACT same treatment these Bills will receive.

Enjoy your weekend beer, pal! It is a man's world!

@ all: Please read Lucy Oriang's column in the Opinion section of today's Daily Nation. She gives the best commentary on the whole issue and throws a delicious barb of how two top-flight Kenyan lawyers have lived together and have a family without bothering to end a subsisting marriage-contrary to the law. Adding further insult to injury, the woman who ponyokad with another woman's husband is a renown "human rights" lawyer!

Tehehehehe, James and Betty, you are my heroes! Bila feelings kabisa!
Old 2nd October 2009, 05:26 PM

Seems there's a great difference between what happens and whats written on sijui statutes, constitution, penal code, by laws and all manner of legalistic nonsense.
Si orezo ana wifey wawili tunajua?
I think lawyers in this country should just give us a break.
We pay 222 kenyans to manufacture counterfeit laws which they aren't bound to.
A policeman has more work when people break laws,
A lawyer when debates are legalistic and a businessman when the economy is thriving.
My question. What's the use of making laws if they are not adhered to?
In some aspects somalia is better.
Pretenders are worse than. . .
Old 3rd October 2009, 03:29 AM

chotadipo is an unknown quantity at this point

You read selectively. The above only happens if the marriage is not Islamic or customery. Kenya recognises Islmaic and customery marriages as inherently polygamous. I would say this is a loophole for men.

I would like to see men resist this.

Makes sense to me. This instils a sense of responsibility

The only part they will be same is that you get a certificate and you cannot ask for dowry back, otherwise they will still be distinct. Also cultural marriage takes precedence over other forms. This is good as it elevates the african culture above some Jewish, Islamic, hindi, and Victorian customs.

What's ur take?
Good bill, but as usual most Kenyan men being thickheads will not see it for its substance.
Old 3rd October 2009, 10:48 AM

A.M Nafusi is on a distinguished road

First, sielewi why people are against the bill.

2nd, those against the bill, what do they have in mind?

This destructive form of living has to stop. People have spent resources drafting that bill, more will be spent bickring over it...then end result, nothing!

Ajiambo
Old 3rd October 2009, 11:06 AM

In a serious situation, Parliament would seriously debate bills and vote based upon the strength of the objective points in a case.

Many MPs don't take their jobs seriously, including MPs who have suffered in the basement of Nyayo House.

It is possible that this Bill will pass without sufficient quorum. The MPs who will vote may not even be fully aware of what they are voting about, about all the repercussions. An MP may not even vote using a "better safe than sorry" approach to law-making; they are exposing Kenyans to a future of much stupid court action.
Old 2nd December 2009, 05:47 AM

paola is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone affected by the bill?

Hi everyone,

I'm a journalist from Canada, writing about the proposed Marriage Bill for a U.S. magazine. I'm interested in talking to people who would be affected by the bill if it goes through: widows, couples in come-we-stay relationships, etc.

If you (or anyone you know) fit the bill, please email me through Mashada.

Thanks,

Paola
Old 17th December 2009, 09:59 AM

curious K is on a distinguished road
Default hakuna!!

If you see a woman say yes so eagerly to something,stop to think,bugger.Leaving aside the wimps who would marry for money,which(excuse of a) man can see himself in court pursuing a womans money?And how would that make you look?Not practical at all.A long term lover with no presumption of marriage(legally) is fair enough.Any law without regard for that just don't make the cut.With that in mind,I see a busy future.By what divine inspiration does any faggot think she has the right to take my future God-given years for two mutually shared ones?Gentlemen,write & edit your Wills now & every two years without fail.Lawyers don't cost that much.You can have kids with anyone,just take care of them.They grow up real good,love you soo much,and you my friend,have a very,very fulfilling,unlimited,uninhibited life,without much in lack.

ati, balance, draft, marriage, portfolio