Go Back   Mashada Forums > News & Politics > Other News & Politics > What would You Do? Non citizen African from Diaspora wants in!

Realistik Dreamer is on a distinguished road

Default What would You Do? Non citizen African from Diaspora wants in! - 09-13-2008, 05:13 AM

Shaka Zulu an African American sued the Kenya government in the "90s for land to settle

If you were in an influental position say the president, prime minister, immigration minister, cabinet, AG etc would you support the African Americans like Shaka Zulu who are sick and tired of life in America, Europe Australia etc what would you do?

check Shaka Zulu's interview

Dave Blumenkrantz: Photojournalism, Documentary, and Visual Communications Studies . . .

mjozi

Default Africans Are Ignorant about Afro-Americans - 09-15-2008, 07:08 AM

It is true that Africans only look at the life of African Americans through the lens of TV, Music and other things like that. The African outlook towards people of the black race in general is just wrong. You will hear Kenyans talking so bad things about Nigerians as if they are of different races. What Shaka Zulu is talking about is true in many ways. If we don't loose our traditional beliefs that don't take us anywhere we will never be able to fight as one people.

And why not let African Americans with good family morals and ideaologies that can help the continent come back to Africa and have land. There is so much land going to waste in the name of ownership. At least someone like this will actually do something productive with the land.

Default 09-15-2008, 07:47 PM

mjozi It is true that Africans only look at the life of African Americans through the lens of TV, Music and other things like that. The African outlook towards people of the black race in general is just wrong. You will hear Kenyans talking so bad things about Nigerians as if they are of different races. What Shaka Zulu is talking about is true in many ways. If we don't loose our traditional beliefs that don't take us anywhere we will never be able to fight as one people.

And why not let African Americans with good family morals and ideaologies that can help the continent come back to Africa and have land. There is so much land going to waste in the name of ownership. At least someone like this will actually do something productive with the land.

Realistik Dreamer:The naive/ignorant notions many Africans from both side of the atlantic have on each other is really another facet of tribalism:

feelings of superiority & inferiority are exchanged fluidly and mutually depending on context & individual.

eg An african in nairobi may think after watching soul food on NTV or the bernie mac show on KTN that all is sweet in the states.

an african from kumasi ends up in london after getting the visa, and realizes that sometimes the Black african jamaicans (how confusing!) scions may show antipathy/disinterest or resentment towards him.

" I thought these bloody reggae pot-loving guys sing one love africa all the time!", he may fume.

Our kumasi brother will then call such jamaicans mere children of "sugar cane planters!"

Letting off steam au sivyo!

And the african american in new york (check commedycomming to america-eddie murphy) may just tell the fresh nairobian to "eff off kunta kinte!"instead of responding to the nairobian's "hi brother!"

Tribalism. An insidious cynicism sets in. All notions of African unity begins to sound like a fantasy.

Two wrongs dont make a right.

Somebody has to meet the two. And its you and I.

Africans must cross this artificial divisions at home and abroad. Dont allow ourselves to be discouraged by ignorance.

By sneering, leering enemies of our race. They love to see such quibbling amongst ourselves. It gives them leeway to dig up our oil, titanium, diamonds, iron ore, bauxite, gold, copper, uranium.................as we grovel in bloody minded stupour!

Building nations is a difficult, consious effort that needs study, study, study.

hate is easy. anybody can do hate!

[i]Our comming inevitable unity is all we will ever have.[/I]

Last edited by Realistik Dreamer : 09-15-2008 at 07:59 PM.
mjozi

Default Black Setbacks - 09-23-2008, 10:00 AM

My biggest concern is that Africans especially Kenyans now have stopped valuing people for who they are. they only value money. They can easily give land, daughters, money and respect to disrespectful people as in the Armenian case but wont give a sec to a man like Shaka who just wants to complete a historical equation. I remember I was doing a programme in Nairobi which involved African Americans who I invited to come to Nairobi for some time. During that time I saw the true colors of our people. VERY CONFUSED. We would go out on weekends and i saw how loss of culture can really create a headless society. I was privy to many special incidences and comments. My Afro-American bros were cool to be home by they faced so much challenge. Everytime Kenyan woman hears black American they think; New York, riches etc......So one weekend we end up in a restaurant that sells the best fish and Ugali. Later some local Kenyan girls drop by and we tell them where we went to eat. They totally dissed that saying why would u go eat there. Come to realise these local girls had an opportunity to go study in Australia sometime back so they were back home pretending that they didnt eat Ugali. am there in that whole mix because Im tall, they probablt thought I was a brother too.............I broke it down to them........ofcourse I wasnt their favourite persons. The saga continues........................

Sankara is on a distinguished road

Default 09-27-2008, 10:54 AM

First of all, you have to look at the land policy we have in kenya. Foreigners aren't allowed to buy land unless it is for investment purposes. So if shaka zulu was just planning to just buy land to settle, then the govt is right to decline. However, it can follow the path that west african countries have taken to attract diasporan afrikans by offering land at local rates.

Secondly, i must alot of the hate i've received in the UK is from west indians. so the whole 'we are african, one love' mantra is just a mere fantasy. the african is looked down upon and we have to acknowledege it exists but strive for ourselves and excel.

Default 09-30-2008, 12:10 PM

Sankara:First of all, you have to look at the land policy we have in kenya. Foreigners aren't allowed to buy land unless it is for investment purposes. So if shaka zulu was just planning to just buy land to settle, then the govt is right to decline. However, it can follow the path that west african countries have taken to attract diasporan afrikans by offering land at local rates.

Secondly, i must alot of the hate i've received in the UK is from west indians. so the whole 'we are african, one love' mantra is just a mere fantasy. the african is looked down upon and we have to acknowledege it exists but strive for ourselves and excel.

Realistik Dreamer: I can relate kabisa to what you are saying about the West Indian thing.

This is due to ignorance on both sides of the atlantic I think. We need to probably look at it as a form of tribalism.

If we accept that tribalism is a malignant cancer, then we work-starting as individuals to laser it to death!

Many will still show you contempt. Let them wallow in their ignorance/misery or whatever. You cant change the world but you can control how your mind relates to it.

A little at a time........

Peace

Last edited by Realistik Dreamer : 09-30-2008 at 12:20 PM.

Default 09-30-2008, 12:18 PM

mjozi My biggest concern is that Africans especially Kenyans now have stopped valuing people for who they are. they only value money. They can easily give land, daughters, money and respect to disrespectful people as in the Armenian case but wont give a sec to a man like Shaka who just wants to complete a historical equation. I remember I was doing a programme in Nairobi which involved African Americans who I invited to come to Nairobi for some time. During that time I saw the true colors of our people. VERY CONFUSED. We would go out on weekends and i saw how loss of culture can really create a headless society. I was privy to many special incidences and comments. My Afro-American bros were cool to be home by they faced so much challenge. Everytime Kenyan woman hears black American they think; New York, riches etc......So one weekend we end up in a restaurant that sells the best fish and Ugali. Later some local Kenyan girls drop by and we tell them where we went to eat. They totally dissed that saying why would u go eat there. Come to realise these local girls had an opportunity to go study in Australia sometime back so they were back home pretending that they didnt eat Ugali. am there in that whole mix because Im tall, they probablt thought I was a brother too.............I broke it down to them........ofcourse I wasnt their favourite persons. The saga continues........................[/quote]

Realistik Dreamer:Ha ha! Yeah we have a way to go. A way to go! To demystify the whole greco-roman-judeo-christian-islamo socio-economic system.

Demystify Africans on Africans (@home & abroad)-no media silly hype....it will take time I guess.

Peace

Jonny_Swaggs is on a distinguished road

Default 10-01-2008, 04:00 AM

Originally Posted by realistik dreamer View Post
mjozi my biggest concern is that africans especially kenyans now have stopped valuing people for who they are. They only value money. My afro-american bros were cool to be home by they faced so much challenge. Everytime kenyan woman hears black american they think; new york, riches etc......so one weekend we end up in a restaurant that sells the best fish and ugali. ..
Realistik Dreamer, as a young black woman, you have now lived in the Anglosaxon world long enough to be Black American (at least by naturalization), as a young black educated woman in west you have probably benefitted from more than your share of affirmative action.

However your ideologies, fundamental and hateful, are not the solution - they are not original either.

If africa was the center of the human race (i find this leakean theory too convinient) then it has to be the center of diversity not homegeniety. So foisting the black identity on the african is denying the fact that he is berber or somali, or zulu or dinka, a jew.

This whole black thing seems too convinient for the black american racist because the larger his family, the more powerful his politics. Now you bark all these "black this black that" ideologies, given your age youv'e probably been listening to too many malcom x wannabees. The problem with the black man in america is that race is the only ideology s/he knows. Because it is the ideology that has been used to oppress him.

Africans on the other hand have a richer more diverse, less fundamental relationship with other civilizations. They have religion, history, ethnicity, race, they are a diverse beautiful people - not a simple mass of BLACKNESS.

Rd we are getting tired of your diatribes - at least Toni Morrison is original and poetic, you are just regurgitating old afro american racist theories. Do something, instead of whining. Educate a poor child or give money to a church.... Sorry i forgot you are atheist.

Goo-day
swaggsie

Last edited by Jonny_Swaggs : 10-01-2008 at 04:03 AM.

Default 10-01-2008, 12:37 PM

jonny_swaggs:realistik dreamer, as a young black woman, you have now lived in the anglosaxon world long enough to be black american (at least by naturalization), as a young black educated woman in west you have probably benefitted from more than your share of affirmative action.

Realistik Dreamer: I am a Black Lion. Africanyou are a slaver boy. You are nothing but a pile of maggots.

jonny swaggshowever your ideologies, fundamental and hateful, are not the solution - they are not original either.

Realistik Dreamer:You are thick. How could humble me come up with original truths that have been from way back when?
That you are just an inadequate frightenned sad thing is obvious.

And that Black Africans are the light of the world.

Off course I am not original. I stand on the shoulders of black giants. Seen?

jonny swaggs:if africa was the center of the human race (i find this leakean theory too convinient) then it has to be the center of diversity not homegeniety. So foisting the black identity on the african is denying the fact that he is berber or somali, or zulu or dinka, a jew.

Realistik Dreamer:I feel sorry for you pinkoid bwoy! leakeys, a Kenyan white archeologist family, darwin a white jew-like yourself and numerous white scientists far cleverer than little minded you acknowledged this:

Why would these whiteys want to "conspire conveniently" for their black ancestry? silly.

Humanity began in Africa. original man is black.

this makes a thing like you my prodigal albino child you little pink mutant.

Try to be good, stop hating and try to be humble & truthful. We are civilizing you again.

this is science you maggot

jonny swaggs:this whole black thing seems too convinient for the black american racist because the larger his family, the more powerful his politics. Now you bark all these "black this black that" ideologies, given your age youv'e probably been listening to too many malcom x wannabees. The problem with the black man in america is that race is the only ideology s/he knows. Because it is the ideology that has been used to oppress him.

Realistik Dreamer:Its upto you if you chose to believe that white adam & eve (6000yrs ago only) were the first humans. Wallow in your ignorance you poor rodent!

So now you bare your yellow fangs vampire that you be!

So frustrated/surprised to find Black africans who are not so awed by your hypnosis of lies eh?

Scared senseless of the "larger family" of black africans! malcom x wannabes you sneer helplessly.

Fine. We need a million more of these-how about that white serf bwoy?

I keep telling you that whatever you say is meaningless, useless, hot air-immoral-like.

Since a white depraved pope in 1447clawed the air in 4 different directions (latin prayer like) thus giving holy sanction for the start of black African slavery.

you vampire child!

jonny swaggs:Africans on the other hand have a richer more diverse, less fundamental relationship with other civilizations. They have religion, history, ethnicity, race, they are a diverse beautiful people - not a simple mass of blackness.

Realistik Dreamer:you are out of your depth here swaggs. A fish out of its muddy pond of lies & hatred.You need to swill some cheap beer and think simpler thoughts.

Watch a western or something. Thats more your history, right? kill the injuns-like?

white ignorant serf you!

Africa is an enigma wrapped up in a mystery to you. Listen carefully still

jonny swiggs: rd we are getting tired of your diatribes - at least toni morrison is original and poetic, you are just regurgitating old afro american racist theories. Do something, instead of whining. Educate a poor child or give money to a church.... Sorry i forgot you are atheist.

Realistik Dreamer:Typical.What have you read of toni morrison you creep with no eye-brows? who are the "we" getting tired of black true history-this is not a little site for little-minded whites in the mid-west you know.

I am a transmitter. Humbly. I am not cooking up tales. I dont ask Africans to just believe....

You are now in africa, in a manner of speaking so show some respect you clot!

Last edited by Realistik Dreamer : 10-01-2008 at 12:50 PM.
Sankara is on a distinguished road

Default 10-01-2008, 02:18 PM

Realistik Dreamer, out of curiosity, are you kenyan? Its just that i rarely ever meet kenyans with a pro-black militant approach. I guess its refreshing in a way