A man who worked in a US nursing home has been crowned king of Rwenzururu in his home country of Uganda.
Charles Wesley Mumbere, who went to the US to study in 1984, told no-one of his royal heritage for more than 25 years. Video at link below: BBC NEWS | Africa | Ugandan king worked in care home |
Afadhali PRINCE aoshe rasa ulaya for a QUARTER CENTURY kuliko arudi AFRICA!! WAH!! Ama he was pulling a "Coming to America" stunt, eh? Trying to snag a royal bride by pretending to be dirt poor and working menial jobs while looking for his "one true love"-NAH! I don't think so. Ahhh, memories, Coming to America-ebu tucheze trailer we remember the days when Eddie Murphy was kinda cute and James Earl Jones was alive.... youtube - coming to america trailer |
he could have sat at home and waited for his "loyal subjects" to feed him. lakini no. he got on a plane and came huku to struggle. that is sthg i have always respected in folks: that ability to drop the airs of a "privileged" upbringing and work hard when circumstances necessitated it. ![]() Quote:
What some of you fail to understand is that until Museveni restored Ugandan Kingdoms, before then, even the Baganda kingdom had been banned and there were no royals. This man left Uganda at about the time his kingdom had been banned....and there was too much violence with all the coups and wars. Besides, these "kingdoms" are very petty. You sit under a tree and listen to villagers dancing around you all day. We are not talking about the Saudi kingdom here.
I am loathe to believe that no "villager" has and will never contribute anything signicant to this world therefore listening to them is a waste of time. Even to inspire them to greatness or at least to study medicine so Kemi doesnt have to bring an americunt doctor with him when he visits Africa...(will you bring americunt blood with you too just incase you need a transfusion?) Africans should stop coveting western style infrastructure. What whitey is not telling you is that he cannot afford to build the Londons and Romes today because he has no slaves!! So African, untill you are ready to enslave some people yourself, we need to put our heads down and do what we can to create a sustainable infrastructure that will suit our needs and not ask why we dont have "roman style" buildings in our backyard....that is not the yardstick to greatness!! Last edited by chemical; 23rd October 2009 at 10:31 AM. |
Lemmi hear s'one try to dispute my princesshood, but do I say .
Chemical,
You chose to twist my rather straightforward statement and ran with it. Be that as it may, please do tell why it would benefit me or anyone else for that matter to have people stop attending their shambas to come and dance around me singing all sorts of accolades all day. I happen to believe that all men were created equal and as such, no one needs to humiliate people so far as having them stop feeding their families to come boost their ego through songs and dances. Now, as for your rabid anti-americanism, it is almost a parody were it not that it's not meant to humor but abase my character as that of a white-man-loving lunatic. Very well then. Please do explain how my postulation, that the kenyan healthcare & education system is in a deplorable juncture that it endangers people's lives unnecessarily, is different from the one you had regarding Kenyan soccer in McBush's thread. If I were to demagogue the issue I'd ask you, will you be taking Cesc Fabregas with you to Nairobi to keep your thirst for good soccer skills quenched? You can see how petty your argument is. No matter. Please further explain why if Kenya is at par with the developed world (since that is essentially what you are saying), with an excellent healthcare, education, judiciary and etc systems and infrastructure, you are still living in the London you are caricaturing and not Alego Usonga. Eh, I find the hypocrisy of Kenyans very appalling. You live a life that is in full contradiction from the arguments you are spewing without batting an eyelid. Now you question my patriotism for saying what we all know to be true. That's diabolical. Lawrence Sagini would call that [U] ntururuistic patriotism [U]. That is penimbilistic patriotism. Two cent patriotism. Americunts, as you'd rather call them, call such chickenhawk patriots.
Knowledge by hand and mind Last edited by KEMINOKANA; 23rd October 2009 at 11:11 PM. |
Eh nothing wrong but these guys make it sound like he left some good life behind to go 'wash butts'. And I said these Kingdoms, at least the way I've seen some of them run are still in the old ages for someone who yearns for an alternative life. Besides, are we not the same people who complain about our thieving politicians who do nothing honest for the common mwananchi? This man went to look for his keep than robbing his tribesmen dry like Raila and his Molasses Plant facade or Moses Nyandusi. Much better giving back to society than have people sing echae ya morero toe all day round you.
You believe that all men are created equal but does that mean that they should all have the same functions or roles in a society? There are many systems of social order, you just happen to be totally seduced by "democratic" capitalist governance to the point you see nothing positive in any other system (in the same way whitey dismissed african culture as barbarism). You might think that monarchs exploit their subjects (and some might) but did you ever stop to think what social benefit the subjects gain from the arrangement? The saudi kingdom that you mention is also a monarchy but gets more regard from you because...they have money I have no idea if you love whitey but I can see you are clearly taken by his baubles, just like the native who exchanged his land and culture for shiny beads and mirrors. Quote:
In any case please show me where in that mcbush thread I made the same kind of disparaging remarks about kenyan football that you have casually tossed on here about african institutions? Quote:
So while you think the saudi kingdom is a "proper" kingdom and the Ugandan one is "petty" remember that oil like slavery will one day run out, hence my use of the word sustainable! About living in London, I confess to also have been among those who were seduced by whitey but I am now in the midst of extricating myself and heading home to live my petty life in our petty country...and the difference is that while you focus on the word petty in that sentence, my focus is on the words my and our. |
| care, home, king, nurse, ugandan, worked |