Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Beating The Recession Kenyan Style

Swahilijoe is on a distinguished road

Default Beating The Recession Kenyan Style - 10-08-2008, 07:04 PM

The word recession/depression has been the most researched on Google and with the way things are looking i have come up with a recession tips and would appreciate some more tips.

1. Buy a Prius/Hybrid: Nothing can beat 51 miles on the gallon. Woe to those with SUV's. I also came up with a new trick; when going downhill switch to neutral and considering there are many inclines where i live i have increased my mileage per mile by 4.
2. Less driving; work and home. The only leisure driving is an occasional drive to the club. I have become an expert on the bus and train schedule and in the process i can catch an hour of sleep thus reducing stress.
3. Tell your boss that you need to be paid in Swiss Francs ....like its going to work; unless you want to be transferred to Geneva don't try it. But that dollar is losing value; Swiss Francs can be a good investment.
4. Switch off the lights when not using; you think you mom was crazy when she repeated that phrase 2 million times.
5. Cut luxuries down. I drink my 6 pack at home for $5.98 and still have that tequila i bought 5 months ago. Then when i am tipsy i check into the club and dance the alcohol away.
6.Eating out is too expensive; cook at home and if need arises Mcdonalds has a $1 value meal; 3 items should keep you satisfied for the night.
7.Save an extra 10% a month; max your 401K; open an IRA or max it if you have one.
8.Try have your employer fund your education; i finally sweet talked that director and she okayed for them to refund my tuition for any education/courses related to my work.
9. When traveling for work don't go blowing your expense account; negotiate at hotels and also you are there for work so don't go blowing the money at th Hyatt when YMCA can do it.
10. Buy gas/supplies at Costco/ Sams club; Nordstroms is too expensive.
11.Portfolio; No financials; buy into what i call VICE stocks; alcholol, tobacco, gambling companies and defense companies. People will always eat, drink, smoke, gamble and fight. Check out the VICE FUND; those returns have made me smile.
12.Lastly pray and always tithe and give to charity.
13. If you are single; remain single ; if dating split the check and work extra hard.

......> more tips please.

Default 10-08-2008, 07:31 PM

Originally Posted by Swahilijoe View Post
The word recession/depression has been the most researched on Google and with the way things are looking i have come up with a recession tips and would appreciate some more tips.

1. Buy a Prius/Hybrid: Nothing can beat 51 miles on the gallon. Woe to those with SUV's. I also came up with a new trick; when going downhill switch to neutral and considering there are many inclines where i live i have increased my mileage per mile by 4.
2. Less driving; work and home. The only leisure driving is an occasional drive to the club. I have become an expert on the bus and train schedule and in the process i can catch an hour of sleep thus reducing stress.
3. Tell your boss that you need to be paid in Swiss Francs ....like its going to work; unless you want to be transferred to Geneva don't try it. But that dollar is losing value; Swiss Francs can be a good investment.
4. Switch off the lights when not using; you think you mom was crazy when she repeated that phrase 2 million times.
5. Cut luxuries down. I drink my 6 pack at home for $5.98 and still have that tequila i bought 5 months ago. Then when i am tipsy i check into the club and dance the alcohol away.
6.Eating out is too expensive; cook at home and if need arises Mcdonalds has a $1 value meal; 3 items should keep you satisfied for the night.
7.Save an extra 10% a month; max your 401K; open an IRA or max it if you have one.
8.Try have your employer fund your education; i finally sweet talked that director and she okayed for them to refund my tuition for any education/courses related to my work.
9. When traveling for work don't go blowing your expense account; negotiate at hotels and also you are there for work so don't go blowing the money at th Hyatt when YMCA can do it.
10. Buy gas/supplies at Costco/ Sams club; Nordstroms is too expensive.
11.Portfolio; No financials; buy into what i call VICE stocks; alcholol, tobacco, gambling companies and defense companies. People will always eat, drink, smoke, gamble and fight. Check out the VICE FUND; those returns have made me smile.
12.Lastly pray and always tithe and give to charity.
13. If you are single; remain single ; if dating split the check and work extra hard.

......> more tips please.

lol interesting ideas, hehehehehe but buying a hybrid will be to expensive if you are broke,

!!!111 is on a distinguished road

Default 10-08-2008, 07:50 PM

I like the VICE Fund idea...

mycalian is on a distinguished road

Default 10-09-2008, 12:58 AM

That is really good advice. I am implementing it from now saa hii. Thanks man. For the Prius

Mycalian alipofika SouthAfrica alikuwa na maisha bomba ya juu....
poko-hunter

Default 4 the student in America. - 10-09-2008, 09:48 PM

1. Avoid going to clubs by going to campus parties. Facebook is a great tool to find out who has a house party.

2. If u drive, carpool or use public means. If you live a mile or two away, invest in a bicycle or walk to avoid paying that $2 for public transportation.

3. Vladmir vodka is priced below $10 for a 750ml and it will get u fncked up faster than a $20 bottle of Smirnoff. For the lovers of tequila like mighty PH, there are cheaper brands out there eg Pepe Lopez.

4. if u get involved with a mama, strictly stick to just being fnck buddies.

5. Tafuta scholarships by talking to your department head or academic adviser.

6. If ur doing an undergrad, consider continuing to grad school. that should take u an extra 2 yrz. Hopefully by then, hizi shida za economy zitakuwa zimeisha na kazi zitakuwa in plenty.

7. Chinese food is priced just for the college student...and if u need a change of diet, kuna McDs.

8. Shop 4 school supplies at the dollar store. Wachana na stapples.

9. Get a jobo on campus as a tutor...therez an added benefit of 'meating' gals (get the joke? Meating gals? MEATING...lol)

Over and out

nunulia wasee wa home phone credit @ bongasasa.com
maziwa

Default 10-10-2008, 01:49 AM

1. when not at the hse, disconnect all elec equips from the sockets. even when off some appliances still use kidogo elec

2. already said but worth repeating - dollar store

3. Turn down the water heat temp, save some energy cost - no need ya kuchemsha maji to say 100 degrees and then poesha na maji baridi

4. Negotiate ur interest rates na lender's wacha wapunguze otherwise move your balance to a low rate lender.

5. open up an ing account - ING DIRECT - Save Your Money! - currently giving 3% interest on their online checking a/c. that's free money and better than the .25% interest your current checking a/c is giving

6. for movie buffs, wachana na your video lib, use redbox rentals - redbox - they charge $1 for a movie a night

7. check your tire pressure weekly. under inflated tires cause the car to use more gas. kwa wale hawajui the recommended pressure for ur car is listed on the driver's side door.

8. don't throw away your money in the toilet ama trash bin i.e that toilet paper u buy sijui 3 ply, 7 ply, sijui bounty. store brand works fine and is far much cheaper. actually according to consumer report some store brands are from the same manufacturers as the other top brand name.

9. when buying vitu kama that tide detergent, look at the unit price, it might be cheaper to buy two 1 gallon cans than buying one 2 gallon can of it.

10. if u r looking to buy an elec appliance, think abt refurb or open box, most of the times they carry a factory warranty same as new and the problem maybe was the previous owner did not like it.

11. for students or book lovers, there are a lot of websites out there for swapping textbooks and other kinds of books for free - u have wot i want and i might have wot u want.

12. the same applies to gamers and such - will look for the site and will post later

13. disconnect the land line if you have a cell fon, haina kazi.

14. downgrade your internet service, honestly kama u r not an avid downloader of videos, you dont need fios internet to log onto mashada. same as that HBO package, instead check no. 6 above

INGAWA TUKO CHINI BADO TUNA TUMAINI TAPATWA NA RIZIKI

Last edited by maziwa : 10-10-2008 at 02:10 AM.

Default 10-11-2008, 02:58 AM

Originally Posted by maziwa View Post

7. check your tire pressure weekly. under inflated tires cause the car to use more gas. kwa wale hawajui the recommended pressure for ur car is listed on the driver's side door.
Maziwa..your advise is soo sober.
But i found the above rather funny.

I mean....we know it, but youd be suprised how many people dont know where to look for pressure stats.

Gathongo is on a distinguished road

Default 10-11-2008, 03:23 AM

1. Avoid Campus Bookstore, buys books online from sites like half.com or amazon (Check if the book can be found on the library stack)
  2. Get your top brands like Nike, cK and the rest from place like Ross
  3. Avoid following the main street to school - full of traffic, ever considered the by-pass (manyanja) it will get you to school in time and save on gas!

Sometimes you got to do what you believe is right instead of what you know is right!
maziwa

Default 10-11-2008, 04:00 AM

Originally Posted by m kenya View Post

I mean....we know it, but youd be suprised how many people dont know where to look for pressure stats.

i have come to learn of how ignorant pple are of the basic things in life so when am dealing with whomever i treat anyone as a noob just to make it easier for everyone.

maziwa

Default 10-11-2008, 04:01 AM

Originally Posted by m kenya View Post

i have come to learn of how ignorant pple are of the basic things in life so when am dealing with whomever i treat anyone as a noob just to make it easier for everyone involved.