Old 10th September 2008, 06:26 PM

maziwa

ff should be able to bring up the history of sites you have visited IF the history has not been cleared. Soon as you start typing eg www.mas... and the whole address [ww.mashada.com] will appear on the address bar.

check if you have the option delete history upon exit turned on.

hapa ndio hatupatani. my prob is not ff and the lack of it bringing the history,that i know it can do. shida yangu ni chrome and the fact that it's address bar inatumika kama google search where when u start typing mas.... it brings up a hell lot of other results starting with mas... and not mashada only. i.e in ff when i type mas... it brings up only mashada lakini in chrome it brings up all these other results forcing me to either type the whole address ama scroll to look for it.
Old 11th September 2008, 01:50 AM

YB* is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by maziwa View Post
hapa ndio hatupatani. my prob is not ff and the lack of it bringing the history,that i know it can do. shida yangu ni chrome and the fact that it's address bar inatumika kama google search where when u start typing mas.... it brings up a hell lot of other results starting with mas... and not mashada only. i.e in ff when i type mas... it brings up only mashada lakini in chrome it brings up all these other results forcing me to either type the whole address ama scroll to look for it.
Now I get what you mean, I had thought you were faulting ff and my comment was based on that, yes the addres bar at google acts like a google look up, it can be irritating.
Old 9th October 2008, 03:30 AM

I remembered one mashadite, claiming that he can never be traced on the net, and I also told him, your knowledge is only limited to what you have access to.

Now this product has bone commercial and it has implications on how we use the net and slowly anonymity is being rid of in the web. next will be the far reaching effect of the change in TCP/IP from 32 bit to 128 bit encoding, this has now been going on for a while, it will get to a time, the only thing you will block with your 100+ firewalls will be viruses only, but all other info will be retrieved from your machine - A big hand to homeland security.

More here: BBC NEWS | Technology | Firefox users gain location tool

Mozilla, the company behind the Firefox browser, has released technology that helps websites detect the physical location of computers.

The system will allow users, for instance, to find local restaurants when they travel to a new town.

The Geode project is an experimental add-on ahead of a full blown launch of geolocation technology in version 3.1 of Firefox.

Users will have control over how much location information they give.

It uses technology from a firm called Skyhook which works out a computer's location from nearby wireless networks.

Its so-called Loki system can determine location within seconds with an accuracy of about 10 to 20 metres.
Old 13th October 2008, 02:56 PM

kwamboka. is on a distinguished road
Default How to protect yourself from gmail session intruders

Has anyone seen this video?

Gmail HACK - How to Protect yourself from Gmail Session Hackers! | zedomax.com - The DIY, HOWTO, Hacks, Gadgets, and Tech Blog!

Make sure you change your settings before using the gmail as the video shows!!!!
Old 14th October 2008, 01:35 PM

maziwa

Originally Posted by kwamboka. View Post
Has anyone seen this video?

Gmail HACK - How to Protect yourself from Gmail Session Hackers! | zedomax.com - The DIY, HOWTO, Hacks, Gadgets, and Tech Blog!

Make sure you change your settings before using the gmail as the video shows!!!!
thx kwamboka, very informative.

i just checked my gmail a/c and seems it was already in secure mode i.e using https:// so sijui kama google put this as std. but on a side note the "always use https" in gmail settings wasnt selected

Last edited by maziwa; 14th October 2008 at 01:39 PM.
Old 20th November 2008, 04:41 AM

@wanaume

I cant find a virus related thread, so I have resurrected this one.

What virus does the fone have, I mean whats it doing for you to believe it has a virus?

Usually if you have a fone cable, attach the fone to the comp and run your antiviruses, making sure it will clean all drives, though there is specific software for fones, thats why you need to tell us, how the fone is behaving.

2ndly - is the guy using a downloaded browser, like mini opera??
Old 20th November 2008, 05:07 AM

Originally Posted by YB* View Post
@wanaume

I cant find a virus related thread, so I have resurrected this one.

What virus does the fone have, I mean whats it doing for you to believe it has a virus?

Usually if you have a fone cable, attach the fone to the comp and run your antiviruses, making sure it will clean all drives, though there is specific software for fones, thats why you need to tell us, how the fone is behaving.

2ndly - is the guy using a downloaded browser, like mini opera??
I read from a blog that mobile phones running on Symbian 6+ really don't have virus issues and the anti-viruses don't really do anything. Most of the time the problems are not due to viruses but rather bugs within the OS. I really don't know how true that is, my phone runs Kaspersky Mobile edition which has lots of anti-spam options and you can even delete all personal data just by sending a secret code to your phone. If it gets stolen, it sends you the number for the new sim card to you and all you need to do is send an sms to that number to empty your phone and even lock it!!
Old 20th November 2008, 06:04 AM

I read from a blog that mobile phones running on Symbian 6+ really don't have virus issues and the anti-viruses don't really do anything. Most of the time the problems are not due to viruses but rather bugs within the OS. I really don't know how true that is, my phone runs Kaspersky Mobile edition which has lots of anti-spam options and you can even delete all personal data just by sending a secret code to your phone. If it gets stolen, it sends you the number for the new sim card to you and all you need to do is send an sms to that number to empty your phone and even lock it!!
Am all ears on this one, now thats security, if only it can send you the number of the new SIM in your jacked fone.

Will look into this
Old 20th November 2008, 06:35 AM

Originally Posted by YB* View Post
Am all ears on this one, now thats security, if only it can send you the number of the new SIM in your jacked fone.

Will look into this
Yes it does, the moment a new phone gets inserted into the phone, it sends an sms from that number automatically. I am just imagining the offline setting of most phones, maybe you can disable application deletion when running on offline mode, that way; a sim card must be inserted and running for application management to work.

Test the thing, works for 30days free!! Super!!
Old 20th November 2008, 06:41 AM

Test the thing, works for 30days free!! Super!!
Direct download point unayo, ama ni ku google ndio itabidi??

Got it!!

Last edited by YB*; 20th November 2008 at 06:44 AM.

browser, google