Go Back   Mashada Forums » Society & Culture » Opinions & Advice

Old 09-09-2008, 12:28 AM

YB* is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Titty Boy View Post
GOOGLE will put very many corporations outta business. Google Docs is about to take over and that will be the death of Microsoft Office.

Gmail is way ahead of other email providers. Google also has Youtube under it's wing, meaning it has the video market on lock.

Sh.it what's next Google condoms?
Hilarious!!

But thats the sad truth, kwanza google for organisations, is already biting into a niche our IP's have been running for awhile, your whole org's email system, is run by google.

Sasa even social websites will be a thing of the past, mashada will remain one in a million, have you seen the googlegroups interface, foruming at its best, no need to set up a site, just start one and market your group!!

Now what will happen when youtube and Gmail merge?

Chrome when installing unlike mozilla, is seeking server authentification from google, before its up and running, this is making security features lock it out, they are recognising it as a malicious script, and you know IT guys can be stubborn. Mozilla on the other hand, installs locally billa issues, even without network connection, but will seek to authenticate when you launch the browser.

So mozilla is network friendly as with regards to security scares while google has been locked out of major corps coz of what i have mentioned above.
Old 09-09-2008, 12:40 AM

Originally Posted by munyanta View Post
yb, so how do improve the speed of the mozilla browser? plus i would also like to know your opinion on which of the two is better, ie chrome au mozilla...........
as it has been said here, every new browser usually has bugs, but seeing that crome is developed by 'reverse engineering' opera and mozilla, i suspect its bugs are less, but mozilla has been perfecting its browser for the last 4 yrs or so, or since i stared using it, it has moved from 1.0 to current 3.1, mozilla has a community of mozillanatics, whose main job is to debug it. The number of support programs and features for mazilla is awesome. As far as i am concerned, at this moment in time, mozilla is the best browser you could have. Below is a process that i used to throttle my mozilla, when its 2.0, am looking for new ways to do the same to 3.0 goodluck speed up your firefox by adjusting your http pipelining » my digital life
Old 09-09-2008, 12:57 AM

Titty Boy is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by YB* View Post
Hilarious!!

But thats the sad truth, kwanza google for organisations, is already biting into a niche our IP's have been running for awhile, your whole org's email system, is run by google.
That's true

I'm sure you've heard of Virgle, a joint project between Richard Branson's Virgin Empire and Google.

An excerpt from the site:

"So, starting in 2014, Virgin founder Richard Branson and Google co-founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin will be leading hundreds of users on one of the grandest adventures in human history: Project Virgle, the first permanent human colony on Mars."

Basically, they wanna start settling humans in Mars.

Si mchezo bwana
Old 09-09-2008, 01:12 AM

Originally Posted by Titty Boy View Post
I'm sure you've heard of Virgle, a joint project between Richard Branson's Virgin Empire and Google.

An excerpt from the site:

"So, starting in 2014, Virgin founder Richard Branson and Google co-founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin will be leading hundreds of users on one of the grandest adventures in human history: Project Virgle, the first permanent human colony on Mars."

Thats news to me, thanks. rather I knew Branson had that goal, but dint know google is involved.

Then am almost certian, google will be at the forefront in setting up 'the Grid' as we move away from the internet. manze the way things are going its like we are reading a futuristic novel, but we are already there.

Feels ominous, yaani naskia ka soundtrack ka X-files in my head
Old 09-09-2008, 02:36 AM

C_E_O is on a distinguished road

@stunner and titty boy

Its possible to set your homepage and add bookmarks on goggle chrome.
Old 09-09-2008, 03:24 AM

Originally Posted by C_E_O View Post
@stunner and titty boy

Its possible to set your homepage and add bookmarks on goggle chrome.
ohhh OK i stand corrected. I figured how to add bookmarks BUT now the issue i have is that you can't bookmark the page while you are on it, one has to type the URL in. Again I stand corrected.

PS: dont know if yall know about the Google Pin Point Locator on cell phones.....type in a text message a location e.g "McDonald's" and send to the number 46645. Google returns the closest location from where you at address and phone number....like a GPS while javelin...

**leaves wondering if Google is the Antichrist, taking over the world...**
Old 09-09-2008, 02:20 PM

maziwa

Ok, i fell to the temptations of chrome and downloaded it on my pc as i have some issues with ff3 on it. here r my views. have used it like twice so i might not have adequate experince since i dont use my pc that much

1.abt it being fast, sikuona difference btwn it with ff3 but av seen some stats on the net that say otherwise. prolly it's when it was being benchmarked on a top of the line comp with all these graphic utilities ama kitu kama hiyo.

2. i like the add-on option in ff especially there is this one application -stumble upon- and sijui kama u can have add-ons kwa chrome.

3. i liked the mostly visited function on chrome as i dont have to keep on typing on the address bar for the sites i visit regularly.

4. i wud have prefered kama wange separate address bar and google search.

on a side note, already it has crashes, as per this link here

Two More Chrome Crashes - Security Watch
Old 09-10-2008, 12:19 AM

Originally Posted by maziwa View Post
2. i like the add-on option in ff especially there is this one application -stumble upon- and sijui kama u can have add-ons kwa chrome.

3. i liked the mostly visited function on chrome as i dont have to keep on typing on the address bar for the sites i visit regularly.
For point number 2 let me suggest 'clipmarks' found at Clipmarks - What are you finding on the web? this add on enables you to clip the relaevant parts of a webpage and store that, instead of setting book marks for whole pages and you only need to refer to a paragragh in the page, and again you can save the clips per project, if for example you are researching kenya, you can visit upto to 20 pages generated by google, highlight the best info even if a sentence and clip it adding to your 'kenya project', such that when you are finished, you will have all the data in one web page.

It should be a must have for students especially

For point number 3, I suspect you have set your firefox to delete all cookies when you log out, otherwise, it has the most visited function, check under tools>options
Old 09-10-2008, 01:35 AM

maziwa

Originally Posted by YB* View Post
For point number 2 let me suggest 'clipmarks' found at Clipmarks - What are you finding on the web? this add on enables you to clip the relaevant parts of a webpage and store that, instead of setting book marks for whole pages and you only need to refer to a paragragh in the page, and again you can save the clips per project, if for example you are researching kenya, you can visit upto to 20 pages generated by google, highlight the best info even if a sentence and clip it adding to your 'kenya project', such that when you are finished, you will have all the data in one web page.

It should be a must have for students especially

For point number 3, I suspect you have set your firefox to delete all cookies when you log out, otherwise, it has the most visited function, check under tools>options
this is the thing, in ff i have bookmarked what i regularly use and that's the only sites that appear when i type lakini kwa chrome when u start to type say mash.... it brings u a whole lot results not relevant to what u looking for donno if u get wot i mean.
Old 09-10-2008, 04:19 PM

Originally Posted by maziwa View Post
this is the thing, in ff i have bookmarked what i regularly use and that's the only sites that appear when i type lakini kwa chrome when u start to type say mash.... it brings u a whole lot results not relevant to what u looking for donno if u get wot i mean.
ff should be able to bring up the history of sites you have visited IF the history has not been cleared. Soon as you start typing eg www.mas... and the whole address [ww.mashada.com] will appear on the address bar.

check if you have the option delete history upon exit turned on.