08-29-2008, 04:01 AM
Originally Posted by !!!111
Tactician.. I'm disappointed in you! The way you throw your weight around here as is you are the Dume Unbwogable Asili... kumbe umekaliwa vilivyo in real life? Wooi... do you need me to help you become more assertive?
this is a buddy i have known for over 20 years...so it aint easy to just spit him out like a hot potato....
I have been easy on him for a long time....of cos the first few times u can bail ur friends out...lakini ikiwa ni tabia, thats now taking advantage
anyways, jana we talked, gave him a few ideas on the way forward eg moving to smaller hao etc..
lakini all he wants is cash....not from me man....and what makes me livid is that just a weekend ago he was financing his cousin's wedding! meaning that he wants to show his cousins he is doing well by financing their wedding kumbe i am the one financing it ...no way...angeshow cuzo mambo ni mabaya....
aggh 
Never -
08-29-2008, 05:01 AM
As someone said earlier consider it lost money or a gift to the guy if you do lend or just don't do it! you got the money now and feel obligated to help this buddy, what if you didn't have the money?
Then here is my story, i have lent money to 2 of my friends (unfortunately they are staunch christians that's why i trusted them) one i lent 500 and went ahead to offer him a service that cost 100, 7 months later he sent to my account 450, even though he had promised to pay me back the moment he get his next paycheck. Its over a year now and i don't see myself getting anything more from the guy.
The second guy i lent 200 and he returned back 150 and promised to get me the rest "soon" i just don't know how soon coz its now over 6 months and what came sooner was the reduced phone calls. Believe me my relationship with these once buddies has been shaken tremendously.
No one borrows my money, not even family member, if you have to, then you'll have to leave your car in my garage, get it when you bring my money!
Sometimes you got to do what you believe is right instead of what you know is right!
Last edited by Gathongo : 08-29-2008 at 05:04 AM.

08-29-2008, 05:55 AM
Originally Posted by Gathongo
As someone said earlier consider it lost money or a gift to the guy if you do lend or just don't do it! you got the money now and feel obligated to help this buddy, what if you didn't have the money?
Then here is my story, i have lent money to 2 of my friends (unfortunately they are staunch christians that's why i trusted them) one i lent 500 and went ahead to offer him a service that cost 100, 7 months later he sent to my account 450, even though he had promised to pay me back the moment he get his next paycheck. Its over a year now and i don't see myself getting anything more from the guy.
The second guy i lent 200 and he returned back 150 and promised to get me the rest "soon" i just don't know how soon coz its now over 6 months and what came sooner was the reduced phone calls. Believe me my relationship with these once buddies has been shaken tremendously.
No one borrows my money, not even family member, if you have to, then you'll have to leave your car in my garage, get it when you bring my money!
Hehehe....i see where you are coming from!

08-29-2008, 07:54 AM
Dont if you really care

08-29-2008, 04:54 PM
From my view point-don't. I made the mistake of my life by co-signing a " friend's" loan who was in dire need. Do I need to tell the story? I will have to go to court cuz the bi.t.ch will not answer my phone calls.
Limit loans to your siblings-really. It's hard to imagine it comes down to that, but many people will break your trust so what's the point in cultivating the friendship?

08-30-2008, 02:08 AM
It's always tricky to borrow or lend money to your friends. I've seen so many friendships break because one party borrowed money and was unable or refused to pay back.
Still, you can't say you'll never lend money to your friends because what goes around comes around ... and you never know when you might find yourself in the doghouse.
Borrow when you absolutely have to, and lend responsibly.

08-30-2008, 02:08 AM
Originally Posted by crazy boo
From my view point-don't. I made the mistake of my life by co-signing a " friend's" loan who was in dire need. Do I need to tell the story? I will have to go to court cuz the bi.t.ch will not answer my phone calls.
Limit loans to your siblings-really. It's hard to imagine it comes down to that, but many people will break your trust so what's the point in cultivating the friendship?
hee CB pole. if there is one thing i would never do is co-sign for anyone and i mean anyone. even if it's fam ad rather come up with the money and give it to them. i say i'd rather lose my money than fam or a close friend coz akiniharibia creo that's it
INGAWA TUKO CHINI BADO TUNA TUMAINI TAPATWA NA RIZIKI

08-30-2008, 04:11 AM
Originally Posted by sdolphin
Only lend what you can afford to lose.
Think of it as a gift so if they pay you back, well and good.
If they don't, you haven't gone without to help them.
and lend only what your friend can afford to repay, not 100K when his salary is 40K and is promising to pay in two months time. That's irrational.

08-30-2008, 06:55 AM
If am to lend money to a friend,there has to be security,which is mostly more in value than what am giving.this will motivate him/her to make sure the debt is cleared,and the sooner the better.He/she should be aware that when the time lapses and the debt has not been paid,what I was holding as security becomes mine.And also,the whole deal should be in writing.I have tried this many times it has worked,and they end up paying kitu kidogo on top without my request.
As for the siblings or relatives,if am to lend money,I will without necessarily expecting it back,hence if they do not honour their pledge,i just let it go.If it has uplifted them,my pleasure.
Early this year I lent money to a brother in-law,who wanted to start a business.The business,as per the way he explained it looked viable.I gave him the money days before leaving the country after my holiday got finished.The guy drunk all the money in two days time with his buddies,even before i could reach my destination.Well I did my part,and sure he has tainted his hands,just as @carolecarole said,good riddance
@Tactician,be tough and stick to it,its your money,your sweat.Do not lend him this time round,lest there is security:and in one way you could be helping your friend(moral lesson to him)-he will learn to be responsible.
Happy Day. 

09-01-2008, 03:52 AM
Originally Posted by nyira
If am to lend money to a friend,there has to be security,which is mostly more in value than what am giving.this will motivate him/her to make sure the debt is cleared,and the sooner the better.He/she should be aware that when the time lapses and the debt has not been paid,what I was holding as security becomes mine.And also,the whole deal should be in writing.I have tried this many times it has worked,and they end up paying kitu kidogo on top without my request.
As for the siblings or relatives,if am to lend money,I will without necessarily expecting it back,hence if they do not honour their pledge,i just let it go.If it has uplifted them,my pleasure.
Early this year I lent money to a brother in-law,who wanted to start a business.The business,as per the way he explained it looked viable.I gave him the money days before leaving the country after my holiday got finished.The guy drunk all the money in two days time with his buddies,even before i could reach my destination.Well I did my part,and sure he has tainted his hands,just as @carolecarole said,good riddance
@Tactician,be tough and stick to it,its your money,your sweat.Do not lend him this time round,lest there is security:and in one way you could be helping your friend(moral lesson to him)-he will learn to be responsible.
Did exactly that. Didnt give him any. But he still owes me some cash.
Even more disturbing for me was that the guy has absolutely no respect for me....and i told him as much....
i mean, how dyu come into my house and fart intentionally?
how can it be that I get some gal, she comes with 2 of her friends to the club, i'm doing all the buying for both my 'friend' and the chics, and the jamaa has the guts to start katiaring the gal i came with? in my presence?
but the clincher was when the jamaa was boasting how he is gonna get some cash and buy a merc and he is gonna sleep with the wives of all of us his friends....me included! I looked at him and told him now its over....for me to take that lying down, plus all the other issues, was to disrespect maself...
i tolerate a lot, but when i make a decision, it's that....so when i told him, he suddenly realised am not joking...
money i guess was the last nail....it made me realise that this 'friend' was using me...i'm glad it happened!
Last edited by Tactician : 09-01-2008 at 04:04 AM.