Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > putting internet in the house

Default putting internet in the house - 08-24-2008, 03:20 PM

How do I put internet in the house?In Nairobi.Please help.

Augustine

Default 08-24-2008, 06:37 PM

Well sister, i cant exactly rem how my dad did it back then.............but i tend to think there r some internet companies that can help u on this...........look up on the yellow pages........kama ni hapa...its a phone call away.....gud luck..

Default 08-25-2008, 12:02 AM

theaz many ISP in nai. i think safaricom, zain, UUNET.
i only know what u need to do to get telkom dsl.

go to any telkom. there's one in posta house... i think 2nd ama 3rd floor (not sure) na kuna ingine buru somewhere in phase I ama pahse II.

tell em u want internet connection in ur house. they'll require u to get a landline ( i suggest u get pre paid... bills za telkom ni za ajabu!).

ul have to fill forms ( obviously). they have different speed connections. im not sure of the speeds lakini theaz ya 5K, 9K, 16K na 35K. 5K is kinda slow... 9K sio mbaya sana.
those where the rates last time i checked ( early this year)

u then need to buy a moderm. kuna aina mob sana. TP-LINK, LINKSYS, NETGEAR. ( i suggest linksys) e.t.c im not sure how much it will cost u though. and lastly u need ur pc.

the telkom people will then come to ur house... do the connections, set network keys and configure your moderm. ur then good to go!
u have to buy the internet card. ur internet card expires every 30 days.

telkom saa zingine wakona ufala sana! internet connection can go bad for as long as 1 week and im not kidding.
fanya research and see what is ur best and cheapest option.

IF AT FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED ...destroy all evidence that shows u tried in the 1st place!!!!

Last edited by mtoto mzuri : 08-25-2008 at 01:51 AM.
Buster- is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 12:15 AM

The english knocked me off my chair

To understand that you're happy & to know why & how; that's beyond happiness, that's bliss.

Default 08-25-2008, 03:46 AM

Originally Posted by Augustine View Post
Well sister, i cant exactly rem how my dad did it back then.............but i tend to think there r some internet companies that can help u on this...........look up on the yellow pages........kama ni hapa...its a phone call away.....gud luck..
thanks alot for the info.
will check it out.

Originally Posted by mtoto mzuri View Post
theaz many ISP in nai. i think safaricom, zain, UUNET.
i only know what u need to do to get telkom dsl.

go to any telkom. there's one in posta house... i think 2nd ama 3rd floor (not sure) na kuna ingine buru somewhere in phase I ama pahse II.

tell em u want internet connection in ur house. they'll require u to get a landline ( i suggest u get pre paid... bills za telkom ni za ajabu!).

ul have to fill forms ( obviously). they have different speed connections. im not sure of the speeds lakini theaz ya 5K, 9K, 16K na 35K. 5K is kinda slow... 9K sio mbaya sana.
those where the rates last time i checked ( early this year)

u then need to buy a moderm. kuna aina mob sana. TP-LINK, LINKSYS, NETGEAR. ( i suggest linksys) e.t.c im not sure how much it will cost u though. and lastly u need ur pc.

the telkom people will then come to ur house... do the connections, set network keys and configure your moderm. ur then good to go!
u have to buy the internet card. ur internet card expires every 30 days.

telkom saa zingine wakona ufala sana! internet connection can go bad for as long as 1 week and im not kidding.fanya research and see what is ur best and cheapest option.
Thanks a lot Mtoto.
have printed out the page.am sure it will help.yea.telkom is what my employer uses.
but wacha tu.

Originally Posted by Buster- View Post
The english knocked me off my chair
Yea .I know Buster.Why bother using big words when yu can direct translate??

Wababa is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 05:16 AM

Sista, i use safaricom internet.
The rest like IDN, Africa online and the rest are expensive and at times unreliable.
Safaricom has cheap internet options for home users and expensive ones for corporates.
Just visit their customer care at I&M building or Sarit centre and they will explain to you.
But the cheapest option many dont know is that you can use your phone to browse. All you need to do is to have a phone with bluetooth and a bluetooth adaptor connected to the comp. and there u are, the phone is now a modem. The advantage of this is that u pay as you go, plus you dont have to bring home those ISP people to keep connecting u each time there is a failure.
Jaribu that, ukihata send me a PM, i will direct u.

Default 08-25-2008, 10:49 AM

Originally Posted by Wababa View Post
Sista, i use safaricom internet.
The rest like IDN, Africa online and the rest are expensive and at times unreliable.
Safaricom has cheap internet options for home users and expensive ones for corporates.
Just visit their customer care at I&M building or Sarit centre and they will explain to you.
But the cheapest option many dont know is that you can use your phone to browse. All you need to do is to have a phone with bluetooth and a bluetooth adaptor connected to the comp. and there u are, the phone is now a modem. The advantage of this is that u pay as you go, plus you dont have to bring home those ISP people to keep connecting u each time there is a failure.
Jaribu that, ukihata send me a PM, i will direct u.
Thanks a lot Wababa.I will get to safcom n see how it can be done.Money is not a pblem.The problem is how to spend it. I just need fast internet in the house. I know a buddy whose hubby uses the blue tooth phone with the comp but she's always in the cyber,so i think it's a bit unreliable.
i think i will go to Safcom customer care n see what option is the best.

Last edited by carolecarole : 08-25-2008 at 03:02 PM.
Sen. Barrack Obama is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2008, 12:18 PM

surely how do you PUT internet in the house??? kwani internet imekuwa an object.. yawa iyakaya????

Kwenda!

Default 08-25-2008, 01:13 PM

Thanks a lot Wababa.I will get to safcom n see how it can be done.Money is not a pblem. I just need fast internet in the house. I know a buddy whose hubby uses the blue tooth phone with the comp but she's always in the cyber,so i think it's a bit unreliable.
i think i will go to Safcom customer care n see what option is the best.
also try zain....i love their internet sevrices way better than safcom.

Default 08-25-2008, 03:01 PM

Originally Posted by ar_turr View Post
also try zain....i love their internet sevrices way better than safcom.
thanks Bwana Arturr n yu know where I gat that name from.