Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Ida needs to lose weight!!

(#51 (permalink))

Default 08-27-2008, 06:49 AM

Originally Posted by Buster- View Post
Its obscene to think of you as 9 or 12, coz i lean more on the perverted side. But in life as a child all you need is to be a little different and you will be picked on.
So should i be referring to you as the perv?

As for being picked on for being different.... your right, but i think as adults, its done in more subtle ways.
No one would dare do that to me now (not to my face anyway) they'd get an earful.

(#52 (permalink))
Buster- is on a distinguished road

Default 08-27-2008, 07:19 AM

So should i be referring to you as the perv?

As for being picked on for being different.... your right, but i think as adults, its done in more subtle ways.
No one would dare do that to me now (not to my face anyway) they'd get an earful.
lol you can refer to me as whatever.. but just for the record.. there are these very few women whom no matter how holy i try to be.. i just cant help but picture them doing stuff with me

An earful?? Are you a drama queen?

To understand that you're happy & to know why & how; that's beyond happiness, that's bliss.
(#53 (permalink))

Default 08-27-2008, 07:56 AM

Originally Posted by Buster- View Post
lol you can refer to me as whatever.. but just for the record.. there are these very few women whom no matter how holy i try to be.. i just cant help but picture them doing stuff with me

An earful?? Are you a drama queen?
Drama queen? Me? Far from it. In a room full of people i'm normally the quiet girl at the corner. Just don't cross me... most people confuse quiet with doormat.

(#54 (permalink))
acq

Default 08-27-2008, 12:44 PM

This post is not about Ida per se; I used her celebrity status to generate attention and begin a discussion that will hopefully lead to major lifestyle changes, if necessary.[/quote]

Lol,this got my attention.I wonder when is the last time u were in Kenya.Some attitudes will get u in trouble cos they are normally viewed as bragging.As barb said "I think you are absolutely right, but i think your approach of this whole issue is totally wrong..."

Earlier u said she needs to portray a good example.I wonder how many people in Kenya are thinking of scales,dieting or eating healthy.Most are wondering where the next meal will come from.Get the drift?

(#55 (permalink))

Default 08-27-2008, 01:51 PM

@ acq

Yes, you are right when you say that most kenyans are concerned with where their next meal will come from, and not dieting etc...That has always been the case; even in America and other western countries, there was a time period when being plump was considered a sign of material success.

If you are living in the wild, where one natural calamity can become a matter of life and death, your body develops mechanisms of dealing with uncertainity. For example: increasing appetite so one can stock up as much food as possible (in the form of body fat) for future usage. Since everyone's goal is to stock up as much as possible, those who are most successful at it are admired coz they're the ones who would survive the longest in case of famine.

Back in kenya, I think this is the first time in our young history when we're beginning to see an emerging middle and upper class. Because it's a recent thing, even the well-off are stuck in that "hunger mentality." Ida, Kibaki and other well-off kenyans.. are in this category, where they think that "more means more" when actually, "less means more."

In a couple of years when (hopefully) all social classes in kenya have access to adequate nutrition, there has to be a mental shift. The upper and middle classes will have become accustomed to having extra income (food), which goes back to the Maslow hierarchy of needs... if your basic needs have been met, social recognition becomes the next important goal.

For example in western countries, almost the whole population has access to food; therefore being fat doesn't distinguish the rich from the poor. Actually it's the exact opposite; in stato fatness is a mark of poverty and ignorance. Over here, if you're a poor person, then most likely you can't afford gym membership, organic foods; plus you're working 2-3 jobs, so you have no time to prepare wholesome meals,..therefore the dollar menu at McDonalds becomes your staple.

i'll stop here for now, my thoughts are a bit scattered, but i hope y'all get the picture.

(#56 (permalink))

Default 08-29-2008, 03:32 AM

Ida's movie workout

ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

THE KENYA WE WANT IS THE KENYA WE AS WANANCHI BUILD POLITICIANS DO NOT BUILD KENYA THEY BECOME FAT CATS.
(#57 (permalink))

Default 08-29-2008, 04:53 AM

Originally Posted by m kenya View Post
No we are not saying that she becomes anorexic..but she needs to lose weight, coz even that 'AFRICAN WOMAN' mentality has its upper limits in terms of how fat someone can grow.

Sex appeal is hardly brought about by a pot-belly and layers of clouds under the skins in the thighs.

And knowing Raila with his penchant for looking young, i know he usually has a problem accessing the hotspot.

So stop bringing the issue of our mothers and sijui wot else..this kinda size is not acceptable. Coz akikalia gari, shock absorbers zinaisha haraka pia, mattress inaisha haraka....running cost
Tell them the truth. I just dont see how people can defend obesity. Mwanawasa just died of heart problems at 59! 59 people! Is that what is good for africa? Keep in mind we are seeing the photo from sideview. Imagine what she looks like in frontview. And nobody is holding her to this standard...we must also hold ourselves to the same.

(#58 (permalink))
acq

Default 08-29-2008, 11:37 AM

Originally Posted by Ester View Post
@ acq
i'll stop here for now, my thoughts are a bit scattered, but i hope y'all get the picture.

Well, u took me to the jungle,reminded me of the era where humanity lived off hunting and gathering.The era where survival instincts was a way of life.The hibernation premise is clever and hilarious.Lets get past history and deal with now.

The comparison between Kenya and western countries is a complex one,its like walking in a minefield.We seem to be in agreement that in Kenya fatness equals material wealth while in western countries its the opposite.

Western countries if ur poor or rich u are fine.The middle class is the one which suffers most.Access to things like refrigerators,pools,gym is a matter of choice rather than luxury.Schools,universities,apartment complexes includes this facilities as benefits.A need rather than a want.You end up been a product of the environment.Pickiness becomes a way of life.Fatness is definately equated to laziness and ignorance.

In Kenya the opposite is truth cos the environment is a product u.Asking Ida to step up on health programs will make her look aloof and out of touch.Majority of the populace are still stuck in the bottom of Maslow hierarchy of needs.I still insist u make a visit to Kenya.

This is cos u are trying to be polite.

Last edited by acq : 08-29-2008 at 11:40 AM.