08-23-2008, 12:43 AM
U people dont rush to defend Ida coz u just love her huzzy. If she continues putting on weight at her age, she will have very short to live.
What is the need of Ida without us?
Last year, the press went to Railas home at Karen and showed him working out in his classic gym in his house.
Ida does not need to get out of the house to work out. Yet she is in a very poor shape. She should get out of the kitchen and into the gym.

08-23-2008, 01:06 AM
Originally Posted by bfbs
Its very rare to find a woman makes such kind of negative talk about another woman.
Mama IDA is of your mother's age or something close to that, respect your elders just like you would want me to respect your mother.
RAO is happy and cool with Mama IDA's weight, unless you are a lesbian to admire IDA?
Anyway your tiny mind tells you that you know much more about health than Mama IDA. ?????????????????? 
I know Mama IDA is old enough to be my grandma, and I respect her for it. But that's besides the point I'm trying to make. Would you prefer someone who seeing that you are headed towards a downfall alerted you of the imminent danger, or the one who has too much "respect" to warn u of what lies ahead? I think honesty is the best policy, and aside from the health complications that her increased weight might cause her, Rao is bound to cheat on her (if he hasn't already). Honestly, she really needs a MAKEOVER; and seeing that she has all the resources at her fingertips, there's no excuse for looking so blah. So far they've had a wonderful marriage and I hope they continue in the same spirit; but now more than ever before, she needs to work harder on her appearance OTHERWISE.....

08-23-2008, 01:18 AM
Originally Posted by Waithera Cherono Akoth
america is a bad place...............,this mentality ester ni ya ma blondies....,
totally american!!!
have u noticed hw in stato every ones' bathroom has a scale....,
these are things an ordinary kenyan daznt even think off;....,
america ina shida mingi sana!!!!!!!
wca, i feel you!! I consider myself a healthy size 10-12 but you should see the people in my class, especially the ladies... 95% of them are size 8 and below. What do you do when upward mobility is dictated by looks? We now live in a very superficial society that celebrates physical beauty above morals. In fact, the new and growing type of discrimination in the work-place is not even based on race or religion, but appearance (physical fitness in particular).
If two women; one slim and sexy, the other fat and bila style were to go for a job interview... (the heavier woman might even be more qualified for the job); guess who has a higher chance of landing the position? Nowadays, the right looks will take u places and open doors you'd never dreamed of. Sad but true. I feel like there's no way to get around this phenomenon. People have tried to resist it and decided to set their own standards, but that doesn't stop society from judging them.

08-23-2008, 01:27 AM
Originally Posted by KEMINOKANA
Isn't Kalonzo Musyoka second in command and thus his wife is the second lady of kenya?  Kalonzo's wife is the prettiest and fittest of the three. BTW, is Uhuru Kenyatta married? I have never seen him and his wife.
As for the weight, I agree. In late 90s, Ida was absolutely stunning. After Raila joined kanu and money started rolling in their way, they both started putting on serious weight. The last time I checked, Raila's kitambi was giving Kibaki compe.  Now she looks like a balloon and maybe that's why Agwambo keeps ndogo ndogos.
LOL, kemi. I wasn't so sure about the hierarchy; nonetheless, she's somewhere up there in terms of political wives. You're right about her being "absolutely stunning" a couple of years back. I'm made to understand that she was a geog. teacher at my old high school (boma), and I've heard only positive things about her. Good question there about Uhuru. Is he married, got any kids?  That's why I like the political system in the States coz the public demands to know the personal affairs of anyone who runs for office.
Originally Posted by KEMINOKANA
My wife gains that much weight and I will seek a divorce.
What if you're the one who will gain weight?  Ama you wouldn't let that happen?

08-23-2008, 01:40 AM
Originally Posted by Ester
I know Mama IDA is old enough to be my grandma, and I respect her for it. But that's besides the point I'm trying to make. Would you prefer someone who seeing that you are headed towards a downfall alerted you of the imminent danger, or the one who has too much "respect" to warn u of what lies ahead? I think honesty is the best policy, and aside from the health complications that her increased weight might cause her, Rao is bound to cheat on her (if he hasn't already). Honestly, she really needs a MAKEOVER; and seeing that she has all the resources at her fingertips, there's no excuse for looking so blah. So far they've had a wonderful marriage and I hope they continue in the same spirit; but now more than ever before, she needs to work harder on her appearance OTHERWISE.....
Who cares? 

08-23-2008, 01:42 AM
Mama IDA is a SUMO wrestler by profession. She is still under weight and needs to put on a few more kilos to stay on top of her game. Ester, please stop being jealous of Mama IDA because you are malnourished. Instead of suggesting that she sheds some kilos, you should be encouraging her to put on a few more so she can continue to excel in her new found profession, ama niaje Ester?

08-23-2008, 01:48 AM
Originally Posted by okiedokes
@ Ester...I wouldn't go as far as saying Queen Latifah is fat. She is big boned, a little on the thick side. There are some people who are naturally bigger in size(could be hereditary) and even anorexia won't make them any skinnier. Look at Missy Elliot for instance, she was bigger back in the days, but she lost quite a lot of weight, yet she can't become a Paris Hilton ever. Also, Kiersten Alley lost weight on Jenny Craig's diet and she's fit as can be yet not skinny.
Depending on bone structure, there's only so much one can do about their weight. Also, the body is smart, hence it'll only let you loose enough weight to keep you healthy, that's why people resot to eating disorders(unhealthy means)to get scary thin.
I agree with Barb, women should stay fit for health reasons primarily. I don't see why women can remain faithful to obese men, yet men can't do same. Unless we(women) start holding men accountable for their actions(e.g cheating) instead of making such excuses for them, we are going nowhere. Some men will cheat regardless, e.g Halle Berry is as skinny(with curves) as they come yet Eric Benne cheated on her mercilessly. Cheating is all in the mind.
Reminds me of a man who was on Dr. Phil recently, complaining that his wife is overweight, wouldn't have sex with her, etc. Dr. Phil just asked him to look in the mirror. He was more overweight than his wife.
Okie, good points there. I know what you mean...i'm a woman too. You can blame it on the double standards that exist between men and women, they can get away with alot, including extra pounds. I've seen tens and tens of men on oprah and dr. phil who complain that they're no longer attracted to their wives b/c they're not the same women they married. 99% of the time, the woman had kids, steadily put on the pounds through the years, ate junk food and didn't exercise, you know the drill. I used to think those husbands were just joking about terminating the marriage, but you look at them in the eye and they're dead serious.  Well, at this point the woman starts bawling all over the place, and oprah wagging her little finger in the air tries to instill some "sense" into the so-called superficial hubby. woiyee...
Queen Latifah's weight fluctuates alot; sometimes she's fit, other times she's overweight. Last time I checked, she was FAT. Anyway, she's a cool, talented chica. I'm talking about people like Miss Parker, lol and how she tries to convince everyone that being fat is chiq. Who's she kidding?
The Eric Benet/Halle Berry situation has been used time and time again by women to justify the case that men will always cheat, that it doesn't depend on which type of woman he's with. I like to think that their situation was atypical. Eric Benet was a crazy sex addict, which most men aren't.

08-23-2008, 01:58 AM
Originally Posted by Iyo
Mama IDA is a SUMO wrestler by profession. She is still under weight and needs to put on a few more kilos to stay on top of her game. Ester, please stop being jealous of Mama IDA because you are malnourished. Instead of suggesting that she sheds some kilos, you should be encouraging her to put on a few more so she can continue to excel in her new found profession, ama niaje Ester?
Uwii, more weight?!!! I want her to be around (and happy!) for a long, long time, kwa hivyo i don't think advice yako ita-work.
SUMO's cool though, lakini sio sport ya political wives or ma-barbies. 

08-23-2008, 01:58 AM
sorry to say Ester as much as I have loved you threads before, I think this was one very very stupid shallow thread that is trying to put down our mothers,
if you idea of a 50 something woman is skinny and all, you need a big african reality check
Last edited by msema ukweli Kabisa : 08-23-2008 at 02:01 AM.
How Right! -
08-23-2008, 02:00 AM
... beauty above morals. In fact, the new and growing type of discrimination in the work-place is not even based on race or religion, but appearance (physical fitness in particular).
If two women; one slim and sexy, the other fat and bila style were to go for a job interview... (the heavier woman might even be more qualified for the job); guess who has a higher chance of landing the position? .....
I was just about to ignore this thread till I bumped into the statement above. First it exposed my nature of ignoring some stuff that doesnt concern me, but this is touching and true! I read this statement and the picture of my workplace came to my mind! some departments are hiring "models", you'll find a group of two or three discuss the weight of the gal they think is overweight, I have heard management make negative comments about others' weight!
Truelly beauty, has become a big discriminatory factor!
Sometimes you got to do what you believe is right instead of what you know is right!