Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Why should we tip?

Genuwine is on a distinguished road

Default Why should we tip? - 08-14-2008, 02:32 PM

I have been wondering whether or not waiters/waitresses should always deserve a tip yet they are doing their job.

Business owners have picked up this slack and are paying their employees low wages hence making them dependent on their customers to make up the difference. Is this fair?

Who started this culture and where did 15% service charge paid in big hotels come from? Why not 12% or 18%?

Reason being... I went for a meal at this restaurant and asked for an empty plate and this gal just slid the plate on the table and walked past. Why should we pay a tip for such service!

From today hence forth... Tipping is just another town in China!!

Take time to be with yourself. It will help you to be with others.

Default 08-14-2008, 02:43 PM

i dont see anything wrong with tipping.... only when its deserved though! u know there are waiters/waitresses who very clearly go out of their way to make sure evrythng is perfect wit ur meal. in such cases i ALWAYS tip.
lakini those who take half a century to brin ur food plus its cold ama they didnt even deliver sufficient cutlery to eat with... hao wanaweza kauka live!
where im at service charge is`12%... im also wondering where dat came from esp in fast food joints like mc.ds where u get ur food from counter, get ur own ketchup and ur own seat and so on. yani all they do is very minimal

IF AT FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED ...destroy all evidence that shows u tried in the 1st place!!!!

Last edited by mtoto mzuri : 08-14-2008 at 02:45 PM.
neily is on a distinguished road

Default 08-14-2008, 03:10 PM

I also don't see anything wrong with tipping. It's like a sales commission. I love tipping. It makes me feel good when I receive that thank you.

Buster- is on a distinguished road

Default 08-14-2008, 03:31 PM

Tipping is a sign of gratitude for good service and as any well schooled man knows, having a waiter who knows your first name and knows you tip good can make a difference between getting that corner table and having a crappy table by the door.. and those waiters and waitresses are your eyes in the kitchen, tip well and you will have the choiciest parts with extra portions of dessert.

You dont tip.. you get what you pay and steak that has maybe fallen on a dirty kitchen floor.. or maybe even some other customers left overs.

Genuwine is on a distinguished road

Default 08-14-2008, 04:36 PM

Originally Posted by Buster- View Post
Tipping is a sign of gratitude for good service and as any well schooled man knows, having a waiter who knows your first name and knows you tip good can make a difference between getting that corner table and having a crappy table by the door.. and those waiters and waitresses are your eyes in the kitchen, tip well and you will have the choiciest parts with extra portions of dessert.

You dont tip.. you get what you pay and steak that has maybe fallen on a dirty kitchen floor.. or maybe even some other customers left overs.
Surely..how am I suppose to tip a waitress who shows me attitude? Am suppose to tip her for good service...not bad service. And why is the restaurant charging me 15% service charge for such kind of s***

Take time to be with yourself. It will help you to be with others.
Wababa is on a distinguished road

Default 08-14-2008, 04:37 PM

Any beautiful girl that serves me gets a tip.
I jolts me when she smiles at me and says a warm THANK YOU.

maziwa

Default 08-14-2008, 05:53 PM

Originally Posted by neily View Post
I also don't see anything wrong with tipping. It's like a sales commission. I love tipping. It makes me feel good when I receive that thank you.
kwik q? do u tip that jamaa at the ka local kiosk when he/she says thank you? most probably he knows ur name as compared to the hotel pple. oh and btw thank you Nelly. shud i be checking my pm for a check no.?

It's good to tip when service has been good and if u are a regular for obvious reasons. what i dont like about tipping is the fact that the tip ends up being subdivided amongst all the waiters/waitresses as compared to it going to that specific person you gave it to. i have already paid for my meal so i dont expect to also help the owner pay for the salary/wages of all his workers, hiyo ni kazi yake

INGAWA TUKO CHINI BADO TUNA TUMAINI TAPATWA NA RIZIKI

Last edited by maziwa : 08-14-2008 at 06:14 PM.
Waithera Cherono Akoth is on a distinguished road

Default 08-14-2008, 06:07 PM

Originally Posted by neily View Post
mmmhh i sugest u start tiping everyone that uses the phrase
thank you then...........

Originally Posted by Wababa View Post
Any beautiful girl that serves me gets a tip.
I jolts me when she smiles at me and says a warm THANK YOU.
tsk................,,angalia mwingine...,unapeleka imorality na discrimination
to the restaurant.....,so kazi yako tu nikusorora...m,
one day wen u have a wife she might smash hot soup on u!!!!
wewe endelea tu kuzubaa

Originally Posted by maziwa View Post
kwik q? do u tip that jamaa at the ka local kiosk when he/she says thank you? most probably he knows ur name as compared to the hotel pple.
this made so much sense..,i kudnt have said it beta!!!!!!!!!!!!1

milanya is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 08-14-2008, 08:31 PM

No problem when it is well-deserved.

I don't know about other states but like in MN waiters/waitresses are the one profession where you can be paid less than minimum wage, because tips are considered part of the income.
So, if some poor waiter is earning less than $5, throw him a bone and give some $2.

You don't want them to spit on your steak now...

YB* is on a distinguished road

Default 08-15-2008, 01:05 AM

Originally Posted by milanya View Post
I don't know about other states but like in MN waiters/waitresses are the one profession where you can be paid less than minimum wage, because tips are considered part of the income.
Does this mean that they expect a tip from 'every' customer, regardless? was in SA and had an incident, had a meeting in 45 minutes, walked into a restaurant and asked how long I would have an order ready, 10 mins i was told, worked fine for me. i got my order almost 25 mins later and was forced to push the meeting forward by a few.

After feeding, the guy asks for his tip, I told him NO TIP!! He had the audacity to ask why (I dint get the idea of demanding it), i took the time to explain that i tip when am pleased, not as a duty. I got some zulu (i hazard) strings of verbal exclamations, but what i cant hear cant bother me, and was late for my meeting anyways to go to the manager.

Just because you've always done it that way, doesn't mean its not incredibly stupid.
“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten” (Mark Twain)

Last edited by YB* : 08-15-2008 at 01:09 AM.