Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Why should we tip?

Default 08-18-2008, 06:42 PM

I tip my barber, and anyone who gives me service I tip
I always tip on good service at restaurants but barbers expecting tips is straight up exploitation. Barbers take home all the money they make. If they cut 10 heads at $10 each they take home $100. All they pay is booth rent at their store either weekly or bi-weekly plus of course machines and supplies. Why again should they expect tips?

PS; am secretly 'jealous' of my barber. this guy has a Range truck AND an SSS sitting on 26'. Fu.c him!! Fu.c Fu.c Fu.c you Drew!! He should be the one tipping me.

OBAMA:"yes we can"...STUNNER: "YES WE DID!!"
Dec 2008...Nairobi here I come!!

Default 08-18-2008, 07:27 PM

I always tip on good service at restaurants but barbers expecting tips is straight up exploitation. Barbers take home all the money they make. If they cut 10 heads at $10 each they take home $100. All they pay is booth rent at their store either weekly or bi-weekly plus of course machines and supplies. Why again should they expect tips?

PS; am secretly 'jealous' of my barber. this guy has a Range truck AND an SSS sitting on 26'. Fu.c him!! Fu.c Fu.c Fu.c you Drew!! He should be the one tipping me.
Wacha kuhate, lol. yaani sometimes you dont have to tip the barber, but again maze I am used to it myself. You do a service and I will tip. if a hair cut is 15 bucks I budget 20, if the chinesse delivery is 10 bucks I pay 15, good thing is you get a very loyal group that caters to you everytime any time

"X" is on a distinguished road

Default 08-20-2008, 01:29 PM

tipping is all well but you should atleast learn the culture of the country you are visiting before you tip ovyo ovyo. I went on a business trip to Japan and made a huge mistake of offering a tip to a waiter at a restaurant. The Dude was not amused and took it as a personal insult. Yaani I had to go out of my way to explain to him that tipping is an accured culture and no harm was intended.
Another thing that really pisses me off is when I get terrible service from a black waiter because am black and he thinks that I won't tip him then expecting me to give him something when am done with the meal. Hiyo mu ukataa. No good service. Not tip. This bad black on black service is very common in South Africa, especially Capetown.

Insanity is NOT running into a wall over and over again, it is expecting a different result every time you do so.