Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Why should we tip?

reggie_woic

Send a message via Yahoo to reggie_woic
Default 08-15-2008, 01:30 AM

they get paid like $4 an hour!!! how dare you not tip?
as long as my food is brought to me, i tip.

(i don't go out to restaurants much anyways...)

The closer you look, the more you lose the bigger picture
Titty Boy is on a distinguished road

Default 08-15-2008, 02:05 AM

I only tip when the service is satisfactory.

This bartender once gave me an attitude and sh.itty service and when he brought my drink he had the gotdamn nerve to force me to tip him. He said "Hey!You HAVE to tip me!" Yeah muthafu.ckin right, dream on.

Why don't you stick your head up your azz...see if it fit.-Tony Montana in SCARFACE
Bonus is on a distinguished road

Send a message via MSN to Bonus
Default 08-15-2008, 03:56 AM

Ati giving a tip will ensure that you get a nice corner sit the next time..yada, yada..yada....

Is that not corruption?

Then some waiters even have the audicity to solicit for the tip!
Maybe, next time we should tell bunge to raise the minimum wages for this workers - so that they are paid a fair wage.

Tips should only be given freely - in recognition and appreciation for good service, but not when the owner of the establishments adds a 12% in the name of service charge, thereby even tipping those lousy waiters/waitresses.

Gathongo is on a distinguished road

Default My own Will - 08-15-2008, 04:24 AM

I tip when ever I feel like, has never tipped in fast-food joint (probably because I never go there anyway) When ever I feel the service is good and probably ni Sato - I just got the paycheck jana, I will tip. But sometime waingia restaurant (being black) wanakuangalia ni kama umepotea, why tip? I'd rather give that dollar to some homeless guy anunue nayo ndom I know he'll appreciate it!
I tip any amount I want no 15% rule for me!

Sometimes you got to do what you believe is right instead of what you know is right!
fry is on a distinguished road

Default 08-15-2008, 04:57 AM

Ok, ok....someone please explain to me as if talking to a retarded 4 year old...why should I tip at a restaurant or bar.

a) First all, the price is marked up handsomely...presumably to cover costs. I willingly pay my bill. Why should I tip?

b) I was never a part of the hiring process, nor do I sit on the service commission board. The established hired the workers and when their contracts was signed, I wasn't present. I believe therefore, the establishment pays it's workers. Why should I tip?

I don't tip my house help, watchie, matatu conductor, shopkeeper, laundry, garbage collector, cyber cafe, vegetable store...so why should I tip the restaurant/ bar waiter?

If I give out unsolicited cash, it's because I feel the reciepient deserves it and it's between me and him/her.

So why should it be policy to willingly give unsolicited goodwill when you already have a ridiculously high bill to contend with?

Next my landlord will start demanding I tip him.

shag or be shagged
3C's is on a distinguished road

Default 08-15-2008, 05:05 AM

Tipping out of sympathy is pathetic

Not tipping at all is simply selfish

Tipping for good service is simply good etiquette

Capitalise & Copulate, and never Capitulate
Jalejo is on a distinguished road

Default 08-15-2008, 05:12 AM

Originally Posted by fry View Post
Ok, ok....someone please explain to me as if talking to a retarded 4 year old...why should I tip at a restaurant or bar.

a) First all, the price is marked up handsomely...presumably to cover costs. I willingly pay my bill. Why should I tip?

b) I was never a part of the hiring process, nor do I sit on the service commission board. The established hired the workers and when their contracts was signed, I wasn't present. I believe therefore, the establishment pays it's workers. Why should I tip?

I don't tip my house help, watchie, matatu conductor, shopkeeper, laundry, garbage collector, cyber cafe, vegetable store...so why should I tip the restaurant/ bar waiter?

If I give out unsolicited cash, it's because I feel the reciepient deserves it and it's between me and him/her.

So why should it be policy to willingly give unsolicited goodwill when you already have a ridiculously high bill to contend with?

Next my landlord will start demanding I tip him.
offcourse idiots dont understand!!!
u r such a mean idiot, i pity ur wife n friends.
here on mashada u go soliciting for free advice then on this thread u speak up againt free money.....u neva cease to amaze,if the bill is high, go to the next cheap joint in tha hood

man, ive told u to stop displaying ur ignorance but u dont seem to get it.

kwani were u on the commitee that formed mashada for u to solicit for free advice wen u want to hump women? then y complain that u were not on the committee that hired the waiter?

get a life.

by the way, u still disgust me.

watchman jatich koyo mande ojuiny, otimo leche.

Default 08-15-2008, 05:14 AM

Originally Posted by 3C's View Post
Tipping out of sympathy is pathetic

Not tipping at all is simply selfish

Tipping for good service is simply good etiquette

Selfish you say? You SWEAT for your money! You work HARD to earn your living! Are you going to throw it all out just to 'look good'? It's like buying a Bently or Merc then stopping at every bus-stop to give lifts to strangers every time you drive.

shag or be shagged

Default 08-15-2008, 05:17 AM

Originally Posted by Jalejo View Post
offcourse idiots dont understand!!!
u r such a mean idiot, i pity ur wife n friends.
here on mashada u go soliciting for free advice then on this thread u speak up againt free money.....u neva cease to amaze,if the bill is high, go to the next cheap joint in tha hood

man, ive told u to stop displaying ur ignorance but u dont seem to get it.

kwani were u on the commitee that formed mashada for u to solicit for free advice wen u want to hump women? then y complain that u were not on the committee that hired the waiter?

get a life.

by the way, u still disgust me.

I disgust you yet you follow me around? It's great knowing that at least someone follows my posts...flattering, actually. Now you've given me more reason to post around. Cheers, you've made my day!

shag or be shagged
3C's is on a distinguished road

Default 08-15-2008, 05:30 AM

Originally Posted by fry View Post
Selfish you say? You SWEAT for your money! You work HARD to earn your living! Are you going to throw it all out just to 'look good'? It's like buying a Bently or Merc then stopping at every bus-stop to give lifts to strangers every time you drive.
You obviously missed the point. Let me put it this way...

If you've spent say $100.00 at a restaurant where your waiter went the extra mile to make your experience (and that of your companions) a pleasure, whats $15 as a thank you token?

If you know that this person has provided such good service despite being paid below minimum wage, you know its the right thing to do.

If you have had the priviledge of being a waiter, you would understand that the best thank you to receive is in the form of a tip.

Our "Kenyan" culture is terribly unappreciative of service. We take it for granted when people do things for us. Anyone who serves in Kenya is accorded mboch status. We look down on careers that imply an element of service.

In a modern world, what sets you apart is service. If you do not realise or appreciate when its provided, you are probably equally unable to provide it.

Capitalise & Copulate, and never Capitulate