Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Friends & family who take advantage of you. What to do?

Tactician is on a distinguished road

Default Friends & family who take advantage of you. What to do? - 08-12-2008, 08:38 AM

Of late I have become very conscious of some of ma friends and family members who think they are very sly and cunning and want to use me.

One of them is a buddy who in the four years i have known him has only bought me like 4 beers.....yet whenever we meet he always wants me to buy him some....

I met him a month ago by chance ( i used to avoid him) and as usual he asked the waiter to have some 3 beers on my tab. No problem i said as it was like 8 months since we last met.

This weekend jamaa calls me and tells me he is buying me some. I check into a bar and await him...he arrives 2 hours later and finds me with some other buddies. I offer him a half of the viceroy i was partaking since he found me there - which he accepts.

I await for him to buy but jamaa is as usual up to his usual tricks - he stalls. I get another viceroy and I share with him including tonic water. Soon my other buddies throw me two viceroys in quick succession which i still share.....

soon enough, jamaa wants to leave and tells me as much. No problem i say. Tuonane siku nyingine...i accept his tricks have carried the day knowing he has not spent even a coin..yet he was meant to be buying..but what happened next was the last straw that broke this camel's back...

the jamaa takes the remaining viceroy bottle which was 3/4 full and says he is going to drink it when he fikas home!

I just told him to leave it behind but jamaa insisted - I told him to his face that he was nw behaving like a cheap skate...how can i buy booze and then u say u wanna carry it home? and leave me bilas? I told him to buy his and carry it home....

yaani we stood face to face, toe to toe, mpaka my buddies came and asked wassup....jamaa was still insisting - thats when i told him that his games have gone too far and told him to behave like the man he should be....jamaa then produces car keys and says he can afford his booze...guys dare him to buy his and jamaa simply walks away home....

on my way home, like at 4am i texted him - telling him he is ma friend lakini he's trying to take advantage of fellas......

i know i probably lost a friend but hey, jamaa needs to stop feelong sly and more clever....more clever.....

about family, i also got 1 who i told off...he simply was being a user - last time he visited me at jobbo at noon yet he was drunk like a fish, was all dirty, hair was uncombed, shoes were dirty - am sure he had just come from drinking overnight...then he says he wants 1k so he can travel to wherever.....

i gave him 50 bob and told him to go home and talk to his parents and never visit me at jobbo if he comes the way he is

Some guys gotta learn the hard way!

okiedokes

Default 08-12-2008, 01:20 PM

You did good. You were very kind in your approach, and would have let it go again had he not decided to take your vicerol home. Some people are just that way. There's a saying, "With friends like that, who needs enemies?"

Reminds me of a distant relative who used my parents to pay off loans he owed. My parents were so devastated by it especially b/c he didn't even deliver on the promises he made in return. Some people just use you, and abuse your kindness or trusting nature. But the bible says, leave revenge to God.

Kukurukakakara is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 08-12-2008, 02:46 PM

Originally Posted by Tactician View Post
One of them is a buddy who in the four years i have known him has only bought me like 4 beers.....yet whenever we meet he always wants me to buy him some....

I met him a month ago by chance ( i used to avoid him) and as usual he asked the waiter to have some 3 beers on my tab. No problem i said as it was like 8 months since we last met.
That is 1 beer per year for each of the 4 years that you have known the guy

Tactician, just quit taking that ka-swallow. Buy enough juice, keep it in your fridge and start drinking kidogo kidogo in your house. Wachana na hayo mambo ya bars, pubs and night clubs za Kenya. That will save you the agony of bumping into those weird characters. Ama niaje?

Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch
Default 08-12-2008, 03:18 PM

Originally Posted by okiedokes View Post
You did good. You were very kind in your approach, and would have let it go again had he not decided to take your vicerol home. Some people are just that way. There's a saying, "With friends like that, who needs enemies?"
enyewe, tactician is nice.
and tactician your friend is weird, lol. ati he was grabbing the bottle to beba? hehheh!
i thank the stars that i'm not a jamaa coz some of these social conventions you jamaas have are just beyond me.

Atendaye dhati kweli hachelei neno

Last edited by al-zalzalah : 08-13-2008 at 01:52 PM.
Wababa is on a distinguished road

Default 08-13-2008, 12:01 AM

Tactician, that is a weird relative you have there. But it is not only relatives that behave that way.
It is all the mean and lazy people that want to get rich using other people's resources.
But that should not make you mean either. Go on and help the needy ones.

Default 08-13-2008, 07:40 AM

I wonder why kenyans in particular have a penchant for using other people. Once they have what they wanted, madharau outright. Someone will use you to get money to drink beer. lol.
The unfortunate part is they will take advantage of even a 90 year old. I've never understood it. Do we lack morals?

Ducsy is on a distinguished road

Default 08-13-2008, 08:55 AM

Originally Posted by Tactician View Post

soon enough, jamaa wants to leave and tells me as much. No problem i say. Tuonane siku nyingine...i accept his tricks have carried the day knowing he has not spent even a coin..yet he was meant to be buying..but what happened next was the last straw that broke this camel's back...

the jamaa takes the remaining viceroy bottle which was 3/4 full and says he is going to drink it when he fikas home!

I just told him to leave it behind but jamaa insisted - I told him to his face that he was nw behaving like a cheap skate...how can i buy booze and then u say u wanna carry it home? and leave me bilas? I told him to buy his and carry it home....
Jeez!!The dude has the cheek to take your bottle after buying for him all along?? Thats one daring jamaa...shd have told him to kojolea a mkebe when he fikas home and drink that!!

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.

Default 08-13-2008, 09:38 AM

Originally Posted by Ducsy View Post
Jeez!!The dude has the cheek to take your bottle after buying for him all along?? Thats one daring jamaa...shd have told him to kojolea a mkebe when he fikas home and drink that!!
I tell you man! That's what i felt.

These days I have developed a thick skin. Another recently invites me for a drink. Jamaa is drinking his booze kama kawaida and does not even bother to order me a round since he is the one who invited me.

So me i play dumb until waiter comes over and I order my drink. By this time jamaa has finished his drink and is waiting for me to buy him a round. I simply ignored and went on talking to him.

I proceeded to drink 2 beers while he watched until he got ashamed and ordered his round by himself - he was waiting for me to buy him some.

Same guy - another time we go out and he tells me that I buy him booze he will refund me when we are going home since he needed to go to ATM. Time for going home fikas and he starts saying how ATM is far and he now needs cash to go home! I told him i drunk all the cash and left him. How he got home i dunno.

I said to maself i will avoid this jamaa when going out cos i realised the jamaa was using me....he used to call me over for beers when he is with his mama or with a new galfee....when i arrived he would then ask me to buy booze for him and the galfee...of cos being ma boy i could not embarass him....after 2-3 dates like that i realised mimi nalisha ng'ombe na yeye anakamua maziwa...

talk about using others....

3C's is on a distinguished road

Default 08-13-2008, 10:49 AM

Well done!!!

Umenipa morale. I swear someone will endure some harsh truths this weekend.

Unajijua!!

Capitalise & Copulate, and never Capitulate

Default 08-13-2008, 11:06 AM

Originally Posted by 3C's View Post
Well done!!!

Umenipa morale. I swear someone will endure some harsh truths this weekend.

Unajijua!!
Nani huyu..na amefanya nini?

Toboa his manners we learn....just dont say betray his identity/name