Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Who is your stock Company broker?

crazy boo has a little shameless behaviour in the past

Default Thanx y'all - 10-14-2007, 10:08 AM

@ swahili joe thanks so much...great great info and book reccomendations. I'm not a beginner passe cuz I do the "reja reja " trades.I'm not a finance or biz major but I think I was born an investor. I bought my first stocks when I was 19 and they paid off big when I sold them . Since then I have been buying in different markets, at the NYSE and also at the NSE. I'm also thinking getting into forex trading etc.... I thinking of putting about $4000- $5000.

@Kemi- My dear Kemi , age is catching up with us- abit tied down kwani preparing for mama watoto or what?...lol..anyhooo thanx for all the info. I read several reviews about mutual funds and also watched this show on MSNBC which stated mutual funds are overrated. Index funds is new to me. I don't have a problem with big risking kind of stuff. That's what I've always done and I do pretty neat research on a company before I put my dough.

@ Msesh - Actually before I posted this I had already subscribed with scot trade and they have a mzuri set up. They also don't have maintenance fees etc.

@Kenyan Jamaa- Thanks for the recommendation but I've bookmarked them and read their stuff all the time.

@ Dip: I donno kama kizungu ngumu or what- I need a couple days to really get into understanding the whole options thing.

Dip

Default Stocks - 10-14-2007, 10:27 PM

Hey Crazy Boo, yep, those options are sweet when you're right. They are highly leveraged. When goog was trading at 550 not too long ago the 550 put/call was trading at 10 ( total cost to own either here is number of put/call*10*100=$1000), when goog gained 20 points the next day to 570 the call went upto 30 and the put went down to 0. If you had bought 1 call, then your gain was 1*30*100=3000. The great thing about options is that with a thousand dollars you can only buy 2 shares of google and then your gain would only be $40 in the case above. So leverage is key.

In my opinion this area of investing is highly manipulated and unless you can read the hedgefunds, MM's and Institutional funds 'very well' then there is the other option which you need Bank to trade. When you own a large number of shares you can Write options, which can then be traded by the reja-reja. The time factor is key and it works in your favor when you're the writer. Writing options when one is not greedy is almost guranteed income... this field is wide open but in my experience one has to approach it with caution. There is always someone on the other end of the trade, good to hear you have been successful trading stocks.
The index funds are great for 401k's and other retirement funds.

freddy

Default Tradeking - 10-15-2007, 02:22 AM

Been Using It For A Few Years Now. $4.95 Per Trade. No Other Fees. If You're Nvesting For Yourself And Do Your Own Research This Is The Best Way To Go. Hit Me Up If You Need More Advice .

Default 10-15-2007, 10:41 PM

LOL CB that's quite possible hahaha and am probably suffering morning sickness on her behalf

Options are quite easy, start with simple explanations. Some articles can end up confusing you.

Default 10-16-2007, 12:12 AM

LOL CB that's quite possible hahaha and am probably suffering morning sickness on her behalf

Options are quite easy, start with simple explanations. Some articles can end up confusing you.
Yeah I went to this "layman" friendly website and now I understand them mzuri.

Default 10-16-2007, 01:57 AM

Cool. While at it, if Kibaki wins in dec, you better buy NSE stocks. They've sunk quite alot because of uncertainty.

Default 10-16-2007, 03:19 AM

Enyewe CB if you dropped a handkerchief it would not reach the ground! The way guys have rushed to help
Asante lakini, cause I've picked up a few tips...I've been lazily doing the Mutual thing so far....

Default 10-16-2007, 03:27 PM

Originally Posted by chemical View Post
Enyewe CB if you dropped a handkerchief it would not reach the ground! The way guys have rushed to help
Asante lakini, cause I've picked up a few tips...I've been lazily doing the Mutual thing so far....
Yeah...I appreciate the luv for real. Chemikali eh...its been a while...wassup my brutha?

@ Kemi- I'm on it like crazy. Jana I was talking to my dad and he's like " I don't care whether you wanna put down $100.00 but you need to send your cash this way"(home)...lol... He's a stock buff so got me real into that biz. I will have to say I luv it and will not be surprised if I dump what I do in the next couple years to do just that....its big risking but its lovely.

kipchirchir

Default 10-16-2007, 07:19 PM

Originally Posted by crazy boo View Post
@ also thinking getting into forex trading etc.... I thinking of putting about $4000- $5000.

@.

unless you are dealing with trading stocks exclusively,To me the best way is to treat investing in the stock market exactly like a savings account — or a piggy bank. You decide on an amount (let’s say $200) that you can afford to deposit every week or month. You add that much to your investment at the predetermined interval, regardless of the current price of the stocks. I recall i started puting $20 bucks everyweek when i was a student with this agent -.ShareBuilder: Buy Stocks Online and invest your money at ShareBuilder and 2 years later its grown to around 3000k.I just monitor the variation on the major movers like XOM but the rest I let the Markets control it especially if you invest in low risk stock like S&P 500 INDEX which grows slowly but surely.

If you have $5,000 cash , No need to put it to stocks. bump it up to ~$10,000-12,000 invest in a capital investment that generates hard cash. e.g an 18 Wheeler. Get someone to drive it and attach it to a load dispatcher for a commision and monitor its progress as you do you other professional work or whatever use your profesional job as anextra buffer for any problems that arise in your investment,.That way you are assurred of decent NET cash every payment period after you have paid out your expenses.Thats what I did when I found myself with extra cash and I needed to invest .

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

Last edited by kipchirchir : 10-17-2007 at 03:52 AM.

Default 10-17-2007, 03:52 AM

Originally Posted by crazy boo View Post
Yeah...I appreciate the luv for real. Chemikali eh...its been a while...wassup my brutha?
Same 'ol for me.....Heads up for SA vs England on sato...