Must work experience come at such a price? -
09-21-2007, 01:13 AM
I wonder why our asian friends have to treat employees the way they do. You get employed by them and from the onset, they exploit you to the outmost. Talk to them about renumeration, the answer is -you are getting a very good experience (especially in the building industry where majority are to be found). please can someone suggest a way of helping our fellow country men-

09-21-2007, 04:06 AM
Are you talking about Indians or chinese and the like? If you mean Indians, then i think the proper thing to do would be to just continue working for them if you are there to gain experience. Unless that is, it infringes on your mental/physical well being.
Its not just Asians who are mean, some jungus are terrible to work with. When you get out of bed every morning just remind your self what it is you are working to achieve at the end of it all.
For the builders i'd say they join a workers union.
Theres something inherently wrong with Indians, but they are good for the economy, just use them as a stepping stone.

09-21-2007, 04:42 AM
Originally Posted by Sanaa-
Are you talking about Indians or chinese and the like? If you mean Indians, then i think the proper thing to do would be to just continue working for them if you are there to gain experience. Unless that is, it infringes on your mental/physical well being.
Its not just Asians who are mean, some jungus are terrible to work with. When you get out of bed every morning just remind your self what it is you are working to achieve at the end of it all.
For the builders i'd say they join a workers union.
Theres something inherently wrong with Indians, but they are good for the economy, just use them as a stepping stone.
indians just love overworking people and underpaying them. i think anyone working for them should just follow what sanaa says. Be there to absorb all you can, get the experience and then when doors open up you grab the opportunity and move up to better places
Last edited by sweetesthing : 09-21-2007 at 04:45 AM.
Love -
09-21-2007, 04:56 AM
Guys i think it's a high time for us all Kenya . Idians are just too bad to our fellows kenya's. Why do they do this?? I dont understand. Na wako kwetu inchi yetu.....
We are not slave's aki i feel very bad. Someone said some jungu's but they are much better than The Indians. Hawana ile matharau kama DOGS. I hate them very much. I telling i used to be at our wholesale shop i wish you could see how those **** Idians used to tukana matusi those boy wakubeba.
In our own country they must just go go go. The same way the were done in UG they must just go. You wait when i go home for holidays ati i go to thire shops wanicheki vibaya ama mumoja tu anirushie one word they will juta me.
Idians Must know wako in pple country's and they should learn how to respect.
Wachomwe wapi??? Wat was that MP guy names??? eeehhhhhh MATIBA
Lets wake up Kenyas.
I'm sorry for all those who work under this **** of pple. I hate them so much.

09-23-2007, 04:38 PM
did someone mention indians? wait till u've gone to their country, u wudn't beleive they r the same pple huko kenya wakinyanyasa watu. i used to love it when they'd ring the bell looking for work ..... "please sir am look for work" and i would gladly chase them away. the ones we had working for us did practically everything and even more, those were the good old days
Have a future plan -
09-24-2007, 11:48 AM
Anyone working for a mean boss should:
a)Plan for the future by either get additional skills while looking for other opportunities elsewhere.
b)Use the job opportunity to save ,acquire as much knowledge and have a focus in mind.
Working for a Chinese boss for three years,there was much to learn and experience inspite of the terrible pressures each day. Complaining or raising concerns meant loss of job.
I did my very best,earning a good name as a hardworker to a point where she imagined I was on her side.On the other hand,my future plans were well laid down.
When time came from me to resign,my boss recoiled in disbelief,offered me salo increment and other benefits but there was no way I was going to submit.
That was a moment for me to express my complains and dissatisfactions.
The profound experience I gained has translated into an essential requirement in boosting my currently undertaking.
Without stress my maisha would be empty
Last edited by mnyeusi : 09-24-2007 at 12:06 PM.
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch

09-25-2007, 09:02 AM
Originally Posted by ludwig mies (IV)
I wonder why our asian friends have to treat employees the way they do. You get employed by them and from the onset, they exploit you to the outmost. Talk to them about renumeration, the answer is -you are getting a very good experience (especially in the building industry where majority are to be found). please can someone suggest a way of helping our fellow country men-
it's not just indians. i had a similar experience under a very miro boss.
watu watakuexploit, lakini just suck it in and stick there for the work experience. when you exit they'll start singing another tune.
i think indians in kenya are very notorious for that because wengi wao maracist and then they have monopoly in these essential businesses.
the only way kuwasaidia wenzetu ni hiyo union (as said above), but your government 24-7 inaundermine unionizing of workers. halafu the union members wenyewe huwa wanajiundermine.
anyway, things will change as business opportunities open up to more people and there's compe. i hope so.
Point -
09-25-2007, 09:12 AM
Guys i think you are missing the point. So all kenyan's waumie in the name of skills. Noway. It should start now,watu wawe vichwa ngumu and they get it.
Skills kitu gani while our fellows Bro and Sisters wanateseka na matusi. Stress no way. Watu wawe vichwa ngumu tosha.....Labour law???
Waindi wachomwe.....they should just go back to India poor counrty. Go back to their mafi country.
Location: Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch

09-25-2007, 09:34 AM
Originally Posted by BBB
Guys i think you are missing the point. So all kenyan's waumie in the name of skills. Noway. It should start now,watu wawe vichwa ngumu and they get it.
Skills kitu gani while our fellows Bro and Sisters wanateseka na matusi. Stress no way. Watu wawe vichwa ngumu tosha.....Labour law???
@BBB the problem is there will always be someone willing to accept the worst conditions and the least pay, angalau to put one meal a day on the table. when people have few choices they can't afford to be idealistic.
anyway, there may be an easy way to raise discussion on these issues. inaitwa media spotlight. if a few journalists can go 'undercover' and show what is happening to kenyan employees it may cause enough outrage to make somebody do something..................

09-26-2007, 03:30 AM
Originally Posted by al-zalzalah
@BBB the problem is there will always be someone willing to accept the worst conditions and the least pay, angalau to put one meal a day on the table. when people have few choices they can't afford to be idealistic.
anyway, there may be an easy way to raise discussion on these issues. inaitwa media spotlight. if a few journalists can go 'undercover' and show what is happening to kenyan employees it may cause enough outrage to make somebody do something..................
Good responses guys. The reason I brought up the debate is that after working on a number of projects here in Nairobi, ive noted that most building contractors are asians. (no racism intended).This means that they employ the trade guys (fundis) whereby you find that the contractor may not be any good in the actual technical work since its the fundis who have the know how.
For example- a masonry fundi is given about 12 pple whom he guides on how to lay the stones and blocks. Another fundi maybe specializing in plumbing work will guide other workers and so on. Therefore you find that most of our mhindi guys only contribution is the capital and harassment. Thats why i for one can not stand them shouting and calling names. Ive decided that the ones that tender for the projects am incharge of have to treat the workers as human beings and accord them their rights e.g ensure they transport them to and from site, provide for milk where paint work is involved etc.
Unfortunately, most of the workers do not know their rights as stipulated in the building standards. Hence I think that registration of a workers union is the way out for the guys.
The under cover thing may be an also work to highlight these contractors.