Deportation from States - looking for some info -
07-23-2007, 01:05 PM
Sadly it's come down to this for a friend. He is being held by the immig authorities and we gather it may be 3-5 weeks before the removal.
My question is about transportation and the costs involved. We are getting conflicting information:
1) The US gava will fly him home, escorted, and bill the Kenyan gava for his and his escort's expenses. At home they'll hold him until his folks can pay up.
2) The US will send him home, no questions asked, nothing owed, except a 10yr ban on re-entry
3) They'll ask him to come up with his own ticket, accompany him to the airport and they'll dub it "voluntary" removal and so avoid the 10 yr ban.
Does anyone have more info on this. We want to be proactive and avoid dealing with option 1 above and $4k tab.

07-23-2007, 01:42 PM
Originally Posted by Chris Nyake
Sadly it's come down to this for a friend. He is being held by the immig authorities and we gather it may be 3-5 weeks before the removal.
My question is about transportation and the costs involved. We are getting conflicting information:
1) The US gava will fly him home, escorted, and bill the Kenyan gava for his and his escort's expenses. At home they'll hold him until his folks can pay up.
2) The US will send him home, no questions asked, nothing owed, except a 10yr ban on re-entry
3) They'll ask him to come up with his own ticket, accompany him to the airport and they'll dub it "voluntary" removal and so avoid the 10 yr ban.
Does anyone have more info on this. We want to be proactive and avoid dealing with option 1 above and $4k tab.
Pole about your friend. Consult an immigration Attorney ASAP. They will give you the facts and that way you don't have to deal with speculations and/or heresay.

07-23-2007, 01:49 PM
Pole for the freind & as Dem said,go for an attorney.
Personally,i have witnessed option of buting your ticket and "voluntary". That way,its more free.
Most importantly this is a reminder to many of us here,lazima to pull our socks upto the knees that way in case urudishwe,u have a back up plan. hii mambo ya ku kunywa ovyo bila ku enda shule ama not saving enough alafu uchangiwe pesa is just sad. Na tena urudi nyumbani to be faced with the expectations -)
Lazima ni rudi........

07-23-2007, 06:43 PM
Pole sana for your friend and I applaud you for taking initiative to help him out at this time of need. Is he/she in a correctional facility ama detention? After dealing the the deportation/removal of close friends/relatives, this is what I understand (but do contact an Immi attorney for clarity).
1. If you changia your own ticket, most cases, the judge will put a 10 yr ban on re-entry. Nobody is coming with you to the airport or nada like that. Zile za you book your flight, onyesha proof to the immi alafu you go home.
2. Now kama watakuondoa wenyewe, that's worse. I wouldn't advice anyone to take this option. Utapelekwa home bila mpango coz they are having to spend tax $$$$ on you na watatoa hizo hasira zote kwake.
What state is your friend in?
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.

07-24-2007, 08:03 AM
Thanks for the suggestions. He's in New Mexico

07-24-2007, 07:12 PM
sorry bout your friend bwana.

07-24-2007, 08:25 PM
Originally Posted by Chris Nyake
Take this option: 3) They'll ask him to come up with his own ticket, accompany him to the airport and they'll dub it "voluntary" removal and so avoid the 10 yr ban.
this is the only way anaweza rudi hapa lakini lazima amilize 3yrs home.
[b]Everyone Brings us happiness: Some by arriving, others by leaving/B]

07-25-2007, 05:40 AM
NEW MEXICO.....thats even better. tell him to take self deportation.
he can then immediately apply for a tourist visa to mexico...
kidogo the dude can cross the border bila wasiwasi into mexico. legally he has self deported.
the rest is easy........U-turn if you know what i mean.

07-25-2007, 11:56 AM
Originally Posted by slaggard
NEW MEXICO.....thats even better. tell him to take self deportation.
he can then immediately apply for a tourist visa to mexico...
kidogo the dude can cross the border bila wasiwasi into mexico. legally he has self deported.
the rest is easy........U-turn if you know what i mean.
Always something to learn, didn't know that one.

07-25-2007, 05:34 PM
Actually Slaggard that is not entirely true, at the US Mexico border, they now require US citizens to have their passports, just having a DL is not sufficient anymore so best believe if you're a foreigner you will undergo thorough scrutiny. Unless ofcourse you're advising the guy to wet back it out.