Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Procrastinators Anonymous!

Volina

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 03:43 PM

I know how to plan, but waking up early to get stuff done is the problem. I mean my day is always busy until midnight, so when I put my body to sleep, I am too tired. Waking up is the problem.

Last summer my daddy and I went to this church. It is one of those small churches where pple know each other and give testimonies, so this young man stood up and told the congregation about his " not waking up in the morning disease".....so he asked them to pray a week earlier and when he came in Saturday, he woke up at five in the morning.

So yea, there are habits that you cant break.

I am addicted to eating ice. I mean, I dont take sugarly drinks so I started taking water, but everytime I find that I have water and Ice and I just cant stop eating ice. But I have started praying about stopping eating ice, and now, I just take water without ice, because my teeth will crack soon, at least that is what the doctor said. It is like an addiction to cocaine or something , so I have to stop eating ice little by little.

Indeed mumgy, I am sure that perhaps u cant do it alone. I am not saying that mashada is the issue. I am just saying mashada should be the reward after u explain the idea on ur outline, or get those two pages. You just find what works for you and as for me, the list works and that is what I go with.

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 03:52 PM

Mumgy,

:) Naturally i like to clean and i can't even think in an environment thats dirty or disorganised. However i clean compulsively when i'm anxious or when i have an emotional issue to sort because it gives me time to think clearly without feeling like i'm sitting around mopping feeling sorry for myself. I guess the energy that accompanies cleaning makes me feel like "i'm not down yet" Sometimes i take long walks or listen to music and sing like i'm auditioning the next day.

Don't worry so much about grad school. You know , i like to read alot (read anything) and i also like to write (by pen) so when i get into procrastination mood...i re produce my notes by hand and by the time i'm through everything is in my head.

Just try and establish a routine. Set a specific time for study without compromise and a time to just laze and enjoy yourself.

Vicki

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 04:53 PM

>I am addicted to eating ice. I mean, I dont take sugarly
>drinks so I started taking water, but everytime I find that I
>have water and Ice and I just cant stop eating ice. But I
>have started praying about stopping eating ice, and now, I
>just take water without ice, because my teeth will crack soon,
>at least that is what the doctor said. It is like an addiction
>to cocaine or something , so I have to stop eating ice little
>by little.

Wait!! What??? ROTFLMAOID!!!!!! You 'started praying about stopping eating ice, and now, you just take water without ice....'
I'm sorry but you're frigging hilarious!!!! Anyhoo...Amen sista!
And I know you just did not compare your eating ice to a coccaine habit!!!!

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 05:04 PM

do you know what they say about women who eat ice,
Its subconsious thing to try and cool their manyeges, coz they are perpetually hot, so Volina once you unleash that ****** to the fellow you date, trust me the ice cravings will go

Volina

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 05:27 PM

I dont crave sex. It is a bad habit and I dont give sex ovyo like that, perhaps when I get married like ya, or not, I will see how that works!

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 05:35 PM

heh, all i can say is you dont know what you are missing

meja

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 06:13 PM

Sanaa,

Do you know how annoying that can be? I used to date this chic who when she came to my place, she could not sit still. Always doing something! Urgh.... I would wash the dishes and stick them in the dishwasher and she would take them out and wash them again. I mean, why call it a dishwasher then? And btw, for a guy, I am pretty clean - I never recycle clothes, have someone come by twice a week to do the heavy duty stuff, etc. But that was not good enough for her. Yaani she used to do it so much it makes you feel guilty.

>Mumgy,
>:) Naturally i like to clean and i can't even think in an
>environment thats dirty or disorganised. However i clean
>compulsively when i'm anxious or when i have an emotional
>issue to sort because it gives me time to think clearly
>without feeling like i'm sitting around mopping feeling sorry
>for myself. I guess the energy that accompanies cleaning makes
>me feel like "i'm not down yet" Sometimes i take long walks or
>listen to music and sing like i'm auditioning the next day.
> Don't worry so much about grad school. You know , i like to
>read alot (read anything) and i also like to write (by pen) so
>when i get into procrastination mood...i re produce my notes
>by hand and by the time i'm through everything is in my head.
>Just try and establish a routine. Set a specific time for
>study without compromise and a time to just laze and enjoy
>yourself.

* Don't get your knickers in a knot! Nothing is solved, and it just makes you walk funny *
http://www.mashada.com/photos/data/500/cheetah.gif

Sleek Rick

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 06:49 PM

I'll contribute later...

enwasi

Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 09:44 PM

The below is from a facebook group that I'm an active member of. I was going to post this earlier but I put it off for a while. Saa hii niko job putting off a bunch of paperwork sababu niko mashada................................

Chapter of Procrastinators United

OUR MOTTO:
Fight on and put off!

OUR MISSION:
To take over the U (and then the world) one procastinator at a time
PROCRASTINATOR'S CREED:
1. I believe that if anything is worth doing, it would have been done already.
2. I shall never move quickly, except to avoid more work or find excuses.
3. I will never rush into a job without a lifetime of consideration.
4. I shall meet all of my deadlines directly in proportion to the amount of bodily injury I could expect to receive from missing them.
5. I firmly believe that tomorrow holds the possibility for new technologies, astounding discoveries, and a reprieve from my obligations.
6. I truly believe that all deadlines are unreasonable regardless of the amount of time given.
7. I shall never forget that the probability of a miracle, though infinitesmally small, is not exactly zero.
8. If at first I don't succeed, there is always next year.
9. I shall always decide not to decide, unless of course I decide to change my mind.
10. I shall always begin, start, initiate, take the first step, and/or write the first word, when I get around to it.
11. I obey the law of inverse excuses which demands that the greater the task to be done, the more insignificant the work that must be done prior to beginning the greater task.
12. I know that the work cycle is not plan/start/finish, but is wait/plan/plan.r
13. I will never put off until tomorrow, what I can forget about forever.
14. I love deadlines. Especially the whooshing sounds they make as they fly by.
15. I will become a member of "Procrastinators United" if I eve get around to it...

Zouk La is an unknown quantity at this point

Send a message via AIM to Zouk La
Default RE: Procrastinators Anonymous! - 02-01-2007, 10:46 PM

Meja, I second that. Me too, especially with school papers and what not. Being a science major some of you might know all the reasearch etc that goes into that paper. I'll often pull all-nighters writting that paper, do all the research etc... and type the hell out of my key board. One night, my PC was like "Man F- this!" and just shut off. Boy I was was HOT!! Good thing I had been backing up my 22 page paper on my zip drive, so jumped on the back up pc. But now that I'm all grown and stuff, I'm getting a hand on things better. I don't do the list thing, but prioritizing just flows now.

Zouk la.

PS- you can't prioritize too long, y'all. That stuff will bite you one day.