reggae music,,,,,unprogressive ? -
02-02-2007, 06:39 AM
if you live in dfw 89.3 fm features reggae music after 9pm.i tune in at times or go back and forth between the stations. lakini i made an observation......most of the songs are pretty stupid.
either some folks are stuck in the slavery era, african independence struggle or some weird time period. if its not some juvenile content, or some jerked up claims, its depressing lyrics.
i believe that i love reggae, but is the music lacking appropriate themes for today ?
i dont think reggae if meant for progressive people, unless you are one of those pot smocking shmucks that smoke weed all day, and talk about the black mans liberation, or moving to babylon when god knows when.
RE: reggae music,,,,,unprogressive ? -
02-02-2007, 07:39 AM
>if you live in dfw 89.3 fm features reggae music after 9pm.i
>tune in at times or go back and forth between the stations.
>lakini i made an observation......most of the songs are pretty
>stupid.
>either some folks are stuck in the slavery era, african
>independence struggle or some weird time period. if its not
>some juvenile content, or some jerked up claims, its
>depressing lyrics.
>i believe that i love reggae, but is the music lacking
>appropriate themes for today ?
>i dont think reggae if meant for progressive people, unless
>you are one of those pot smocking shmucks that smoke weed all
>day, and talk about the black mans liberation, or moving to
>babylon when god knows when.
Ukweli kabisa.They are complaining all the time.Taabu saa zote.Even if they are rich,they always talking bout ghetos.How they dont have food,,elect,water- yaani how poor they are .aaaarggg.
Taabu,taabu,taabu all the time.wtf.
Kwani kuna nini babylon?fack
"I'm sick of blow jobs,b!cth leave me alone" The game-"Dope boys"
02-02-2007, 09:45 AM
hmmm interesting observation.Never thought of it that way.
02-02-2007, 10:09 AM
I have been feeling this way abt reggae music for the last 6 years. Kwanza Burning Spear's music is like that, monotonous, drum line hasn't changed in 30 years, it's all abt slavery and emancipation. These days, I'm not so crazy abt Bob Marley's music either. The jamaa died in 1981, and mpaka wa leo, his family is fighting for his estate. I also noticed something, alot of Bob's good songs such as 'Who Colt the game' were written by Rita Marley and she has never been given credit for the songs.
02-03-2007, 11:17 AM
reggae music has evolved over the years.there are various genre of reggae from roots reggae,dancehall,lovers rock.if you say reggae is for non progressive people thats wrong.its is like saying country music is for rednecks,punk for the rebel jungus,hip hop for uneducated akataz etc.
there are some people like fanton mojah,jah cure,morgan,richie,gyptian etc who sing about various topics from love,sex slavery,injustice and corruption etc.at the same time they sing about love and uplifting music.
burning spear is more into roots reggae and teaching about the corruption in the babylon system.just tell me which other genre of music can old guys like burning,g.i,itals ,bunnywailer still appeal to youth?the goodness with reggae is that it is timeless akina bob,toots and mytal,eric donaldson,mutabaruka etc.maybe slaggard you should link with me i hooh u up with some other variety of artist.you can check out blacksupremacysounds.com and tell me if that music is not relevant to the society today.
to me reggae is rebel music,speaking against injustice and other ills.kind of like soundtrack to people in the ghettos and on their grind
AM AN HUMBLE AFRICAN
02-03-2007, 03:02 PM
All u've done is just reiterate the shortcomings of reggae. It's not abt the new names coming up or the longevity others. It's the themes that recur, they r stale. We r in the 21st century and peepz still sing abt slavery and living in ghettos. There r new entries in the annals of history: the end of apartheid, the release of Mandela and his brief presidency, the end of the civil war in Mozambique, Angola and East Timor, the death of Jonas Savimbi, the immigration debate in the US and indeed worldwide, the AIDS pandemic, bird flu, the Iraqi crisis, a new presidential era in Kenya and Tanzania, the death of Alice Lakwena, the death of Garang, Rwandan genocide, the Darfur genocide, the total collapse of sovereign governance in Somalia etc.
The reggae we enjoy was created in an era before these themes arose. But what abt the peepz of our times? They r stuck in a time vacuum and a dangerous obfuscation.
02-05-2007, 07:37 PM
@jc
well thats what am saying,all the new and old artsists talk about the issues you mentioned.for example the song by don carlos-johnny cool,cocoa tea-rikers island,jr reed all talked about eg going to foreigbn land,i wayne talks about prostitution,aids etc.lucky dube just released a cd last yr it is hot i recommend.lwe also have akina yami bolo,i was checking this uganda artist wgho chucks some serious regggae tunes,our own ousmane duing big and dynmanic,look at akina gyptian-serious time,damien-jamrock etc.my point is there are many artists who sing various styles and different messages.
If the music doesn't address relevant issues then most likely it will be extinct soon e.g grunge,crunk etc.but goodness with reggae,even if the song was made 20 yrs ago it is still relevant in the message.so may be you open your horizon and check out these new artsits they are really chucking some big tunes.respect
AM AN HUMBLE AFRICAn
02-05-2007, 08:54 PM
I do not believe that reggae is unprogressive. I find reggae music to be very dynamic. If you go for roots and culture, that is what you'll get from Bob Marley, Bunny Wailer, Burning Spear etc. They were fighting for a cause back then and that message eminates from their music.
But look at contemporary artists and their songs, Take some time to listen to these songs then come back and tell me what you think.
Princess Gone - Jah Mason
Be strong - sizzla
can't satisfy her - I-wayne
longing for - jah cure
brown skin - Richie Spice
let me stop here, don't want to bore you with a long list.
02-05-2007, 09:08 PM
maybe you should expand your scope while listening to reggae. There are many genras within reggae; ragga, dance hall, calypso,dub...at some point you are bound to come to something you like.
The way I see it, all music is based on certain basic emotions and they are the same in whatever genra, language etc.
02-05-2007, 09:12 PM
reggae (SP) is inspirin' to me and makez me feel better when am in low spiritz.
http://www.pdccopyprint.com/images20...-pink-girl.jpg