Go Back   Mashada Forums > Society & Culture > Opinions & Advice > Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue???

Proletariat

Default Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-24-2006, 02:02 PM

Did Kenyans learn any lesson in 1998 boming concerning rescue? It seems that there is a belief that Kenyan Fire Brigade is not competent enough to handle disaters.

Every time there is a disaster in Kenya, we seem to cry to Westerners.

It's time we learn to handle our disasters efficiently without any external help.

http://www.eastandard.net/hm_news/ne...rticleid=35449

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-24-2006, 03:02 PM

Only in africa do you find governments affording hundreds of mercedes benzes for bloated cabinets but have not even a single equipment for emergency operations. Yaani is this saying that even our military is not equipped to help civilians even in minor incidents like these?

It is for these reasons that I wonder how full grown men can walk around calling themselves presidents of nation xyz that cant even rescue its civilians from a single collapsed building. What if it was a minor earthquake? Our so called leaders amaze me with their shamelessness.

Delyteful

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 12:58 AM

hmm i wonder wats israel's intentions are........

joginda is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 03:02 AM

>hmm i wonder wats israel's intentions are........

Well, we are the ones who called them. No we didnt learn any lessons from 98. In fact I hear that when the Israelis arrived, their team leader asked who was in charge of the Kenyan opereations and nobody had a clue, so they took charge. Isnt that pathetic!

slaggard is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 03:04 AM

this is a sad story, but somethings dont make sense. why the US and Israeli soldiers for the rescue work ? have the Nairobi fire brigade and kenya armed forces been disbanded ? this is the shiet i dont get. now the kenya media has plastered photos and stories of Israeli and US soldiers helping the poor needy africans who cant afford a drill to save their own. that my friend is hogwash. the construction companies in nairobi alone can be mobilized to assist with all sorts of machinery. the kenya army has all sorts of machinery, abundant labor and technical help. the nairobi city council has machinery and engineers on their payrolls. for heavens sake, i appreciate what those foreign soldiers are doing, but it raises some shameful issues.

mahatma

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 03:38 AM

Slaggard,

We have all the equipment we need to do such rescues, but do we have trained personnel? NO!

Its a pity that we can afford to buy limos for Govt officials but we cannot afford to send even 100 soldiers/police/GSU/Firemen to be trained for such emergency rescues. Its called mis-allocation of resources, period! Pathetic!

freeway

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 04:25 AM

SHAME SHAME SHAME!
The Israelis brought "flashlights, four dogs, jack hammers and various small tools". Kwani Kenyans cant afford these???
The newspapers are slow blame govt. officials for poor response, but loudly claim how quickly the people who approved the house construction were suspended. Yaani they dont see that the response was pathetic.
How dare we let foreigners fly in to help us, ati coz we are too poor! SHAME!!!

nefertiti

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 04:26 AM

>>hmm i wonder wats israel's intentions are........

We called them. WE CALLED THEM. Shouldn't you be wondering where hmmm Egypt is? Algeria?

As for our politicians and lack of planning,fire brigade, its coz our politicians gats no shame people...no shame:(

bunny22

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 04:51 AM

>>>hmm i wonder wats israel's intentions are........
>We called them. WE CALLED THEM. Shouldn't you be wondering
>where hmmm Egypt is? Algeria?
>As for our politicians and lack of planning,fire brigade, its
>coz our politicians gats no shame people...no shame:(

@ Nefertiti
ati What??? Egypt..Algeria

Anyway about the Politicians makes you wonder if they feel anything at all huh, all year round they take money from the common mwananchi then when disaster strikes they are nowhere to be found just cruising around in their expensive vehicles not giving a hoot who is saving their pple, so now foreigners have to come in to save our people....that is just sad, very sad.

Delyteful

Default RE: Why Only Israel Soldiers Glamorized in the Nairobi Rescue??? - 01-25-2006, 04:53 AM

Nef has a real grudge towards the north african arab countries.. something personal i pressume..

anyway ud think that with the new government things would change.. but aint nothin changed in good ol' kenya!