Old 23rd October 2009, 03:18 PM

Originally Posted by A.M Nafusi View Post
I think she is getting confused with having worked with someone on a research paper. While giving credit to the authors, her name showed up, but she did not notice that it lacked an asterik to it.
First author babe.
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:20 PM

A.M Nafusi is on a distinguished road

Ah...show where it is.

Ajiambo
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:30 PM

Originally Posted by A.M Nafusi View Post
Ah...show where it is.
Duh, so you can bust me on mashada? Wee!
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:31 PM

KILL PROPAGANDA is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ester View Post
Exactly. And since the poster clearly mentioned that he was not familiar with an 'undergrad thesis,' most likely case scenario is that he didn't complete one.

Which is why gaining hands-on research experience and writing a formal report (at this point in time), would demonstrate to the admissions committee that the applicant has scholarly capabilities.
You are one confused person. And your reading is bad.
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:35 PM

Duh, so you can bust me on mashada? Wee!
Is it so hard to say what 'journal' it was and what your 'research' was on? Where did you do the research and what was your research methodology?

Keep on dreaming.
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:40 PM

Originally Posted by KILL PROPAGANDA View Post
Is it so hard to say what 'journal' it was and what your 'research' was on? Where did you do the research and what was your research methodology?

Keep on dreaming.
If I trusted you guys a little teeny-weeny bit more, I'd openly talk about my research.

Lakini nyinyi ni kama mafisi who can't be trusted with savory meat!

Let's stop derailing this thread. pls..
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:45 PM

You need to switch your subscriptions. Which journals do you read anyway?

I only subscribe to serious journals. The kind that publish serious scholars. Let me school you on how journals work. Journals only publish you if your writing includes knowledge you're adding to the field of academia. I.e. you must be writing on newly discovered phenomena or new concepts with part of your work previously unpublished by anyone else. Undergraduate work by it's nature is an investigation of already existing work. No journal worth it's Name publishes such stuff.
Old 23rd October 2009, 03:54 PM

I only subscribe to serious journals. The kind that publish serious scholars. Let me school you on how journals work. Journals only publish you if your writing includes knowledge you're adding to the field of academia. I.e. you must be writing on newly discovered phenomena or new concepts with part of your work previously unpublished by anyone else. Undergraduate work by it's nature is an investigation of already existing work. No journal worth it's Name publishes such stuff.
What are "serious" journals? Do they have furrowed eyebrows or what?

Name them! and I'll call your bluff right now. I routinely browse thru NEJM.

Fact: The caliber of scientific work produced by some "extremely gifted undergrad students" in America supercedes "serious" scholars that you subscribe to.

Undergraduate work by it's nature is an investigation of already existing work. No journal worth it's Name publishes such stuff.
Wow. I think it's under-exposure. I don't blame you..

Last edited by Ester; 23rd October 2009 at 04:03 PM.
Old 23rd October 2009, 04:05 PM

PrivatePractice is on a distinguished road

I could be wrong, but aren't they called scholarly journals because scholars write them.
Old 23rd October 2009, 04:05 PM

Sanaa- is an unknown quantity at this point

I think this thread will soon go stale. There is really no need to discuss like this, ya'll take 30 mins break and then post on another thread. Very sad, yaani kenyans don't know how to celebrate each other or prop each other.

kenyan, kuopio, undergrads, universityfinland