See Your Text Ad on Mashada For Just $19 (Limited Time Offer)
Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Music > Tusker Project fame - Finally a ripened fruit.

Ndaba is on a distinguished road

Default Tusker Project fame - Finally a ripened fruit. - 04-22-2008, 01:33 PM

Valerie Kimani who surprisingly won the first edition of Tusker project fame, has finally released an album which has been classified under 'World Music' by the music gurus. A review of her album appeared in the Metro newspaper in the UK.

http://www.metro.co.uk/metrolife/music/article.html?in_article_id=143692&in_page_id=25

You can also sample her music from the address;

http://www.last.fm/music/Valerie+Kimani

Default 04-23-2008, 12:19 AM

wuuuuu not bad but im a little bit disappointed at least she could have done a kapuka/genge track...kamoja tu.

I Eat, Drink ,Smoke MASHADA
If i'm not here try CHIZIKA

Default 04-23-2008, 01:05 PM

Kapuka is not the way to go for Kenya to make 'real music'. Not unless it is thoroughly fused with Nyandundo-like or mugithi-like influences, hence we will be happy. Kurukaruka bila mpango na kuropokwa haina ladha. pia hukasirisha.

Default 04-23-2008, 11:40 PM

Originally Posted by Ndaba View Post
Kapuka is not the way to go for Kenya to make 'real music'. Not unless it is thoroughly fused with Nyandundo-like or mugithi-like influences, hence we will be happy. Kurukaruka bila mpango na kuropokwa haina ladha. pia hukasirisha.
Fusing Kapuka/Genge with Mugithi/Benga won't work,each has it own identity and mass.Nyashiski of Klepto tried fusing benga into one of his track and i think that track flopped big time.

And if Jazz etc was to be classified as real music ,Jay-Z and the likes(hip hop artists) would not be that rich or rapping/singing.Kapuka/Genge is Kenya Hip hop at it best...akina mashifta,ukoo fulani,abbas,chiwawa,bamboo,jua cali etc It's all about dancing,women,sex,alcohol na kadhalika.

No disrespect but if yu can't feel Kapuka/Genge,man!! yu are aging ama yu are too old.

Default 04-29-2008, 05:13 PM

Msee if you're a music man through and through, you will realise that for that kapuka to have a greater artistic depth, and originality, its got to have its own identity, coz we've already had masters of urban rap/hip-hop/neo-soul... from America. I'm talking re-invention, not tracks that kapuka this n that to obscurity in a very short while.

PS uzee ni akiba.

Usijifanye funda

Default 04-30-2008, 05:16 AM

sawa sawa buda.