Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Music > Do you download music or burn CD's?

Passion

Default Do you download music or burn CD's? - 02-23-2003, 06:32 PM

i know majority of you do. why do you even though artists keep claiming you are stealing from them and they loose enough money through sites like kazaa? What do you think is the solution to this for the music industry?

y5next

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 02-24-2003, 12:24 PM

They should stop charging exorbitantly for their product. The days of $15 CD's are over.

Fi-Fo-Fum!

SHEILA

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 02-24-2003, 03:41 PM

Yeah yeah....the day they stop charging rediculous prices for one decent song and crappy stuff thrown in per CD is the day we will stop downloading. No wait...I refuse to make some artists rich so they can come back and floss it in my face. Some artists I will support, others I refuse!
The artists now need to embrace technology and realise it aint going nowhere. I can understand though why they would be pissed, making commercials telling us to stop stealing from them...but the consumer now has options LOL!

Thinker is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 02-28-2003, 08:21 AM

Come to think of it there is a Kazaa user called Passion who seems to have everything -- any relation?

"Due to complaints from KSCPCA and other animal fanatics, I shall henceforth only eat meat from animals that have commited suicide"

BACK & RUNNING: http://geocities.com/roomthinker

mali

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 03-01-2003, 04:49 AM

KAZAA MAMBO YOTE!!!!!!!!!!!

niaje

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 03-03-2003, 11:28 PM

Download and microwave. Coz men 15$ for two hot songs is just expensive. Wish there was a technology to custom CD's as in at least 7 tracks out of 15 various atrists tracks that would be sawaz.

www.kazaa.com (Supercool though. Spywares with so many ads though thus crushes system so often)
www.winmx.com (Stable does not make pc crush often though search is not as wide as kazaa's)
www.kabugionline.com Dj Kabugi - (Serious old school mix cd's and online music - New Jersey)
www.djxp.com (Serious african mixes online and cd's. Dallas Tx)

isso is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 04-12-2003, 08:32 AM

You guys amaze me...

I think African governments especially, should get their act together and rush through legislation for the protection of copyright and intellectual property.

If the price of CD's are high, tell the record companies about it...artists have nothing to do with the retail prices of their products. If anything, they get up to a maximum of 3 to 4 dollars per CD (most of the time even less) depending on their contract. but you people are directly responsible for stealing people's intellectual property. Where I come from, that's called being a common thief.

What effect does that have, you think...

I put it to you that African artists would do much much better and be more recognized world over if their own brethren had the decency to support them by buying their work...No wonder African artists are the pooorest around coz' their fans are just robbers.

If it was up to me, and a law protecting copyright and intellectual property exists....owners of some sites should be jailed for the maximum time available for breaches of copyright law...10 years in most countries. That will act as an example to people. There are arrangements available that take into account electronic distribution and its not impossible to get some agreement with shop fronts online to make sure the artists' get their due.

It's fine you sitting down and clicking on the download button....but what if you were in the shoes of the artists trying to make a break and hoping that your good work which your fans ennjoy will give you the monetary leverage to get there...

Shame on all of you...

There, I said it!

"But do I have to sout about it?"

lale

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 04-12-2003, 09:04 AM

Ai na wewe Isso...i'm just a ka-student.. and a broke-ass student at that,lazima u burn them cds man!...hehehehehe..save money for more pintos bana!...hehehe

anyways i feel where you're coming from,its not sawa what we're doing,coz the musicians also need to make their livelihood,they slave and sweat all day to make bumper tracks and we're there downloading for free!..oh well,if the record companys take into consideration that majority of the people buying the CD's are the youth who at this time dont have much money to spare then copying stuff might be reduced!...or make sure that the tracks are all TOP NOTCH,coz some of this artistes chuck one song that is quite deadly,then once u buy the album,it turns out to be CRAP and u've wasted karibu 15 quid(how many beers are those,wee!)!..so could you really blame us for burning?

So much as hiyo tabia ni mbaya, unless the CD is really really worth it and its top-notch quality...downloading ama "borrowing a friends cd" is a given!..hehehe

isso is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 04-12-2003, 09:34 AM

@Lale...LOL!

I refuse to hear you on this one...

The same broke arse students are the one's at HMV or Tower Records every Monday morning buying stuff from western artists so that mambo of sijui its brokeness doesn't count.

The bottom line is that we as Africans need to take responsibility for promoting our own and making sure that the work of fellow Africans is spread around the world for the talent that it is...

Most artists would only be able to make money from concert appearances, which they have to give cuts to everyone from their band, to producers, to dancers, to record labels, to promoters, et al...What do they have left when miros still want to get into the concert sare...and yet miros are the same ones to profess the way African hip hop is hot these days and can beat some US or European tracks....

Aki y'all should just start being responsible...coz' if someone was robbing you the way y'all are robbing them, it would be a different story.

"But do I have to sout about it?"

y5next

Default RE: Do you download music or burn CD's? - 04-14-2003, 11:16 AM

Wacha zako wewe...Independent label artists do pretty well, without the fanfare of Entourages foisted upon them by their labels, thus increasing the cost of their records exponentially. They don't try and gouge their fans, and I certainly would buy their records. It used to be we had a choice. I like the song, I buy the single, and our business is conlcuded. Now, they insist on selling me an album with one or two songs I like, and ten others that I won't ever listen to, at a price that's nothing short of ransom coin! The heck with that...Until they come to their senses, I have options, and am not shy about utilizing them. Ethics be damned in this case.

Fi-Fo-Fum!