Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Music > Lucky dube the best by lyrics.........

jakanam

Default Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 07-26-2002, 08:10 AM

I haven´t been very keen on reggae music but oflate I made friends with reggae funs which made come to conclusion that lucky dube is a very talented musician especially listening to the lyrics and the way he matches them with the beats.The new albums" soul taker, the way it is, and taxman" always carries my heart when I listen to them....

If Bob Marley could adopt the rythms of lucky, reggae could dominate music..But then marley centered his lyrics most on racism other than the prevailing social circumstances...

If you listen to lucky dube...I am sure you´ll get me right..

thierry

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-10-2002, 08:30 AM

from your post it is so clear that you dont even listen to reggea so just keep those opinions to yourself. unaskiza cd moja ya lucky dube alafu unaona unmesea dub sasa? we nyamaza tu .

lucky dube is ok but pales in comparison to even some average jamaican artistes . the best lyricist is possibly sizzla before he went dancehall if you even know what that is. bob is an all round reggea genius. ati he speaks of racism only?? hee kwani wewe uliskiza album gani hii??

go listen to a VARIETY of reggea artiste and come back and post something else.

oozingm

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-17-2002, 12:59 AM

You, I agree with you bro.LD is the reigning king of Dub.
His message is so contemporary, positive vibration and his beats are nice and unique.Not to mention his singing voice and demanor.True rastaman.

He's currently on tour in the states.Check him out ya'll, brotha vibes massive.

oozingm

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-17-2002, 01:03 AM

The reason we never progress as kenyans is coz of people like you Thierry.So quick to critizize but have nothing to offer.
The brother just said, Lucky Dube has the best current message and you oughtaa listen to appreciate.It's just an opinion you don't have to get all violent.Why do we kenyans think that our opinions have to be everyone else's?
And why can't we find better ways to disagree instead of insulting each other?Let's be open minded and hear others out...

Lucky Dube rules reggae...I second that.

Dread I

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-21-2002, 04:18 PM

Good way to start.Now try some Bunny wailer then Bob marley or vice versa.

Dread I

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-21-2002, 04:20 PM

By the way Racism was the prevailing social circumstance then.Freedom was the goal.

jakanam

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-21-2002, 06:45 PM

Thierry,

Do not take it for granted that I haven´t listened to other reggae music.I am a christian who believes in good social morals.I haven´t disputed the music of others in the field but have expressed my views on lucky.

I have heard of reggae musicians singing sex and relationship from the beginning to the end, and i´ve listened to those who abuse but this is not the character of Lucky.

Lucky dube consoles, as in "Big boys don´t cry"
Lucky dube condemns, as in taxman
Lucky dube encourages, as in "Prisoner"and many more that i haven´t mentioned due to time
and above all the tune of his music rythms is pure message within a mesage, rather more attractive and last but not least, HIS FLUENCY IN ENGLISH.

Honestly speaking, I also like Jamaicans and the rest like Alpha and the staff But lyrics has made me take sides with the South African Lucky Dube.

jakanam

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-21-2002, 06:49 PM

After the independence of South Africa, Dube has been in the stage singing reminding african leaders to practice the justice that they preached during the colonial period.Dube´s music summarizes the past and the future of justice not only in africa but the world at large.

oozingm

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-23-2002, 03:11 AM

Right on!! Dube's message is not only real and captivating, it's contemporary and his music is just pure fun.
He's got major skills with love songs too.
Listen to soul taker (Romeo and Juliet)

Dube 4ever.

Fiyahbunaweakheart

Default RE: Lucky dube the best by lyrics......... - 08-27-2002, 09:11 AM

If you want to hear reggae music at it's best and catch a fiyah check out Safari DC Club every Sunday night if you are ever in the capital. Big tings a gwaan Labor day Sunday!
www.shadareggae.com