Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Music > Ogopa DJ's

nellyfan

Default Ogopa DJ's - 06-26-2002, 05:09 AM

Has anyone heard the new cd produced by Ogopa DJ's? It has music by artists like Redsan, Nameless, Chameleon, etc. etc. That thing is just the best and these guys are just very talented. Plus, their style is definitely unique. Anyway, that's all I seem to be listening to any more. It would be so great to see all of them in concert. Does anyone have more info on the artists and producers?

Thinker is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's - 06-26-2002, 06:09 AM

Very well m'dear -- here goes my disjointed knowledge of Ogopa

Ogopa DJs are 3 dudes that prefer to work out of the limelight so to speak. Their first real exposure to the commercial Kenyan music industry was when the helped Bebe Cool and Chameleon catapult into the market.

Redsan used to be a member of a group that consisted of those gentlemen (Bebe Cool & Chameleon). The last thing they did together was a jam called Bageya after which friction caused them to break up. Most recent work is a serious jam called Julie, which samples a very old jam which contains 'unipeleke kwa baba... oh sista!'

Nameless is a budding Architect at the UoN by day. Everything he seems to have done has done well from the ubiquitous Megarider to Majitu, to Mannerless and recently Ninaoki, which he did with a lass called

Amani, currently at USIU doing something or the other. And that's about all I know about her.

Chameleon left Kenya for a tour to the Netherlands. This was quite some time back and we are yet to hear from the gent.

Bebe Cool also left some time back and we are yet to hear from him too!

Then there are the dudes who did 'Mona Lisa' a coupla chaps called Mustafa and Nasty. I heard they are working on something new as we speak

The rest of the people Ogopa work with include some dudes called Jawabu who I believe are the most talented right now, Kaz, Zulu Kru and plenty more who I either forget right now or don't know at all.

Ogopa are organizng a tour some time later this year
"Even Miraa has an expiry date. Check under the leaves!"

http://geocities.com/roomthinker

nellyfan

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's - 06-26-2002, 11:53 AM

Thanks Thinker! Is this tour just gonna be at home or are they, by any chance, planning to hit the States too? I would love to see all these people in concert.

ciru

Default Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 07-04-2002, 05:47 AM

that CD is permanently in my player, I'm worried I might wear it out soon.

there was a write up in the EA Standard sometime back (which Thinker has cleverly edited) about the artistes on their debut CD "Ogopa 1" which has topped ALL the chart shows on ALL the radio stations for the last 3 months and still continues to thrill audiences of all ages.

They had a concert on May 31 2002 to launch this CD which was very exciting but they dont seem to be marketing themselves abroad at all.

They should at least make their CD available via the internet and improve on their album cover now that I'm sure they've racked up some respectable sales figures.

1 wise thing they've done, which other artistes havent caught onto yet, is to make their CD un-copiable, that way at least discouraging piracy. Which Kenyan would do his own brother like that???!!! :(

ninanoki... ninanoki... nikiskia hii muziki!!!

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 07-04-2002, 09:56 AM

I hear those guys are rocking Nai same way Flex rocks NY. Everybody i talk to in Nai is how Ogopa is doing it. If all artists are like Nameless, then those boys will get paid coz Nameless can definetly rock the mic

solo

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 08-01-2002, 03:04 PM

can anyone please send me a track listing cause I have a cd without the cover.(sorry ogopa djs but what can I do if I cant get ya cd in the uk but..)
and oh yeah that cd rocks!

ciru

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 08-02-2002, 08:43 AM

You shld ask ur people back home to courier u the CD! Dont pirate Kenyan music please!

http://www.wakilisha.com/peeps/ogopadjs/ogpadj.jpg
OGOPA DJs

The track listing goes something like this...

1. MABIBI NA MABWANA (INTRO)
2. WASEE (GITHURAI) - MR GOOGS & VINI BANTON
3. TAHIDI - amani
4. NINANOKI - NAMELESS (feat. Amani)
5. MONA LISA - DEUX VULTURES
6. LEO NI LEO - E-SIR
7. MANIAX anthem - klepto MANIAX
8. julie - redsan
9. SNEAK PEAK (?)
10. move on - amani
11. hutia - amani vs ogopa djs
12. horns of africa - ogopa djs
13. ASANTENI (OUTRO)

Lily

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 08-02-2002, 10:59 AM

Hey ciru, who is who in that pic?

It is in the air, it is everywhere...that you feel like removing your underweya. OGOPA DJ! wacha kudelay..........;-)

solo

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 08-03-2002, 10:39 AM

thanx ciru!

Thinker is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: Ogopa DJ's Rock! - 08-05-2002, 04:07 AM

The two dudes at the extreme right are Col. Moustapha and Nasty T, better know as Deux Vultures.

"Even Miraa has an expiry date. Check under the leaves!"

http://geocities.com/roomthinker