Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Music > DANCEHALL DONS: Who's King?

mlevi

Default RE: Ballroom Dancing - 01-26-2002, 02:16 AM

soopafly my guy
ndio man you have brought up some stuff
i was most gratified to see you list akina supercat, nicodemus, mad cobra et al
lakini i think you sahaud one major fella, apache indian! remember him, that guy represented jamaican chuties like no ever b4 or since, remember arranged marraige or chok there (or jumpe as i knew back then) that fella had it going on sana.
but i must say i think currently sean paul rules ragga bad style. even though it took me six months to finally find his album ... stage one. it was a long wait (it came out may 2000 i found it dec of that year). mpaka now there is still some stuff there that kicks sana kwa sana.
but there are some other fellows that sit on the fence kidogo (in my mind) when in comes to ragga/ roots. guys like sanchez, beres hammond, garnett silk (RIP) buju banton esp these days etc. those boys are thoro. they big it up wicked style.

also while your list i must say is pretty definitive, umesahau a couple by buju.tunes like murderer, boom boom bye bye, gimme de weed etc, i mean buju deserves like 3 or 4 mentions on that list right there. but anyway, im partial sana to mr mention himself. tunes like the doctor by beenie etc lakini i could go on and on.
lemme just way at least you put born jamericans there, those guys were on
anyway big up rude bwoy good selection

wheel it man wheel that selection

http://sports.insidebayarea.com/imag...ag_raiders.gif

y5next

Default RE: Ballroom Dancing - 01-29-2002, 09:45 AM

Soopafly,

After researching and listening to your recommendations, I've concluded that I'd rather stick with what I already enjoy. No offence to you and all those that enjoy the talent of these artistes, but it seems like hard work just listening to them. I'm going back to my Corona and spanish guitar thank you.

rudy

Default RE: Ballroom Dancing - 02-18-2002, 06:42 PM

Sooperfly, Dancehall is an "acquired" taste.

As for dancehall/ragga classic artists, I have to go with Spragga Benz, Terror Fabulous, Ninja Man, Mad Cobra, Beenie Man (before he became a superstar), Louie Culture, Bounti Killa and Buju (before he became a Rasta man). Of course this would be in the early and mid 90s when dancehall was at it's highest height.

Right now though I'm feeling Sizzla, Capleton, baby cham, Sean Paul, Mr vegas and elephant man (what do you think of log-on?) vibaya sana.

Sizzla has to be the don-gorgon though. Even though this guy is a Rasta man, he is the most versatile lyricist out there (in my humble opinion). Ebu listen to tracks like: "taking over", "give it to them" and "bump up".

Let's establish a ting, Shabba ranks is the king!!!

Here are a few of my favourite dancehall/ragga tunes:

Big and Bold......Louie Culture.
Old Dog...........Beenie man.
Rampage...........Buju.
Number 2..........Terror Fabulous.
Muscle Grip.......Shabba.
Anything for you..Snow (featuring the reggae all stars).
Living Dangerously..Bounti killa and barrinton Levi.
Murderer..........Barrington Levi.
Never Dis the man..Sanchez.
I'm not sure.......Sizzla
Wickedest Slam.....Beenie man.
Bandelero..........Pinchers.
Nice and Naughty...Chavelle Franklin.
Strollin on........Maxi Priest.
Rudeboy............L.T Scritchi.
sweetness..........Heavy d and Buju Banton.

rudy

Default RE: Ballroom Dancing - 02-18-2002, 07:39 PM

>Soopafly,i'm really feeling your old
>school ragga choices especially Let him
>go by Beenie Man.....damn that song is
>good.
>Mr Cheeks' lights,camera,action kinda
>has a ragga beat...i think!

Nerima, "let him go" is a nice tune but i don't consider it old school. That was 1999/2000!!

y5next

Default RE: Ballroom Dancing - 02-19-2002, 03:38 PM

Apology accepted. No harm done.

Bullfrog

Send a message via ICQ to Bullfrog
Default RE: DANCEHALL DONS: Who's King? - 02-19-2002, 03:45 PM

Yaani you don't understand I have the biggest smile on my face at this moment to have found fellow lovers of dancehall when it was only the other day I found some of garage but I must say the lists are pretty intense I am about to go put on some music and jam and i definitely give repect for the mention of the ladies
I only have a few to add
Patra
1.Deep Inside
Lady Saw
1. No long talking
2. Tight Pum Pum
and...
Mad Lion
Take it Easy
:7

rudy

Default RE: Ballroom Dancing - 02-19-2002, 04:16 PM

> You tempt me, and I will not resist.
>Let's just say I was into reggae while
>you were still a snot-faced brat waiting
>for mama to change your nappy. From your
>choices, one would think that reggae is
>a new phenomena that you discovered
>personally and are trying to promote to
>the masses. Next time read the posts
>before posting please?
> :-)

5next, I'm sorry if I offended you. It was not intentional. I must learn to keep my foot out of my mouth! Blame it on my head, not on my heart. Reggae music is a mission, not a competition. I have edited my previous message.

rudy

Default RE: DANCEHALL DONS: Who's King? - 02-22-2002, 08:18 PM

Sooperfly, Dancehall is an "acquired" taste.
As for dancehall/ragga classic artists, I have to go with Spragga Benz, Terror Fabulous, Ninja Man, Mad Cobra, Beenie Man (before he became a superstar), Louie Culture, Bounti Killa and Buju (before he became a Rasta man). Of course this would be in the early and mid 90s when dancehall was at it's highest height.

Right now though I'm feeling Sizzla, Capleton, baby cham, Sean Paul, Mr vegas and elephant man (what do you think of log-on?) vibaya sana.

Sizzla has to be the don-gorgon though. Even though this guy is a Rasta man, he is the most versatile lyricist out there (in my humble opinion). Ebu listen to tracks like: "taking over", "give it to them" and "bump up".

Let's establish a ting, Shabba ranks is the king!!!

Here are a few of my favourite dancehall/ragga tunes:

Big and Bold......Louie Culture.
Old Dog...........Beenie man.
Rampage...........Buju.
Number 2..........Terror Fabulous.
Muscle Grip.......Shabba.
Anything for you..Snow (featuring the reggae all stars).
Living Dangerously..Bounti killa and barrinton Levi.
Murderer..........Barrington Levi.
Never Dis the man..Sanchez.
I'm not sure.......Sizzla
Wickedest Slam.....Beenie man.
Bandelero..........Pinchers.
Nice and Naughty...Chavelle Franklin.
Strollin on........Maxi Priest.
Rudeboy............L.T Scritchi.
sweetness..........Heavy d and Buju Banton.

rudy

http://64.78.37.43/mlevi/pictures/ANIMATEDDANCER4.gif

Mutongoria

Send a message via ICQ to Mutongoria Send a message via AIM to Mutongoria
Default RE: DANCEHALL DONS: Who's King? - 03-05-2002, 07:14 AM

Well, I happen to b a very good fan of Ragga/dancehall music (ok am obsessed). It would b hard to rank the king as all have their different styles. eg we have Dirtsman, cutty Ranks, Shaggy who had some very great hits in the 90s. But in the recent years, alot of very good artists have come up, talk of Mr. Vegas, Buccaner, Sean Paul the list is endless. I love them all.

But here are my favourites.

Healing- Bennie Man n Lady Saw
Heads High - Mr Vegas
Hot this year - Dirtsman or Cutty Ranks
Two way- Shaggy & Rayvon
That gal - Red Rat
Let him go - Bennie Man

Am 4 getting the rest but I have a whole list of them on my winamp.

Will send mo la8a.
Cheers all

sparks

Default RE: DANCEHALL DONS: Who's King? - 03-05-2002, 07:59 PM

why I can't find James Brown here I don't know....I feel good...I feel nice...like sugar and spice...

Dance music baby

CAN'T WE ALL JUST.....GET ALONG