Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Movies > How many kenyan movies/films have you sen

kipusa(uk) is on a distinguished road

Default How many kenyan movies/films have you sen - 08-22-2007, 12:54 PM

Recently when visiting a friend, i watched a kenyan movie production. At first as per kawa you're thinking kenyan it will be crap full of shyte. Kidogo like this, I was like enywe even though it was done on a low budget ,it really worked. Was a production by Bob Nyanja the movie was called Malooned. Was fab so like kama the saying goes dont judge the book by its cover. Coz to be honest we are coming up and i have to sema that one bit the ordinary naijo movie.
So wat kenyan movies or productions have you watched? Would you consider watching one? Would you support them? am interested to find out
Holla people!

Kenyan chic is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 08-26-2007, 03:00 PM

I have watched almost all the rest, & most are just ok. The best part is just the feeling of promoting our own people, or when they crack jokes about us that we understand much better as kenyans.

I think its a great thing. Plus too many kids now up in the music industry, its about time others diversified to something else. On top of this, I love theatre, production & all that comes with it. & who knows, some kenyan might find some worldwide recognition out of something like this (with time of course).

mutuko

Default 08-27-2007, 04:01 PM

hip hop colony was a good movie.

Default 09-05-2007, 04:44 AM

none...................

Default 09-13-2007, 01:28 PM

Originally Posted by mutuko View Post
hip hop colony was a good movie.
I havent watched it yet saw clipse of it on myspace and some big kenyan hipop guys semad it was good but guess story ya buying it off amazon is uchunguu. its funny how 15 poinds seems alot of money to buy a kenyan dvd amma cd wen u cna buy cds off HMV for music and stuff. nway nita wacha kuwa mgumu please plus i think i need to build mmy own collection heritage ya watoi joo. so what was good about hip pop colony?

didee

Default 09-18-2007, 09:15 PM

at this point i would watch anything kenyan or african. am on a quest to find some kenyan books to read at the moment, sijui nitatoa wapi time ya kusoma lakini am looking, lol. lakini i love watching kenyan videos on youtube so am sure kenyan movies pia zimeimprove in quality. btw i hear in Atl they have an african channnel yani i feel like making a move there!

mutuko

Default 12-10-2007, 02:41 AM

Originally Posted by kipusa(uk) View Post
I havent watched it yet saw clipse of it on myspace and some big kenyan hipop guys semad it was good but guess story ya buying it off amazon is uchunguu. its funny how 15 poinds seems alot of money to buy a kenyan dvd amma cd wen u cna buy cds off HMV for music and stuff. nway nita wacha kuwa mgumu please plus i think i need to build mmy own collection heritage ya watoi joo. so what was good about hip pop colony?
BTW off the topic, you still got a chance of winning the league(Liverpool).

Explaining where the Genge/Kaputt came to be an important act in Kenya. The director, did it as a project for his Uni degree and just a cheap, to budget scripture.

I watched in London premeir and was very touched by it and international recognisation. That's how good it was, for mi, its still a must have in your DVD collection.

Default 04-17-2008, 02:29 PM

Originally Posted by mutuko View Post
BTW off the topic, you still got a chance of winning the league(Liverpool).

Explaining where the Genge/Kaputt came to be an important act in Kenya. The director, did it as a project for his Uni degree and just a cheap, to budget scripture.

I watched in London premeir and was very touched by it and international recognisation. That's how good it was, for mi, its still a must have in your DVD collection.
waa i havent been here for a min gosh yah we are not winning the league. as for the dvd nipe link i get

carrot cake can fix anything in this world!
mutuko

Default 04-18-2008, 04:10 AM

Kipusa(uk) whats up mate? I think you can check it out on Amazon.com: Online Shopping for Electronics, Apparel, Computers, Books, DVDs & more title Hip Hop Colony