Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Movies > MALOONED - Kenyan Movie

Kenyan chic is an unknown quantity at this point

Default 07-23-2007, 01:12 PM

I totally get your point, and that's such a brilliant idea. Lakini as I was watching this movie, I tried as much as possible to also put myself in the director's shoes, & I think he might have just wanted to work with as few people as possible -money matters- thus only having 2 main actors, one main scene, etc. And as you could see, the other people were either over the radio or that walkie-talkie (Mutiso)...which could easily be either his recorded voice, or one of the assembly pple.

And as you can also tell, no issue with wardrobe & make up artists etc. All these translate to more money. But now that he's gotten that $2.5M, let's see what else he's about to unleash.

kipusa(uk) is on a distinguished road

Default 08-22-2007, 01:58 PM

Originally Posted by Wantai View Post
Sweetie si you know how i loved this movie aki my tv man dayumm wacha tuu. Ebu hook me up with more movies kweli wewe ni mzalendo kishenzi
tk care babes xx

Sugarplum

Default 08-23-2007, 11:31 AM

I also first heard of Malooned at a redykuluss event. The sound and picture are great quality and no West African movie ever came that close. The actors were also good and I was entertained mostly with the message that was in the movie. I'm sure Nyanja will do more with money he has harvested in Malooned.
Kudos to all in the Kenyan Film Industry.

Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.
M.'K'.N is on a distinguished road

Default 08-25-2007, 07:07 PM

I watched it at kenya cinema a while back.it was good but the sound was horrible.Otherwise it was excellent!

Default No drive - 09-05-2007, 06:46 AM

The video filming for 'Malooned' was good. However, the movie fails due lack of what I would call energy direction and tension. I watched it on Citizen last week.

The first thing that hits you is the passivity and resignation of the two main actors. To me, resignation is no story. A story is made by the exceptional drive of a character or characters - either to overcome and achieve an objective, or to flee and escape from a threat or from confinement, whether these are successful or not.

The Malooned situation - man+woman locked in a toilet (sex + confinement in an undesirable place) - was a splendid situation around which to develop story and character - BUT the movie developer abysmally failed to appreciate his/her own challenge to his/her own self!!