Go Back   Mashada Forums > Music & Entertainment > Movies > NIGERIAN MOVIES

ARVIN

Send a message via ICQ to ARVIN
Default NIGERIAN MOVIES - 12-01-2004, 04:51 PM

Why is it that Nigerians (just an example) produce new movies year in year out. is it that we Kenyans can't go beyond drama and T.V series? post your view.

y5next

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 12-01-2004, 05:51 PM

Creativity>Ambition>Resources>Target audience appreciation and support of the effort...

Hey-Ho-Silver!

\/

thierry

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 12-02-2004, 09:48 AM

A number of reasons.
First of all it's not that simple y5
i have Nigerian friends who detest those movies to death. They are a pretty cosmopolitan bunch and were born in the big cities so they don't exactly see those movies as an accurate portrait of their societies.

You must remember that Nigeria is Africa's most populous country and the populace that watch these movies live in rural areas. That is the market for those movies...not to sound elitist here by the way...

That's why that market is sustainable. Those movies. structurally speaking are so poor i just ache when i see them. I don't expect African movies to be shot the same way as European or American movies but some things like lighting, camerawork, the set, those have to be constant bana...these movies are shot like wedding videos man! that's why there's a million of them.....very low quality.

Compare them to South African and Senegalese movies which deal with pretty much the same issues( mostly to do with the supernatural) and the other ones are better quality.

Once kenyans start telling their own stories on film like we have begun with music..you wait and see...people will be flocking to the theatres man....we just need the right people ..trained and strict in production values and good scriptwriters and actors are already there and we'll be set.

y5next

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 12-02-2004, 10:47 AM

It is that simple. Look at the success of Bollywood in India.

Fi-Fo-Fum!

Whitehead

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 12-03-2004, 02:05 AM

uuhm

Don't ask me how I got introduced to Nigerian movies but they sure are entertaining, especially when you watch with Nigerians who can translate pidgin english into audible tonnes.

ARVIN

Send a message via ICQ to ARVIN
Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 12-08-2004, 05:15 PM

well , like 5 years ago I also watched some Nigerian movies while back at home, and saw them from exactly the same point and with all the negatives.. but it was, like a week ago when I watched a somehow new movie (I'd like to assume), HONEY 1 and 2, which made me post this up. I liked all I saw and couldn't criticize much in it. Was just like, oh my... being a hot fan of Kenyan locals, when will i come across a Kenyan movie.
I believe with the will to come up with that, and with some of us actually putting efforts into it when the right time comes, we can have some Kenyan Hwood in place www.hollywood.com ama?
Think about it guys.
ps. neva new Nigerian movies are all that undermined in that place.. ati ni upcountry business.. funny. better than none all the same OH!

You can be the one who will change this world. I believe in You!

psolace

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 01-03-2005, 03:11 PM

The Nigerians go for quantity and not quality some times. Most scripts are so juvenile in thinking and when its not about witchcraft then someones messing with them OPPs and drugs or the Precher is busy dillydalling somewhere. Yet again there some funny ones that can really crack one up like Osuofia goes to London 1 and 2 which I found so hilarious coz it was just banter and simple African humour. CNN recently reported on the booming "Nollywood" industry and showed that it doesn't take much but 4000 Dollars, a single camera and a charismatic character to make a movie. By the way a Kenyan production about the MauMau is soon being released and coming to think of it, the movies made in Kenya by Kenyans so far ain't that bad ama?

pix9

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 01-11-2005, 11:02 AM

Well, Kenyan movies ain't that bad- i.e compared to Nigerian ones- but we cld do better than that. Dangerous Affair was a good revival for a young industry- given that earlier productions were mzungu-films,of the Out of Africa genre, but these guys need script-writers seriously. Project Daddy was a mess of a script in my view. I guess its back to this same business of wanting to do everything- script, direct,produce,distribute.... some aspect certainly suffers, and you compromise the quality. And I don't even think its about costs per se, because Njeri & Judy cld get good scriptwriters in Kenya at reasonable rates. But then, the industry suffers frm serious inbreeding, which is the surest way to kill an industry as there's limited exposure and diversity of views. Notice the way the same faces appear in these films? and the same names in the credits?

BTW, anybody seen The Battle of the Sacred Tree? Now, that is a Kenyan production to be proud of. Pity it wasn't well distributed.

Insist on your right to go off on a tangent ( Dambudzo Marechera 1978)

Nadia is an unknown quantity at this point

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 08-24-2005, 10:55 AM

I remember there was once I was watching a Tanzanian Movie...bana I could see the microphones!!..And the shadows for the camera men!!..

Alafu ati they had a part 1 when the guy burnt his shirt while ironing...then in Part 2 he goes for an interview wearing the SAME BUT ALREADY BURNT Shirt!!..couldn't belive how cheap these peeps were!..lol..hatakama!..Kuna Gikosh!...

thierry

Default RE: NIGERIAN MOVIES - 08-24-2005, 08:14 PM

LMAO ....Nadia you have me rolling up here man....yaani the SAME SHIRT!!! that's just too funny. I'm just imagining what those filmmakers were thinking..like it's a kawa thing...yeah i wear the same shirt i burnt yesterday to job interviews!!! totally normal man..why are you looking at me like that....anyway

To that fella up there who mentioned Bollywood....you can't even compare...uncomparable kabisa...like chocolate and turd....i don't know which bollywood movies you have seen but they have superb producion values man...

and to the dude who said it's better low quality than nothing actually it isn't...i'd rather have no movies than bad movies...call me purist snob whatever i can live with that.......when i say 'bad 'movies i mean structurally speaking not in terms of storyline or even acting...you can have a sh1tty script and actors but USE THE CAMERA WELL !!.....I see crappy movies in stato all the time but at the very least they are watchable.