Go Back   Mashada Forums » Society & Culture » Maisha ya Kenya

Old 30th March 2009, 01:00 PM

Default Your best kenyan dish?    Show Printable Version  Print   Email this Page  Email  

I love ugali na kuku choma
Old 30th March 2009, 04:45 PM

mwathara is on a distinguished road

supuu ya miguu ya kuku na kichwa served with ugali.

or tilapia fish with ugangs, na off course ma kamchumbari.

Last edited by mwathara; 30th March 2009 at 04:49 PM.
Old 31st March 2009, 04:26 AM

Sanaa- is an unknown quantity at this point

Mwathara that fish is very ugly It needs garnishing.
Old 31st March 2009, 04:45 AM

sanaa, where i enjoy that fish the cooks dont know what garnishing is?.opps...me neither. Anyway thats how its supposed to look like. U mean u have never tasted such, u shud
Old 31st March 2009, 05:02 AM

r a k e is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to r a k e Send a message via Yahoo to r a k e

Originally Posted by Sanaa- View Post
Mwathara that fish is very ugly It needs garnishing.
it may not be pretty i agree - but i know that place - and that fish tastes heavenly ... and that stew?? wacha tu
Old 31st March 2009, 05:03 AM

Originally Posted by mwathara View Post
sanaa, where i enjoy that fish the cooks dont know what garnishing is?.opps...me neither. Anyway thats how its supposed to look like. U mean u have never tasted such, u shud
Hahaha..that was funny. I've never eaten such a fish, infact the first time I ate fish in my life was after I came abroad (funny I know) and it was salmon, which I still can't eat alot and then I discovered other types of fish. To garnish is to make a meal look good, or to decorate it, and you can do that with "taste" in consideration, by adding items that enhance the taste of the food and not just for aesthetic purposes.

In Kenya, I know those joints don't know how garnish food, because no one really cares there as long as the taste is good. I have nightmares of my dad taking us to eat "chemsha" when we were little ,to me it was distasteful to my personal taste and embarassing. I wonder why parents like embarassing their children like that. Anyway now I can go to those joints but sio kila siku.

One thing about food abroad is that it must be garnished, equal effort is placed on garnishing the meal just as dilligently as it's done on the taste. Seriously I would never eat that ugly fish on your plate, it looks so sad, like it was massacared or beaten to death before cooking.
Old 31st March 2009, 05:15 AM

r a k e is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to r a k e Send a message via Yahoo to r a k e

One thing about food abroad is that it must be garnished, equal effort is placed on garnishing the meal just as dilligently as it's done on the taste. Seriously I would never eat that ugly fish on your plate, it looks so sad, like it was massacared or beaten to death before cooking.
lol!! i agree

but that was a bad picture - the fish doesnt usually look that malnourished
Old 31st March 2009, 05:28 AM

Originally Posted by r a k e View Post
lol!! i agree

but that was a bad picture - the fish doesnt usually look that malnourished

Ehh wewe pia you agree that fish looks so wounded. Mwathara must have been very hungry to eat that.
Old 31st March 2009, 05:28 AM

Seriously I would never eat that ugly fish on your plate, it looks so sad, like it was massacared or beaten to death before cooking.
ehhh, if u only knew, some of us eat that fish once in a while coz the price is not wallet friendly 2 some of us. It costs 150Ksh @ my favourite joint WAMBUGU in parklands oop. the law campus. If u saw me dismantlng that fish i assure u u will ask 4 it. nashika kichwa naipasua katikati, take a chunk of flesh from it natumbukiza kwa kachumbari huku the left hand ina bonyeza ugali ndani ya stew. wewe iki ingia kwa tumbo, hata u dont wanna know auuuwiiiii
Old 31st March 2009, 05:39 AM

Originally Posted by mwathara View Post
ehhh, if u only knew, some of us eat that fish once in a while coz the price is not wallet friendly 2 some of us. It costs 150Ksh @ my favourite joint WAMBUGU in parklands oop. the law campus. If u saw me dismantlng that fish i assure u u will ask 4 it. nashika kichwa naipasua katikati, take a chunk of flesh from it natumbukiza kwa kachumbari huku the left hand ina bonyeza ugali ndani ya stew. wewe iki ingia kwa tumbo, hata u dont wanna know auuuwiiiii

LOL Mwathara , a chunk of flesh from the head? Those are cannibalistic tendancies. 150Ksh? Thats the price of two local tomatoes here

dish, kenyan